From the Sacred to the Profane, Books!

As I was getting ready this morning, I thought of you. Yes. You staring at these letters that are organized into words. I wanted to share all the books I’ve read this year, just in case you would like to read them before the year is out. I created a Pinterest board of all the books I read in 2014. There are certainly other books that I have read, but never finished or have yet to finish (Game of Thrones and Read Like a Writer, I’m looking at you) but since I didn’t get to the back cover, they will not be included.

Let's Talk Books! I share my favorites from 2014. They were all written by women, and are indie publishers to boot! by @fillpraycloset

I will highlight those books that are written by gal-pals I know because I think they deserve center stage. It’s a brave thing to write, an even braver thing to share it with the world. They love their words, so much, that they set them free. Unlike social media, there is no block feature to remove a scathing review, so hat’s off to them, right? Here we go.

D is for Dysfunctional by Ericka Clay. I know, I talk about this chick all the time. She really does make the ugly beautiful. This is a collection of short stories and poetry. I have to say, the one that sticks with me is the story at the funeral parlor. Wanna know more? You have to get the book! Her use of metaphors are haunting as is the sneaky way she injects dark humor into her prose. She’s got a serialized novel out on Wattpad (for free) titled Wren, based on the main character of her next book Unkept which is slated for release by Bannerwing Books in early 2015. Homegirl also makes her own covers. Again, NOT for the faint of heart. If you’re not into @(*%#, then it’s not for you. If you can set that aside, and read anyway, you won’t be disappointed.

Let's Talk Books! I share my favorites from 2014. They were all written by women, and are indie publishers to boot! by @fillpraycloset
Photo Credit: H O L L Y. on Flickr

You’ll also see that I’ve commented on each chapter. That’s what’s so great about Wattpad, immediate feedback from your fans. I won’t go on a Wattpad parade here. I already did that when I interviewed Ericka. To keep up with this chick, head over to Tipsy Lit, I’m there too.

Don’t You Forget About Me by Erin McCole Cupp. Let’s count all the ways this writer and book are awesome. Erin, (yes, I am on a first name basis with her!) is a lay Dominican (hi-ooooh!), homeschooling wife and mother of two sweet girls, meets a random fan-atic at a cave to exchange a book for a review on this here blog (the fan-atic is me). The book is about Cate, a cool customer, on a mystery wrapped in a suspense, wrapped in an NFP Catholicky-whodunit goodness, caper. And the titles of the chapters are all 80’s music titles!!! She is also about to release a turned-on-it’s-head novella, The Working Mother on Holy Family Sunday (tentative release). From her blog:

With her husband disabled and out of work and her child in mortal danger,

a mother must leave her family and find work so they can all survive.

The husband’s name is Joseph. The child’s name is Jesus.

The working mother is Mary.

I mean, really. Did you ever think to…? Just re-read that, and imagine a movie trailer voice. Did you do it? When she told me the premise, my insides screamed “Of course!!! That makes SO much sense” but my outsides played it cool, with “Yeah, that’s interesting” complete with a Robert DeNiro head nod and point.

Let's Talk Books! I share my favorites from 2014. They were all written by women, and are indie publishers to boot! by @fillpraycloset
You. You’re good, you.

The Isadora Interviews, Miss Mabel’s School for Girls and Antebellum Awakening by Katie “Mic Dropping it Like it’s Hot” Cross. That’s her real name. For real, farina. It has to be, because all three books? DEVOURED in 5 days. Her next book, Mildred’s Resistance is set to drop (with all her mic’s) in March 2015. How can I even begin to explain the story here? I’ll do my very best. The Isadora Interviews are character sketches of the main character, Bianca and her gal pals novella stylie. Each character is distinct and lovable, even if they are a little edgy. The story overall is about Bianca, a teenaged witch who tries to lift the family curse before she turns 16. That is so distilled, because there are stories within stories, like a blooming onion in there. I love those, they make great appetizers. Her descriptions are lush and realistic. She taps into feelings you’ve felt and buried only to relive them again as you turn the page. I can’t say enough. It’s too much! The big news, Miss Mabel’s School for Girls is now available on Audible!

Let's Talk Books! I share my favorites from 2014. They were all written by women, and are indie publishers to boot! by @fillpraycloset
You get an audiobook! You get an audiobook! Oh Oprah, we love you.

But even cooler than that, she wrote about the experience of using audible to create an audio book.

Ahhh, that was a lot of awesome, was it not? If you’re interested in checking out all of the books I’ve read this year, head over to the pinterest board and check them out.

I still have to finish Game of Thrones. I’ve been on hiatus because of my neck pain, which is finally subsiding after 5 days of muscle relaxers, high octane ibuprofen and stretching exercises. So glamorous, aren’t we? What all have you read this year? Or rather, what are you racing to finish before December is done?

18 thoughts on “From the Sacred to the Profane, Books!

  1. INTERNET HUGSSS!!! Thank you, Cristina! You’ve been a writer’s BFF and are an exceptional writer yourself which makes your review mean EVEN MORE!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those GIF’s are so perfect it brought tears to me eyes. But srlsy. HUGGING YOUR FACE.

    and SHUT UP. Ericka makes her own covers? because that cover is perfect, and amazing, and WOW. I always knew Ericka was a boss, but geez . . .

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh man I love Miss Mabel’s series. Or rather the Network Series (get it right, Kelsey!). Loving on the GIFs. I’m a major advocate of using GIFs to express ALL THE MOODS!

    I’ll have to check out the other two you mentioned!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I legit just found Don’t you Forget About Me on my kindle a few days ago. Don’t know how it got there (it’s not a library loan, and I don’t remember buying it)…. so definitely must read it now.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

