Prayer Requests for December

How can I pray for you?

IMG_9175.JPG

If you leave your request, you can alsoΒ leave any saint name you’d like to intercede on your behalf as well.

Today is the Memorial of St. Nicholas. Catholic Culture has a great write up of this saint. I would like to draw your attention to this part and ask that you try to so this at some point today, tomorrow or even this month.

St. Nicholas did his charitable works secretly. Suggest that your children do one hidden act of kindness in imitation of the saint.

For me specifically, please pray with the intercession of St. Francis de Sales and St. Mary Magdalene.

24 thoughts on “Prayer Requests for December

  1. I still struggle to comprehend this. I went to RCIA lessons for the longest time, and they never really had any satisfactory answers for it. I know that it’s Tradition and The Original and all those kind of things which the Anglican church just can’t boast, but…adunno.

    I just pray and hope God’s listening.

    Like

      1. We don’t pray *to* them. Let’s see…ever ask friends and family for prayers? I do. For each month on the blog, I ask that people pray for me, while in turn praying for them. That’s what Catholics do with saints. Saints are/were real people, imperfect and beautiful people. When we ask for their intercession, what we are doing is asking them to pray for us to God. Like a friend. Like I ask my friends to do for me. I love having saints to call on for specific intentions. For example, with my writing, I go to St. Francis de Sales all the time. It’s almost like going after prayer with a posse of select people who know first hand, the difficulty I am going through with any certain issue or problem, and they, along with my prayers help me. I read about their trials and victories, their lives and deaths, and being not so perfect makes me feel like I can do this life thing, too. Does that make sense?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. How do do you know God’s listening, or where He is? Faith, and respectively – heaven. But does it matter? When you call a friend because you need them to listen, does it matter where they are? xoxoxoxo times quazillion.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Why not just pray to God? It’s not like he’s gonna be bogged down in stuff, being all Omni and stuff?

        Sorry, not meaning to be difficult. I need to go and punch a few punchbags. It’s translating into my tone. I apologise.

        Like

      4. I look to Ephesians 6:18 Pray at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints

        I also look to Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with perseverance the race that is set before us, Where the great cloud of witnesses are the saints.

        Finally, The Catechism of the Catholic Church expands the “great cloud of witnesses” reference in CCC 2683 and 2684 The witnesses who have preceded us into the kingdom,41 especially those whom the Church recognizes as saints, share in the living tradition of prayer by the example of their lives, the transmission of their writings, and their prayer today. They contemplate God, praise him and constantly care for those whom they have left on earth. When they entered into the joy of their Master, they were “put in charge of many things.”42 Their intercession is their most exalted service to God’s plan. We can and should ask them to intercede for us and for the whole world.

        2684 In the communion of saints, many and varied spiritualities have been developed throughout the history of the churches. The personal charism of some witnesses to God’s love for men has been handed on, like “the spirit” of Elijah to Elisha and John the Baptist, so that their followers may have a share in this spirit.43 A distinct spirituality can also arise at the point of convergence of liturgical and theological currents, bearing witness to the integration of the faith into a particular human environment and its history. The different schools of Christian spirituality share in the living tradition of prayer and are essential guides for the faithful. In their rich diversity they are refractions of the one pure light of the Holy Spirit.

        The Spirit is truly the dwelling of the saints and the saints are for the Spirit a place where he dwells as in his own home since they offer themselves as a dwelling place for God and are called his temple.44

        Is that helpful?

        Like

      5. Yes…I think so…so Tradition and the catechism expand on a couple of references and get a LOT out of it? Adunno Salty, there are just so many things I don’t understand about it. But thank you so much for taking the time to explain it properly. I do appreciate it, and I’ll keep trying to learn πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Please pray for me with the intercession of St. Teresa of Avila and St. Therese of Lisieux for guidance to do God’s will always and to have purposeful writing.
    Thank you so much, you’ll be in my prayers also! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. For a special intention for Father David Bialkowski. And for me that my seasonal job turns permanent while I discern a vocation

    Like

  4. Please pray for me for the intercession of St. Thomas More (one of the 2 patron saints for lawyers) to find a job soon, have been unemployed for 3 months. I have a major job interview for a dream job possibility on Dec. 17, it’s my best hope. Happy to pray for you and your family, too. Thanks so much. God bless you!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

