7 Books That Help When You Feel Drained and Frazzled

I was asked by a friend what books I would suggest to her friend that’s struggling emotionally and spiritually. I didn’t want to just suggest the bible, it’s an always staple for me. Sometimes we need to read hope in many places. She gave me more details so I was able to tailor my suggestions a bit. I will share that the woman is Anglican so she is “ok with Catholic stuff”. I didn’t think I had anything good, but you know me, once I get going…

I am sharing them with you too, you know, for your friends. My list includes both Catholic and Christian books, because we’re inclusive like that here.

7 Books That Help When You Feel Drained and Frazzled Both Christian and Catholic Books for Everyone by @fillpraycloset

–1–

I haven’t read As Morning Breaks: Daily Gospel Reflections by Lisa M. Hendey, but my gal pal Rhonda swears by it. And we all know Lisa, right? She’s the founder of CatholicMom.com, is an author, produces and hosts TV shows and is public speaker (to name but a few hats).

7 Books That Help When You Feel Drained and Frazzled Both Christian and Catholic Books for Everyone by @fillpraycloset

If you have KindleUnlimited (like I do) you can get this book for free! What’s up downloaded?!

–2–

I thought (in my meta-mind) that the sister to this book on the Christian side would be that lovely devotional I mentioned a couple of days ago, The Busy Mom’s Devotional by Lisa T. Bergren. She actually encourages you to write in the devotional. Seems like she didn’t expect big-font Cristina to be reading it, so I have a separate notebook. I’m only in the first devotional and I love how before you even get started, there’s a place to get all the junk floating around in your head down on paper, so you can focus on the devotional, scripture, and you!

–3–

7 Books That Help When You Feel Drained and Frazzled Both Christian and Catholic Books for Everyone by @fillpraycloset

Another book I suggested, and sadly, haven’t read yet is The Grace of Yes by Lisa M. Hendey (surprise!). All of my favorite bloggers read and reviewed this book and had nothing but praise for it. Barb from franciscanmom.com says:

I’m glad I said “yes” to reading Lisa Hendey’s latest book. It’s a combination memoir and pep talk with prayer, Scripture and inspiring quotes to tie the whole thing together. This book touches on the many ways saying “yes” can be an opportunity for grace for ourselves and others–and why sometimes saying “no” is also necessary to allow grace to work within us.

–4–

Keeping with the sister book theme, I thought this could be a good counterpart to Lisa’s book. I didn’t read this one, but I love the writer so I know it’s good. The Best Yes: Making Wise Decisions in the Midst of Endless Demands by Lysa TerKeurst. The description says:

Lysa TerKeurst is learning that there is a big difference between saying yes to everyone and saying yes to God. In The Best Yes she will help you:

  • Cure the disease to please with a biblical understanding of the command to love.
  • Escape the guilt of disappointing others by learning the secret of the small no.
  • Overcome the agony of hard choices by embracing a wisdom based decision-making process.
  • Rise above the rush of endless demands and discover your best yes today.

–5–

I’ve spoken about this book before and read it all the time. It was a gift from my husband, for no reason at all. Don’t you love those? It’s Women of the Bible by Ann Spangler, Jean E. Syswerda. I didn’t review this book, but always refer to it, whether it’s for an RCIA presentation or just to get a feel for what these Women of the Bible would do in my situation (or similar ones – I doubt Ruth had issues with too much social media).

–6–

7 Books That Help When You Feel Drained and Frazzled Both Christian and Catholic Books for Everyone by @fillpraycloset

I love this book for it’s simplicity. Simply go to the table of contents, pick your feeling and there’s a saint ready to hold your hand through it. I’m talking about Saintly Solutions to Life’s Common Problems: From Anger, Boredom, and Temptation to Gluttony, Gossip, and Greed by Fr. Joseph M. Esper. This book runs the gamut from anger and anxiety to boredom, irreligious children and even, wait for it, profanity!  And how can you not get it based solely on the cover? We all know how I love Mother Teresa!

What I didn’t know is that Fr. Esper came out with a second book,  More Saintly Solutions. The second book touts wisdom from St. Augustine, St. Elisabeth Ann Seton, St. Catherine of Siena, and St. Francis de Sales (his novena is coming up!). It also mentioned that you’ll also meet lesser-known saints, including St. Maria de la Cabeza, St. Joaquina, and St. Theophan the Recluse.

–7–

7 Books That Help When You Feel Drained and Frazzled Both Christian and Catholic Books for Everyone by @fillpraycloset

I know this can be considered an 8th book, but you don’t really mind do you? Because Venerable Fulton J. Sheen had to be here on this list with the book Your Life is Worth Living. This book was given to me by a family friend I made in PA, who actually transcribed his talks from record! As in LPs as in #oldschool. It’s his book! Crazy, right? I adore . I do. I love to watch his shows on EWTN late at night when no one is awake. I literally respond when he says things that ring true for me. I’m all “I know that’s right!” right at the screen. He was such an evangelist, and just a humble person who speaks from the heart about everything and anything. Not to mention, when he was younger, he kinda looked like he could have been my brother. Weird! But the book isn’t. This is a MUST HAVE.

Tell me, what suggestions would you make for someone who is just drained and frazzled both spiritually and emotionally? 

For more Quick Takes, visit This Ain’t The Lyceum!

6 thoughts on “7 Books That Help When You Feel Drained and Frazzled

  1. Thank you for your kind words! I can’t say enough good about “The Grace of Yes.” And I have an Amazon gift card from Christmas that is begging to be spent on the “Saintly Solutions” book you mention here. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I get on a roll and can’t be stopped either 🙂

    I love that the Bible is your go-to book. There really is so much hope that comes from reading scriptures and putting yourself in a position to hear God speak comfort, you know? But, in the meantime, there’s so many other people with great messages as well.

    Thanks for sharing. Definitely bookmarking this one!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

