One in a Million

I would say I am a good mom. I am sensitive, understanding and empathetic to the little worlds I help navigate through tough life happenings like Alex’s epilepsy. My husband and I agree that feeding, clothing and sheltering a child is what you’re supposed to do, so you shouldn’t get a pat on the back for it. It’s in those intangible areas that we are called to measure, for lack of a better word, our Supermomness (good luck finding that word in the dictionary).

I was in Target the other day picking out greeting cards to send to my friends Tiffany and Jhanis and overheard a quick conversation that left me shattered the rest of the day.

“Mommy, what does One in a, in a,  M-m-muh-million, One in a Million, mean?”

“Look, either you get the card or not, I’m not here to explain cards to you”

One in a Million by @fillpraycloset #children #parenting #supermom #goodenoughmom

I was kneeling on the floor, staring blankly, pretending to be engrossed in a Hallmark card and listening. The little girl couldn’t have been more than 7 years old. I can’t give a physical description of her, because I never looked at her, even though we were at eye level with one another. She struggled to say One in a Million as she read the cover of the card, and you could tell she was proud she could enunciate the consonants and vowels to create a word she’d recognized in conversations.

I grabbed a card and walked away, my face hot and my eyes blurry. As I turned away, I immediately thought of a response to the mother “Why didn’t you say she was one in a million?! That’s easy, she’s right there and there’s no one else like her in the world!” Then I reminded myself of what my husband always tries to impress upon me when I feel too much: you can’t parent everyone and you can’t tell parents how to either. But I thought of the ripples of damage done to the thin little soul forming within this girl and I prayed for her. I prayed for her mother, too. To one day see that those brash moments, quick and seemingly small, as compared to the other events of the day or life, are like a pea under an otherwise soft place for her daughter to sleep.

My supermomness, comes in these moments, I think.  In little questions and whispered answers. In the listening of my children and not waving away what they find important. Of seeing with their eyes, all that they wonder about, all that they fear and giggle with glee over. Granted, if I hear about Pokemon and Beyblades more than 5 times a day, they get that Mommy is saturated with boy stuff and talk to me of glitter and cupcakes.

Their worlds are little to us, but if you’re at eye level with them, you’ll see it’s enormous to them. Help them to build their worlds and you’ll always have supermom status.

 Join Charity and the rest of the Good Enough Moms at The Wounded Dove.

#goodenoughmom linkup with @charitylcraig

 

21 thoughts on “One in a Million

  1. This totally reminded me of the quote I try to think about when I hear “Mom, this” or “Mom, that” for the umpteenth time: “Listen earnestly to anything your children want to tell you, no matter what. If you don’t listen eagerly to the little stuff when they are little, they won’t tell you the big stuff when they are big, because to them all of it has always been big stuff.” (Catherine M. Wallace) Absolutely see with your kids’ eyes, full of wonder and excitement and discovery. We all need that from time to time. Great post! 🙂

    Like

  2. Cristina:

    Your comment on Pokemon and Beyblades made me laugh out loud. I am a father of two boys (ages 10 and 7) and I have tremendous sympathy for my wife who on a non infrequent basis struggles to keep up with the testosterone level in our house. The discussions have moved from Pokemon and Beyblades to Football and XBox while my poor wife would much rather talk about gardens and flowers. She takes it in stride and like you is a wonderful mother.

    Peace and Blessings,
    W. Ockham

    Like

  3. Such a great reminder! And, you have such a sweet mama heart! My oldest is just getting to the age of lots of talking (just turned three), but I already find myself not always responding to his worldview wonder! Great reflection! Thank you!

    Like

  4. Such a good reminder. I’m so guilty of not wanting to answer the 85 questions this afternoon from one kid…but it is so important to engage and show our kids that what they have to say and what they wonder about are important.

    Like

  5. Oh Cristina…

    I would of been in tears too. I am so sensitive to those kinds of things I hear in stores especially the parents yelling at them so the whole store can hear the anger.

    Yes…I agree…thanks for the reminder much needed.

    xoxo

    Like

  6. It would have broken my heart to hear this exchange as well. I like to think that, as parents, we’re all in this together; the optimistic side of me wants to think that maybe, just maybe, this mom was having a bad day. The nurturing side of me is like you, seeing this as a moment to share with my child.

    Like

    1. I don’t exclude myself from moments of low patience. Maybe I caught her in one of those. Odd that I’ve thought of the mother off and on and how I can view her with more compassion.

      Like

  7. Heartbreaking when parents are thoughtless about what they say to their child. That will wound her and someday she’ll remember it and feel small again. Pray for mom’s healing, because she was hurt before too, and pray that the child won’t be scarred by those ugly words. “Life and death are in the power of the tongue.”

    Like

    1. Yes. I felt sorry for both. Truly. And it messed me up too! I know I feel too much. Part of my personality that’s great — sometimes. There was a scripture from Sirach that I was going to find, but it’s escaped me now. But your quote is what reminded me of it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

