Let’s Go to Poland

My husband was in Poland for work a few weeks ago and he took over a hundred pictures while on a walking tour of Cathedral Island (which he would want me to tell you isn’t really an island), visiting Wroclaw University, the Bishop’s Palace, Botanical Garden and capturing all the gnomes!

I promised in my post of St. Teresa Benedicta of the Cross that I would share a bit of his trip. He did attend mass while there and took some audio of the hymns. You could tell he was nervous. He set his iPhone face down on the pew as he was standing. I could tell he immediately realized that if his phone buzzed, it would disturb the mass so he quickly grabbed it and held on to it. He kept wishing I was there and took pictures of whatever he thought I would love. I think he captured it, don’t you?

Approaching Cathedral Island
Approaching Cathedral Island

 

Cathedral Island
Inside a cathedral on Cathedral island

 

Gnome
Just a gnome, chillin.

 

St. Mary Magdalene Church
St. Mary Magdalene Church

 

JPII
A memorial to St. John Paul II within St. Mary Magdalene Church

 

 

A view from the nave of St. Mary Magdalene Church
A view from the nave of St. Mary Magdalene Church

 

A chapel within St. Mary Magdalene Church
A chapel within St. Mary Magdalene Church

 

The altar at St. Mary Magdalene Church
The altar at St. Mary Magdalene Church

 

Vigil candles at St. Mary Magdalene Church

So, are we all sufficiently jealous happy that he was able to visit this country?

Back to writing! I still have a 3,000 word quota to make today.

 

10 thoughts on “Let’s Go to Poland

    1. He said I should add this place to my bucket list as it’s made for Catholics. I just kept imagining how he may have walked over a cobblestone that St. John Paul II did!!

      He even brought back a wood plaque of St. John Paul II for me! He really is the best 🙂

      Like

      1. “The anti-thesis is the spot, and the synthesis is the gnome.” WTF! I think the writer’s as high as some of the gnomes are meant to be 😉

        And true – I bet if you smoked a pipe in your nose, you’d end up with some pretty bonkers things to say.

        Shouldn’t you be writing, young lady? :p

        Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

