Book Review: The Church of Mercy by Pope Francis

unnamed (1)

Is it fair to say that Pope Francis is one of the heavy hitters in news media outlets the world over? I can’t count how many times I’ve read on this very blog where people who do not like or associate themselves with Christianity, Catholicism or organized religion, but have an affinity for this Pope. Why?

It’s Pope Francis’ unique and extraordinary way of bringing the Catholic faith to the masses. In his (General Audience, 27 March 2013) he says “Jesus has no house, because his house is the people; it is we who are his dwelling place ; his mission is to open God’s doors to all, to be the presence of God’s love.” (p.71-2) It’s moments like these that are captured in this book. Moments that are so hard for me to read in such print because they are so alive with feeling and truth.

The end of this book includes an Essential Chronology of the man, Jorge Bergolio, that would become Pope Francis. Also included is a list of resources where all of the references he’s made over his first year can be found.

The book itself is so unassuming, and yet, upon a quick flip through, you know that it’s something you will refer to again and again and quote in conversation; much like the Pope himself. Bringing together Pope Francis’ homilies, audiences, letters, addresses to clergy and laity, speeches and his Apostolic Exhortation: Evangelii Gaudium or The Light of Faith, this book would be a wonderful resource for priests and deacons to bring the Pope and his unique flavor to churches on Sunday. I also think this book would make a great gift for our new Catholic members to the faith indoctrinating them on the love of one’s neighbor that has always been taught by the Catholic church, bur further emphasized and made applicable to today’s society by Pope Francis.

And what are these sentiments of Jesus? Humility, mercy, closeness to others, but also a firm rejection of hypocrisy, duplicity, and idolatry. (Prayer for the Marian Day, 12 October 2013, pg. 138)

For me, The Church of Mercy by Pope Francis is the Rolling Stone cover of my spiritual book collection and I strongly advise it become yours. It’s not just for Catholics anymore, but I don’t really think our faith, and this Pope, ever was.

This book was given to me to review by Loyola Press to give an honest and unbiased review. I am sorry I failed in that regard, I already loved Our Pope before I even cracked the spine!

The Church of Mercy Book Review @loyolapress Pope Francis Quote fillingmyprayercloset.com

 

21 thoughts on “Book Review: The Church of Mercy by Pope Francis

  1. I can hardly wait for my copy to arrive. Pope Francis inspires me, and I’m sure it’s because he is inspired by the Holy Spirit!

    Like

  2. “Jesus has no house, because his house is the people; it is we who are his dwelling place; his mission is to open God’s doors to all, to be the presence of God’s love.”

    *LOVE*

    Sounds like an amazing book and resource, Cristina!

    Like

      1. I think it’s mostly his humility. It seems strange to say or even think, but I never got the impression a lot of priests were actually all that much humble.

        Like

      2. His humility is worn on his sleeve (like his heart). I think there are times we can all be guilty of this. The takeaway for me is that priests, popes, clergy etc. are human and humans ain’t perfect. We tend to put religious figures in the church in this “no failure” category. Granted they have accountability, that’s true. But a reminder of the human and his/her failings beneath the collar or habit can be helpful. I’ve certainly needed reminders.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I mean, he doesn’t come off like that priest that’s renovating a mansion-like home to retire in using church funds or the kind of priest with expensive cars.

        Like

      4. Right, the same way every teacher isn’t abusive or every executive isn’t out for the kill. All people, all human, all different.

        Like

      5. They ought to be. I just think priests should be held to a higher standard. Well, I suppose I do hold them to a higher standard. I mean, one of the things they do is teach morals, and they ought to have a far better understanding of it than anyone else.

        I suppose I am disappointed when that’s not the case, and really, makes me wonder about the priest.

        Like

      6. Also, to clarify, any abusive teacher ought to be fired. If I had a kid, I wouldn’t trust my kid to such a teacher.

        And the executive who isn’t out for the kill, they might or might not get the next promotion, but they wouldn’t be fired, either.

        And I am very, very sorry if I said anything insulting. I didn’t mean to insult anyone!!!!

        Like

      7. Isn’t it funny how we tend to judge at least the Popes on their outward appearance? Papa Francis is simply making his humility more visible. Certainly doesn’t mean Benedict or JP2 wasn’t just as humble, they just didn’t share it the same way.

        Like

      8. I know!! This is why I say comes off as.

        It could be marketing and the other popes just didn’t market themselves like that.

        I don’t know and it’s so hard to say. And that’s such a cynical thing to say, I think. I am having a especially cynical day.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

