Is It Here Already?

It’s the end of the year. We made it through a season of seasons and are now ending the book on 2014. I thought I would review the year with you so we could read and say”Hmmm, oh yeah, I remember that. Wait! Oh yeah, I can’t believe she said that. She should have stayed in bed that day!” together. I wrote 214 posts this year, and will give you just the highlights. You with me? No matter, we’re going anyway.

JanuaryNew Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

I was pretty reflective in January as I began making my Consecration to Mary and reflected with you on what came out through prayer. Apparently, Picasso came out, and some talk about how we perceive ourselves and I went back to the beginning replacing Vizzini in The Princess Bride with the Holy Spirit. 

 

February

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

I teamed up with Tiffany over at Life of a Catholic Librarian for a Super Friends version of Lent. We banged out a week’s worth of posts covering the pillars of Lent, Ash Wednesday where my husband was corralled into getting ashes and I couldn’t stop laughing,  and Shrove Tuesday to name but a few shenanigans highlights.

March

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

By far, the most fun post to write was the Catholic Celebrities post! From the image to the research, I had a blast finding out which stars were Catholic! I juxtaposed that with a post on Oriella Cazzanello; a woman from Northern Italy, who traveled to a clinic in Basel, Switzerland, and paid €10,000 to kill herself. I did that on purpose because as much as we fawn over physical beauty,  we shouldn’t hold that in such high regard that we fail to see the people behind the perfected face.

April

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillprayclosetHoly A to Z challenge people. I really pulled out all the stops and joined a challenge with over 1,000 bloggers globally and wrote about the Catholic Faith from A to Z. By far the most popular in that month long series was the topic of the virtues of the Blessed Virgin Mary (shocker!)

May

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

I shared why I love being a working mother. Seven reasons why I love being a working mother, actually. That chair is one of them. I just noticed that you can see a picture of me with my stepdaughter, where we used jumbo crayola crayons as mustaches. Points to you if you find it. But seriously…

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillprayclosetMay.was.huge. I went on pilgrimage to Italy and the major highlight? I was this far away from the Pope! That bodyguard still freaks me out though. Hi, Papa Francesco!

 

June

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillprayclosetIn June, I was featured on SITS, a networking website of over 75,000 women bloggers who aim to support one another through commenting and social media shares.

I was also honest about family, shared how grateful I am for my original bestie, Mike and the boys – and how crying is ok, so long as you’re looking at the ceiling with me (you know, so you don’t mess up the mascara)

July

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

My husband shared what it’s like to be married to me and it’s no picnic, I can tell you. He hilariously shared some things that will make you laugh, although he doesn’t laugh when I do these things. Hmph, that’s interesting.

Continuing with the honesty tip, I shared some things in my childhood that connect with my vocation as a mother. It’s not like I was thinking of it that day. It was a knee-jerk response to a link up that went awry in my head somehow. A response that should have been light-hearted and playful, triggered something dark and buried. That post changed me. I have to admit, I was in a pretty deep funk after I wrote that piece, and only in the past month have I been able to get past being so vulnerable. I think that means you owe me lunch or something.

August

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset
Credit: Morguefile via @scottmliddell

I remember I was thinking about NaNoWriMo in August. I tried my hand at a short story prompt for a link up. It took place in a coffee shop and had to tie into Saint John Paul II’s Theology of the Body. No pressure, but I guess I did ok? I included my favorite pastry. (Always with the food, Cristina!!!)

I learned not to take myself so seriously, as far as living my faith goes. Sometimes we’re our own worse critic, right? I shared my confession with you? What was I thinking?! Oh, I know, I realized that  I am the Paralytic, my sins are forgiven and I can get up and walk.

September

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

Oh September, how you taunt with organization and your back-to-school supplies. Just when you think you are planned up and ready to hit the end of the year like no body’s business, you hit the land that time forgot, or spiritual dryness. I tried to keep it light, and likened this vast desert to Disney’s Alice in Wonderland.

But, I also shared how you can tell if you’re an introvert, because I really know.

October

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

I chatted with my tribe-peeps, and we shared some of the search terms on our blogs. I never really paid much attention, so when I looked and couldn’t stop laughing, I had to share them with you.

I was panicking the last few days of October because I was gearing up for NaNoWriMo. I was up early to pray, as I am more focused when I do that, and this post came to me, like a surprise “thinking of you card” from a friend. In this case, that friend was Blessed Mother Teresa. We’re besties. You didn’t know?

November

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillprayclosetNovember was a blur for you too, right? Hubby went to Poland for two weeks on business while I wrote and crafted and crammed words every day to meet the 50,000 word goal that is NaNoWriMo. I’m not finished with the novel, but I hit the goal, so there’s that. 

December

All the birthday that was to be had, was had by me! I even had a birthday cheesecake this weekend (even though my birthday was on Gaudete Sunday!). That’s how you birthday, you extend it for a week. Of course, I reflected on what I’ve learned in my 36 years of being on this earth.

We’re still in December, I know that. But this is where I will leave you because Christmas, my family, food, mass and resting (cross stitch*, reading and contemplating). Those are all important things, my most favorite things. I will be back in January, with fire in my belly (because people need to recognize! Wuuuuuuut?!) and ice in my hair. Why? Because I go out with my hair wet and it freezes. That’s why.

As promised, here is the Ugly Christmas Sweater picture I promised you on Friday.

New Post: Is It Here Already? A year in review. That should keep you busy till 2015  by @fillpraycloset

Merry Christmas, dear readers. I am so glad you were here this year. I’m glad I was here this year. I say, we do this all again in 2015, you know, but we’ll be wiser, and hopefully more willing to exercise. Who am I kidding?!?!

Peace out!

*I can’t go a day without writing the word cross stitch. I am officially addicted!

9 thoughts on “Is It Here Already?

  1. Aw! What an awesome review of your year. We didn’t become friends until closer to the end of this year, so it’s fun to go back and see what you’re been up to!

    I don’t think I knew that you went to Italy! Maybe I did. It sounds slightly familiar. What was your favorite part? So jealous!

    Like

    1. I can’t remember ever not being your friend! Actually, I can…it was when I didn’t think I was a writer. You helped change that mindset,didn’t you?!

      My favorite part about Italy?? Hmmm, the Amalfi coast. That was the best time. If you can ever, ever get there, you should go and not hesitate. It was the best gift a girl could ask for (even though I didn’t!)

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

