Ciao! Italy Day 2

What a day! We started at 6:30AM for breakfast. I grabbed everything I saw. I even think there’s still Nutella in my travel bag. I will NOT be without sustenance. We walk everywhere so food and water are very important.

IMG_6336

The view at breakfast!
The view at breakfast!

The early start meant that we were able to bypass the soon to fill long line of people waiting to enter St. Peter’s Basilica! While I do have a lot of pictures, I won’t post them all – the wi-fi, while free is super slow! So, highlights!

ME! Tomorrow I'll be down by the seats for the General Papal Audience!
ME! Tomorrow I’ll be down by the seats for the General Papal Audience!

Mass was celebrated in below the Basilica in a crypt for Lithuanian Popes.

Isn't that altar beautiful?!
Isn’t that altar beautiful?!

During the tour, we stopped very quickly at this spot, where I prayed so hard I thought my eyelids would pop from how tightly my eyes were closed.

Tiffany, S! Look! It's where St. JPII is buried! xo
Tiffany, S! Look! It’s where St. JPII is buried! xo

IMG_6383

Then shopping, lunch! I may have found the PERFECT PINK ST. JPII ROSARY (for someone).

And the Coliseum! This was awesome. Truly. My husband loves the Gladiator movie and so I had to take pictures of all of it. I miss him!

In front of where the Stations of the Cross is prayed every Lent by the Pope(s) St. JPII installed it when he was Pope.
In front of where the Stations of the Cross is prayed every Lent by the Pope(s) St. JPII installed it when he was Pope.
Top floor! :) Only 30% of the Coliseum is left (destroyed due to earthquakes, etc.)
Top floor! 🙂 Only 30% of the Coliseum is left (destroyed due to earthquakes, etc.)
Kiss this cross and receive an indulgence of a year and 11 days
Kiss this cross and receive an indulgence of a year and 11 days
You know I kissed it. Indulgence dust! I'll take all I can get. I also have to make communion, attend mass and make confession during the pilgrimage. Done and done!
You know I kissed it. Indulgence dust! I’ll take all I can get. I also have to make communion, attend mass and make confession during the pilgrimage. Done and done!

And now, I am back in my hotel, writing to you as I await our dinner time at 7:15PM on the rooftop of our hotel.

You can reflect on anything here for so long. I wish I had more time here. I will say this, the most spiritually moving time was at mass this morning. There were many mini-chapels below St. Peters and there were priests from all over the world celebrating mass. When we were saying the Our Father, we overheard the Lamb of God in Latin, the hymn “They will know we are Christians” and the closing “Go in peace” all one over another. A truly one, holy Catholic and apostolic church.

A domani! Ciao!

10 thoughts on “Ciao! Italy Day 2

  1. ahhhh, one, holy, Catholic, and apostolic Church indeed……….a characteristic that moves me anyway, but I can only imagine your scenario! Glad you’re having a great time 🙂 Someday I’ll get there (maybe you can come with me and we can take all the time we want 😉 ). xoxo ❤

    Like

  2. I love seeing other folks visit the same places I have been too…The Colosseum was one of my favorite things to see, it really makes you stop and think that where I’m standing is holy ground. Keep taking pictures of the food, that was my second favorite part too! 😉

    Like

  3. Your photos are gorgeous!
    We had Mass in the chapel of St. Columban of Ireland when I was there. Now I can say that I was a lector at Mass in St. Peter’s Basilica!
    I saw Saint Pope John Paul II’s crypt before he was canonized. It looks like his remains have been transferred to a different location.

    Like

  4. I love “They will know we are Christians!” It was my fave before I converted but don’t hear it much now.

    Like

  5. Gorgeous pics, Cristina and you’ve captured it all so succinctly. We heard mass in the St. Peter’s basilica on our anniversary many years ago. 🙂 I am enjoying reliving it with you and so so glad you’re having such a good time.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

