I’ve just been SITS’ed

Back in January, I decided to move in other circles. By that, I mean, expand my Catholic audience and connections to other niches. Enter the SITS tribe challenge. I met wonderful women who are now a close group of friends. We’ve had a Google hangout, created a separate group that checks in daily with one another, share content and tips and tricks for the blogging world (as well as some personal mini-crises). I have to think this is what the founders of SITS had in mind.

SITS (The Secret’s in The Sauce) is a group of 75,000 women bloggers who aim to support one another through commenting and social media shares. The founders, Tiffany and Francesca connect all the dots on blogging, photography, SEO, social media and then some by providing networking opportunities and tutorials. You’re encouraged to sign up and get featured on their site. Today is my day in the SITS sun. Since you can’t have a party with out a parting gift, here’s my gift to you (and a great way to kickoff Summer).

We BBQ a lot in the summertime and this summer will be no different. In fact, we made this very dish on Saturday! I can’t remember where I got it from, I think it actually came from the A-1 bottle. Don’t dismiss those bottle wrappers, some of my favorite dishes to make have come from there.

Marinade for the Perfect Steak

Ingredients
4-5 cloves chopped garlic
Equal parts A-1 Sauce and Balsamic Vinaigrette
4-5 steaks (or more depending on how much marinade you make)
Salt and pepper (to taste)

Instructions
Combine all of the ingredients and whisk together.

I've been SITS'ed #sitsblogging #BBQ #recipe @fillpraycloset

Salt and pepper your steaks (they don’t flavor themselves, ya know) then place them in a casserole dish.

I've been SITS'ed #sitsblogging #BBQ #recipe @fillpraycloset

Pour the marinade mixture over the steaks.

I've been SITS'ed #sitsblogging #BBQ #recipe @fillpraycloset

Flip each steak over to coat the other side with the marinade mixture. Cover with plastic wrap and put in the refrigerator for an hour at least (you can marinate them overnight too!)

Get your grill ready, or in our case, the George Foreman Grill (we just got back from vacation and were too lazy to use the outdoor grill. Who would clean that after a full stomach?! Not I!)

I've been SITS'ed #sitsblogging #BBQ #recipe @fillpraycloset

For the George Foreman Grill, we only need to keep the steaks on for 7 minutes, but please check the internal temperature to be sure the steaks are cooked thoroughly (or medium-rare like I prefer them).

I've been SITS'ed #sitsblogging #BBQ #recipe @fillpraycloset

And because no grill is complete without it’s Grill Master, here he is grilling his glasses off. Thanks honey, I’m on clean up!

I've been SITS'ed #sitsblogging #BBQ #recipe @fillpraycloset

I like to have it with a huge salad and a baked potato. Don’t be afraid of the garlic, the marinade isn’t as strong as it looks, it keeps the meat tender and gives great depth of flavor. I guess you could say that the secret to this recipe is the sauce (or marinade)!

If you try this marinade, tell me what you think of it and thanks for stopping by on my SITS day. I know you’ve been given some links to read, but I encourage you to look around, stay a while and follow me via email up top, or on Bloglovin‘, Instagram, Google+Twitter and Pinterest because you never know what I’m going to post, where!

Thanks for the feature Tiffany and Francesca!

36 thoughts on “I’ve just been SITS’ed

  1. Congratulations, Cristina! Being part of SITSGirls has been terrific for me AND my blog. It is truly unique, and I’m honored to be a member of our fabulous tribe.

    Like

  2. I thought those steaks looked fantastic!! Why have I never thought of using A-1 as a marinade?? I love it so much!Can’t wait to try. Happy SITS!!

    Like

  3. If I wasn’t hungry already …I am now!!! I am going to have to try this marinade next time I make steaks.

    Thank you for sharing!
    Happy SITS Day

    Like

  4. Congratulations! I’m learning so much from SITS and constantly amazed by the women who make up the group. This recipe is definitely going in my files for the summer! Thank you! I look forward to reading more. – Heather, Life of a Traveling Navy Wife

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing your story! I’m happy you decided to expand your audience, because it meant that I was able to find your wonderful site! I just found SITS last week, and your story describes everything I am hoping to learn and gain from getting involved, especially finding and connecting with other bloggers in the same boat. Looking back, do you have any advice for someone new to blogging and/or SITS?

    Like

    1. Yes! I do! Quality over quantity. So many times I read “Stopping in from SITS and I follow back”. That to me doesn’t speak genuine, that speaks number fluffing <— just made that up. Set a goal, even if it's visiting one different blog a day, and take more than just a "copy paste" to comment on something relevant. Bloggers will remember that, and you will stand out. Just like you did here. Then let the connections begin! Best of luck!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I started blogging after feeling like I really connected with the writers of my favorite blogs. I wanted to join the community online and pay it forward by sharing my experiences as a new mom. I hope to be successful genuinely through finding readers that really relate to me and vice versa. Thank you for your advice and words of encouragement. I appreciate it so much.

        Like

  6. HI Cristina I love your story, you are inspiration. I am a convert too, although I married into a Catholic family so my journey is a little different. I’ll be sure to keep your blog in mind though for those in the future that may need a little inspiration for a “mixed” relationship. I also look forward to following you!

    Like

    1. Aw thanks for stopping in! I think if you are genuine in your intention of creating relationships, it makes for a great resource! It works for me!

      Like

  7. Yum, this sounds dee-lic…steak is one thing we haven’t tried in our apartment since getting married. I always thought making a homemade marinade seemed tricky, but the way you talk it seems easier than I thought. Congrats on getting shared on SITS!! 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

