That’s OK Write Anyway, a Prayer

I’m all about my hybrid niche of faith and writing here on my blog, as you know. This morning, I was sitting on the edge of the tub wishing the needles on my clock would stop moving. Time slowed just enough for me to come up with a prayer. That’s right. A prayer.

I’ve mentioned that I will be participating in NaNoWriMo in November. I’ve been planning and planning since August when just last month, the entire story changed and I’ve been so upset about it, I haven’t done any more planning. Sure, I think about what I’m going to write, and what genre it should fall under. But, even that has troubled me. It’s spiritual in nature, but there’s a lot of fantasy. When I looked that up I got J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. So naturally, self doubt crawled in and said “*@&%!@ please, there’s no way you’re anything like them” So, I’ve been at an impasse, unable to write, or plan, or blog, or anything.

My story is about a man on a mission to fix things, because when he dies, he finds out that, well. I don’t want to give it away. It may upset you, and I don’t know how it ends. When I see where he’s going in my mind, it’s just mist. All mist, much like the mist that I see in the morning as I drive to work, covering the valley. I feel like I can’t know until I write it, and it’s not November yet. I know this may make no sense to you.

I mentioned that I was experiencing some spiritual dryness in my prayer life so I’ve been hanging out with Bl. Mother Teresa. I mean, we are thick as thieves now. You know the prayer that was found written on her walls in her home for children in Calcutta? That was the inspiration for my prayer that I will print and hang up at my desk at home.

#Write Anyway, A #Prayer for #NaNoWriMo inspired by Bl. Mother Teresa #amwriting

People will say that writing a novel is ludicrous because you’re 36, a mom, have a day job, are married, don’t have any formal writing education, etc. etc.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you are disciplined with your time in November and no one understands that you can’t make Friday night bowling.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you weren’t disciplined with your time in October and have absolutely nothing prepared, or if your antagonist hijacked your whole story, but he’s actually right and good, and now you’re starting over.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you are successful and hit that 50,000 word mark but are scared to death about what to do next because everyone assumes the “money is coming”; you know, because publishing is just that easy.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you are honest and sincere, and it just so happens that your mother becomes the Annie Wilkes in Misery for your story.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

What you spend all month creating, could be mostly crap – because this is your first time.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you’re freaking out that there will be too much of you on the page.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you find that the high you get from writing and creating all the things, makes some say you’re “not a real writer” (whatever that means).
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you get to your computer and stare, and stare, and stare because you have no idea what to write and that cursor is blinking back at you, steadily and with no sympathy at all for the vertigo that’s about to come,
That’s ok. Write (character sketches, world building, future scenes, you get the picture) anyway.

If you’re worried that you may not blog as much, and readers will “forget you” as evidenced by the stats you say you don’t check, but secretly stalk.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

What you write today, will absolutely be forgotten by you tomorrow because there’s no time to edit.
That’s ok. Write anyway.

If you worry that your kids will miss you because you’re spending time writing, remember the times you overheard them praying that they hope you write the best novel ever.
That’s ok. Write anyway (they’re cheering for you).

Give the best you have, knowing that it will never be enough (because how much can one person read!).
That’s ok. Write (your best) anyway.

In the final analysis, it is between you and God and the black and white of the page.  It was never between you and them (the naysayers, including your nasty inner editor) anyway.

So, I’ll be writing anyway, every day in November. Thanks Bl. Mother Teresa.

29 thoughts on “That’s OK Write Anyway, a Prayer

  1. This post is so spot on..I will be there to cheer you on. Let’s get through this “thing”, whatever it is, together. November is one month of our lives. We can do this.

    Like

  2. One thing I can say is that true followers of your blog are loyal, no matter how erratic your posting may be. I used to worry about that all the time, but now it’s not such a big deal, really.

    Also, you are not alone in any of those fears. With two published novels and a novella under my belt, I still wonder if what I’m doing is going to be wasted. In fact, I have to say that the stress/pressure increases a bit because of expectations from previous books. (not to mention critical reviews). But what I can say is this: the fires of your first book are preparatory. They truly are. You’ll find ways to cope with all these things and all the stress, and then you’ll use those coping mechanisms later.

    Don’t be worried yet about “offending” people with the content of your book. You could write about rabbits and bunnies and offend someone. Until you have a final draft in your hands, and you’re just about to publish, you can never know what will happen to your storyline.

    So the antagonist takes over? NBD. There’s a rocky path to every story, and typically you end is scraped up, bloody, and sometimes with someone else than you started with.

    It’s a lovely, gruesome process 🙂

    Love yer friggin face. So proud of you for pressing on!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cristina, once when my son was in 6th grade, he had to do a poem for entry into The Anthology of Poetry of Young Americans. As usual, he put it off and then he wrote one and lost it! I was aggravated with him. So, the night before, he wrote another one and guess what? He won! He is published. He has a gift. Girl, if God wants it ~ it’s done, you know? I would love to read it. You are a gifted writer and I have no doubt that God is using that gift in you.

    Like

  4. God’s gift to you, the desire to write, to create art with words. The ability to touch so many souls with the words you write, giving God all the Glory. Your gift to God; “Jesus I Trust in You!” Write Anyway!
    God will do the rest. I know you can, you have a rare gift, share it. God Bless, tami

    Like

  5. This is great! Very encouraging, I’ve never done NaNoWriMo before, and just now, on the 31st Oct, thinking I might give it a try with absolutely no idea of what I will write and no time in my days allocated to write it. It’s just a crazy enough idea that I will probably do it. : ) That Mother Teresa is one inspiring lady isn’t she?

    Like

  6. Don’t over think it, friend! You can’t know what dinosaur you’re uncovering before you even start digging, and remember it doesn’t have to be perfect. I love your prayer, and I know your book is going to be a gift to God and the Saints, so enjoy the journey, because they will enjoy it along with you! You’re amazing.

    PS. Punch fear in the face.xo

    Like

    1. You know me. All I do is overthink. Maybe if I can extrapolate and overdig instead? Be prepared for middle of the night FB message questions and non-sensical doubt filled rants. xo

      Like

  7. Your post is dead on. We all have those fears, You should listen to where your character wants to take you. That happens all the time to me and I end up someplace I never expect but it is the place I should be.
    my kids tell everyone I am a writer. They never tell anyone about my full time job that pays the bills. They will be so proud of you and you are setting an example to follow your dreams. That is so important.
    When you finish NaNoWriMo you will teach them the importance of perseverance and that nothing is impossible. Keep it up you are a great mom and your book will be wonderful.

    Like

    1. Thanks Kate! I can’t tell you enough how your NaNo message in my inbox perked me up! I am feeling a little sluggish today, but know I can work through it! 3,000 more words left to write for today! xo

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

