God’s Rx: Are you taking it as prescribed?

As a wife and mother of two children working outside of the home, I am always asked how I manage to find time to pray. Add flu season, quick jaunts to the doctor and pharmacist a couple of times a week, and it’s daunting.

Recently, my youngest, Gabriel, was sick with an ear infection. He gets these often enough to know the routine of the in-and-out visit and his favorite “bubble gum medicine” being magically sent to the pharmacist for pick up.

After a few days, Gabriel always ends up feeling better and our world goes back to the break-neck speed I can handle. This last time, I forgot a dose and mentioned it to him.

@fillpraycloset #prayer #ignatian #crisis
Gabriel assured me it was ok because he was feeling better and probably didn’t need it. I quickly explained the need to take medicine exactly as it’s prescribed by the doctor. “Just because we feel better, doesn’t mean we stop taking medicine, Gabriel”.  Can you see my finger wagging? He nodded like the little man he is (did I mention, he’s 6 years old?).

I realized in that moment, how what I said applies to prayer life. How easy is it to pray to God in supplication, with requests and intentions for you or your family? When the kids are bouncing off the walls and you want to scream, but instead all you can manage is “God, please, please help me!” I do it, certainly. I always turn to Him when my life or circumstance isn’t what I want or think I need. What about when my marriage and relationships with others are in a good place? Do I pray then, or do I forget, because I have nothing to ask for? Admittedly, yes. I do that. I shouldn’t. I should pray regardless, even if it’s just to offer up my day “Lord open my lips, and my mouth shall proclaim your praise”.

Prayer helps to bolster us when those valleys in our lives come.  It’s in those moments where we’re stretched thin and surrounded by piles of laundry, or another late night at the office missing out on dinner and family time, that we need to draw upon the strength of prayer in all the seasons of our life.

We shouldn’t wait for a crisis to turn to God and beg for help because we’ll be empty, the well will be dry, so to speak. At that point, we’re at our weakest and if we don’t get what we’re asking, it would be easy to say that God isn’t listening. Wouldn’t it? I assure you that’s not the case. If all we do is pray when things go wrong, we’re not spending any time listening. How can we recognize His voice if all we do is talk at Him in times of stress? We never listen to the prescription, let alone take it!

Praying through the good times is called spiritual consolation. In St. Ignatius’ Rules for Discernment, he writes “Let the one who is in consolation think how he will conduct himself in the desolation which will come after, taking new strength for that time” (Tenth Rule).

In plain English, when things are good, pray, because when they’re bad, you’ll have filled your coffers and can draw from that.

Put still another way, Sun Tzu said “In peace prepare for war, in war prepare for peace.”

Let’s go back to that example of the kids screaming. Putting myself back there, with a more consistent prayer life, maybe I won’t be so quick to frantically spurt “God, please help me!” in a frustrating tone (and really, I’m saying that in place of some other four letter words as I roll my eyes). I will have strength to draw upon. The shift to “God, please give me the grace to respond lovingly toward my children and myself” is a win-win, and we always want that.

So, “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

16 thoughts on “God’s Rx: Are you taking it as prescribed?

  1. Hahaha, I always think to myself (or say out loud really loudly) For The Love Of God, why can’t ___ stop ___ing! Fill in the blanks. 😉 I think “for the love of God” is really in place of cursing and possibly is using the Lord’s name in vain. I have been working on NOT saying/thinking that phrase. Maybe I will replace it with “pray without ceasing, pray without ceasing, pray without ceasing….” So, “For the love of God, stop playing in the toilet” will turn into scripture quoting!

    Like

    1. I’ll take it! I actually saw myself in front of the kitchen sink, water running (why do I always lose it there?). Saying some variation on the theme, but usually “Son of a Brooklyn Bridge, God come on, HELP ME!”

      Bad, bad Cristina.

      Like

  2. Guilty here! I heard a talk at a Parish Mission once about how so many people pray for cures for different ailments, but we rarely pray asking God to protect us from ever getting these ailments in the first page – sort of a spiritual version of “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure”. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  3. SO needed this reminder! I don’t pray nearly enough. Really, it’s embarrassingly shameful. Going to really try to go to Him first–good times, bad times, mundane times. Thanks for the great post. XOXO

    Like

  4. I love the tenth rule of St. Ignatius’ Rules for Discernment, “Let the one who is in consolation think how he will conduct himself in the desolation which will come after, taking new strength for that time”
    Night before last I was tossing and turning for almost 2 hours, then finally fell asleep and had this comforting dream that I claim is real. The Lord was holding me in his arms, and taking each item on my worry list and checking them off with consoling comments like, “This will turn out okay.” “This won’t matter tomorrow.” “I’m taking care of this one.” I woke up so peaceful and secure in his love. I guess asking for his help instead of worrying would be a good idea. I’ll try to take my list to him instead of to my worrying self.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

