#7QT Things I’m Loving Right Now

The running hasn’t stopped this week, I wonder if it ever will. And by running, I don’t mean the treadmill kind. I am sharing the seven things I’m loving this week with you, because I think you’ll love them too. The items are so varied, I think it will give you a sense of how my week has actually been.

–1–

Love my Erin Condren Planner! And more of stuff I'm lovin' right now. A new post by @fillpraycloset

My Erin Condren Planner, in conjunction with my new phone. I made the switch from iPhone to Android, and I can’t even tell you how much I don’t miss the iPhone. But, my planner? Bees knees. I put everything in there, and if I just so happen to not have it with me, I capture the event on my phone and write it in my calendar that night. Considering that I am now managing social media for Real Housekeeping, this keeps all the to-do’s for that, running like a well oiled machine.

–2–

A good drugstore lip color Baby Lips Mirrored Mauve and a near perfect drugstore dupe for Tom Ford's YSL Sheer Candy Cool Guava, Maybelline Baby Lips Pink Punch save yourself the $30 bucks! by @fillpraycloset

I’ve been scrolling over on Pinterest looking for drugstore dupes. I love those, don’t you? I have yet to find one for Clinique’s Tenderheart lipstick. I had a dream about wearing this lipstick recently. Who does that? It’s not like it’s super expensive either, I just can’t justify a) paying to have it shipped or b) withstand a trip to the mall because, people. When I made one of 4 trips to the pharmacy this week for prescriptions because we all got sick, I searched for drugstore dupe lipsticks and found these! Baby Lips by Maybelline in Mirrored Mauve and Pink Punch (a dupe for a $34 name brand lipstick as recommended by one of my favorite sites, Maskcara). Did you know they came in a ton of cute colors (that are sheer for the husband, because he hates lipstick)?!  I didn’t know, until I forked over $10 for two while waiting for the pharmacist to mix Alex’s bubble gum medicine Amoxicillin. Way to save a buck!

–3–

I have been listening to nothing but social media podcasts lately. I do that using my phone and playing them as I clean, work on a particularly tedious spreadsheet, cook or cross stitch. I didn’t know which podcast playing app to choose having a new phone and of course asked Tiffany what she used. She recommended Beyond Pod, and it’s just great. They have recommendations for other podcasts I might enjoy and sync up as I sleep so I am good to go the next day.

You already know my fun favorites, but I also listen to Oh So Pinteresting!, Social Media Examiner and others. Lately though, I can’t get enough of Brilliant Business Moms. So many valuable tips and the best, is the “fun mom moment” at the end of every episode. The latest one features a Latina! So you know I was all about it. But one that sticks out is Episode 53 with Kelli Miller. She talks about Twitter. If you listen to something today, listen to that one first. Some people would say the one with Ruth Soukup is great, and it is, but I was blown away by Kelli and immediately implemented her tips and tricks.

–4–

My favorite pen to write with. Part of what I'm loving right now. A post by @fillpraycloset

This may sound lame, but it is what it is. I love a good pen. A really good pen. The problem is, they always get lost in Narnia my purse so when I bought my planner, I added the pen holder attachment so I could keep it there. I don’t know how this pen came to my house because I know I didn’t buy it, and I know for sure that Mike wouldn’t have either. I bring to you, the Papermate InkJoy Quatro. Sound fancy? It’s not really. It’s just a ballpoint with four different girly colors. Can you say instant color coding?! I have one color for family, another for blogging, another for Real Housekeeping and another for just me. Not to mention it reminds me of when I was in elementary school and we would pass those “Do you like me yes or no?” letters back and forth. I never got one, I was just the passer (and nosy too so I’d open it!)

–5–

I have been doing a lot of blog and website reading. Mostly social media, but also Catholic blogs too. I found a few that I absolutely love and have set up to share them on Twitter the moment they publish using a free service called TwitterFeed. It’s so easy and it looks like I am on all the time. I got this tip from the podcast with Kelli (see #3). You just plug in your favorite blog’s RSS link, set how often you’d like the service to check for new posts, and set whether you’d like the title to publish with the link, or the title and a description. You can even add a standard prefix or suffix to the tweet. For example, just this morning Colleen Duggan asked:

She of course was responding to my “magical” ability to know when she published something and I shared it (so early in the morning).

