NaNoWriMo Update Week 3: Cross Stitch and Bacon Roses

Here I am! Coming up for some air here with all the words. I am at 37,452 words as of yesterday’s writing session. I haven’t begun today yet because I kind of like procrastinating.

How many times can I enter the indecipherable captcha on this awesome cross stitch site!? I must gain access! Are those bacon roses I see in the Tipsy Lit Fan Club Group?!  Ooh, the cross stitchers have a magazine, look at the cute dog pattern with a reindeer sweater! Can I make that for Christmas? Who would I give it to? Is it too late to start? Download? Yes, please! Click, click, click…not writing.

NaNoWriMo Update Week 3: Cross Stitch and Bacon Roses my #NaNoWriMo update for week 3 complete with tips for helping to get the writing done. Including this bouquet of pork deliciousness @fillpraycloset #writing

The real reason is, I’ve noticed a trend with my writing. I prefer to write after lunch. I was never a morning person. Of course, all of the experts say that you should write first thing in the morning, morning pages and all that. I don’t think so. I would have this as my first paragraph:

bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
hgggggggggggggggggggggggggf

Why? Because those would probably be the keys my forehead punched in as a result of falling, face first from total exhaustion. So, afternoons it is. I never see the clock between the hours of 1PM and 4PM, so I’m thinking that’s the sweet spot of my day.

Yesterday, Rhonda and I had the longest word sprint ever, lasting all day over the Twittah. She emailed me early in the day, (or was it the night before?) checking in and letting me know she wanted to hit 3K for the day. Never to pass up a goal, I responded and said I would do it with her. Where two or three are gathered, the words will be there, as will Jesus, so long as we pray before and after the word sprint. I’m sure that’s what it says.

There was plenty of quick tweet updates in between, but the moral of the story here is, we did it and it’s always better to have a cheerleader in your corner, or Oregon in this particular case.

I continue to share my word count updates with images (on Facebook, Instagram and sometimes on Google+) that have inspired the words for the day. In case you missed them, here they are!

3,031 words written today. Total 37,452! Inspiration pic! #nanowrimo #fantasy

A post shared by cristina trinidad 🌿 (@thetrinidadclan) on

1,739 words today. Total of 31,773. Today’s writing inspired by this image. #nanowrimo #amwriting #fantasy

A post shared by cristina trinidad 🌿 (@thetrinidadclan) on

That last one is a little creepy, but that’s what happens in a story, you have antagonists. I think if you get a reaction out of the image, that’s a good place to start. Generally, I begin to write, and I hang on a word as I envision the scene kind of like the Lectio Divina of writing!!! I enter that one word into Google, and scan the images that pop up. One thing leads to another and voila, I have something to look at that keeps the word fresh in my mind as I write out the scene. I don’t know if this is a method, but it works for this visual gal. Try it. Tell me what happens. I take no responsibility for the dreams you will have. For me? Last night there was endless filing of my nails. That was the dream. And my husband decided to join the Army Reserve. I have no idea what either of them mean, but at least I’m not pooping pasta.

I did try an actual method suggested by Katie Cross. The ever loving mind map. I’d heard of it in my days of education (I was going to be a high school English teacher, remember?) but never used it with writing. On Monday, I was not into picking up my work and writing, kind of like my last knitting project. I kept avoiding it, so I reached out to her and she sent me some snap shots of her mind maps. I played with a free mind map app called Coggle for a while. It was a different way of creating. I don’t even know if I used it right, but, I wrote 2,333 words that day. So thank you, Katie! She said you just need to do something else for a while, and this helped dislodge the procrastination.

Outside of NaNoWriMo, life is humming along. I have a lay Dominican meeting tonight, where I present two (count them two!) modules (that I wrote and prepared before 11/1) on Prayer and Dominican Devotion to Our Lady’s Rosary. Gabriel wears glasses as of last Friday, and was quite the little star of the annual Harvest play at school.

Mike will bring Alex to basketball practice tonight, while I bring Gabriel to the meeting. A saint post will go up tomorrow with Tiffany per our monthly cross post schedule and Alex is altar serving this Saturday. All normal, calm, prepared and lovely which leaves room in my head for all the fantasy writing craziness that swirls about all.the.time.

I did read some stuffs on the web. My presents for you writers!

That’s the update. And I was totally serious about the cross stitching. I mean, look at this doggie. I used to cross stitch when I was younger, and kind of miss it. I think I could get into that more so than knitting. I know, S. I know. Stop shaking your head at the phone. People are watching you.

NaNoWriMo Update Week 3: Cross Stitch and Bacon Roses

To another 3,000 words!

After lunch.

14 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update Week 3: Cross Stitch and Bacon Roses

  1. Ha I am trying to read this but have to leave for doc with my FIL and he is on a different timeframe than me.

    Happy writing Christina!!! You can do this!

    pk

    Like

  2. I am NOT a morning person and would not write then if you forced me make bacon roses. Good for you – figure out what your best schedule is. Great word count! Rock on!

    I have to look at Katie’s “Mind Map” and the other links you have here. I always love Chuck’s take on things, writing, life…whatever.

    (Your son looks adorable in glasses!)

    Like

    1. Hola Sarah!! It takes a lot for me to smile at anyone in the morning, let alone speak or try to create anything. Like right now. It’s morning. Thank goodness for caffeine pills AND coffee. (My little Gabriel has to wear an eye patch for two hours every night! Now *that’s* adorable!)

      Like

  3. I’m an afternoon writer too. Actually, evening. I can never seem to get many words on the page until after the sun goes down. Also a cross-stitcher and crocheter (are those really words?). Right now I’m in a race to finish the NaNo and three little hooded blankets for the grandbabies. Loved reading your post because I was all like “I can relate!” I even almost used that floating city image for a book review that should appear tomorrow. Thanks for the great info, too. So glad I sort of know you 🙂

    Like

  4. Ooh I definitely have to try the google image thing! I started off NaNo absolutely loving the mornings, but now I’m afternoon all the way… Don’t seem to have a pattern 🙂 Good luck with yours!

    Like

  5. Picture of your sweet boys just slay me. How are they so cute?!

    Glad the mind map worked for you! It doesn’t work for everyone, but it’s something you can try and see if it works for you. That’s kind of the fun part of writing. Or the part that will just make you go crazy. Sometimes they are so closely related that I don’t know what’s up.

    By the way, I can’t stop craving bacon after seeing those roses. It’s just one more reason that I love Tipsy Lit. Seriously.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