See how her twitter handle is included? I added that as a rule to be included after the title and description are in the automated tweet. (and that’s how I do it, Colleen). Don’t know what blogs to choose? Focus on your top three interests, or top three subjects your readers like. Mine are Catholic, Writing and the ladies in my Tribe. You can also set up to push to Facebook or LinkedIn. Try it. Tell me what you think!

–6–

Social media automation tools and how I use them to curate content by sharing your favorite blogs on Twitter @fillpraycloset

I’ve been using Feedly (an RSS reader). I created a list in Feedly called “TwitterFeed” and before bed, or standing in line at the pharmacy, I read what they’re publishing, I just don’t have to worry about manually sharing everything.

I also created a list in Feedly for blogs I’m watching, and not automatically sharing. I’ve titled that “I’ll be watching you” because I like the song. If I really like it, I Pocket it. Have you met Pocket? Basically it slaps everything in one place to read later and always accessible anywhere! This is great for tutorial posts, or recipe posts that you want to have on hand. I added the Pocket extension on my browser and when I want to keep something for later, I click the little icon, a small confirmation shows up where I can tag the blog/article (you don’t have to, but I do #planner #organizer, remember?) and when I need it, they’re all there waiting for me to act on.

All of these apps help me with “content curation“. What’s that mean? All it means is collecting, organizing and displaying information relevant to a specific interest that I can share (or just consume).

–7–

Yes to Carrots Body Butter. I love this paraben free, 96% natural cream! One more thing I'm loving right now. A new post by @fillpraycloset

Winter is always harsh on my skin. I never, ever bother with lotions because I can literally scratch the word DRY on my hand. Who remembers that Vaseline lotion commercial? Am I showing my age? I found YES to Carrots Super Rich Body Butter. I love the way it smells and how within a few minutes I have no trace of slathered craziness on my body. I hate that feeling, don’t you? You can purchase straight from their website or hit Target for it. I always have to look for paraben free products because I’m allergic – you’d be surprised how many beauty products contain it. Don’t believe me? Check your labels for is and their buddies ‎methylparaben, ‎propylparaben, ‎butylparaben, ‎ethylparaben. It’s used as a preservative, but all it does is make me break out in a horrible rash. Any other paraben-haters out there?

That’s my week! What are you loving right now? Spill it, so I can go out and get it, or stalk it online. That’s what I do. 

For more quick takes, visit This Ain’t the Lyceum!

12 thoughts on “#7QT Things I’m Loving Right Now

  1. You are on it! I have splurged on an EC planner yet but I’ve had my eyes on one for years. I will definitely check out those podcasts. And I’m right there with you on the pen thing. Maybe it’s a writer thing? I’ve seen baby lips and heard about it. I need to try it!

    Like

  2. I’m loving another (free) Android app called “Clean Master.” My phone is only 8 GB and space was becoming an issue. This little app cleans up all the cache junk and all that stuff, and suddenly voila! I have 2 GB of free space whereas before I tried to download a new app and was told I didn’t have enough space. :0 Yay! 🙂

    Like

  3. I think I get it? All I know is when I get organized enough to really promote other blogs and my own well, you are my go to person. I admire your dedication and energy for it, even if you wave all that off with your “tips” and “tricks”. You are knowledgable and understand it in a way I don’t. I just really want to sit it my room and write stories and not have to worry about “selling” myself, but I know that’s not how it works. Anyway, I’m super glad you are on my team because you know it all. Have a fab weekend, friend!!! Mine just started after a cray, cray day! Sending you warm cyber hugs!

    Like

    1. I keep all of those blogs that I “feed” on a feedly list, so I read them before bedtime, or in the morning – whenever I have free moments throughout the day really. This way I can keep up with them too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cristina, I am so glad you are enjoying the Brilliant Business Moms podcast! Thank you so much for sharing us with your readers. Be Brilliant!

    Like

  5. Oh, you cannot beat a good pen.

    Though I will say that I’m not really a lipstick person. If you want my heart, you’ll get me a tube of Burts Bees. But seriously.

    Also, i have a written planner too. I only use my phone when I have too. For some reason I feel so much more legit if it’s on paper and written down than any other way.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

