Z is for Zeal

Z is for Zeal #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset on TwitterI could have chosen Zechariah, Zachariah, Zealot or Zion. Why not Zipadeedodah?! I’m punchy. We’re talking Zeal today, and I hope by the end of it, you’ll get why.

Yesterday I shared a little about the yoke of my marriage and it’s unequal nature. Wanna relive the past? Of course you do!

What is it?

Zeal is love in action. From Reginald Garrigou-Lagrange, O.P. (oh yeah, I’m getting Dominican Order on ya!)

We have seen that love of neighbor is the extension or the radiation of the love we should have for God: this love should extend to the children of God. It is one and the same supernatural theological love; it is essentially divine, like grace, a participation in the inner life of God.

And if you get a chance or the inclination, read that link about Zeal. It’s really quite wonderful and insightful. There are 3 motives of zeal apparently, I didn’t even know that!

#zeal #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset

Why did I choose to share this particular “Z” with you?

As you can see, I take my faith pretty seriously. I take it so seriously, that I preach it and I try to do it in a way that’s sensible and applicable. I’ve loved things before, sure. I’ve had hobbies, and even mini obsessions over trinkets. This faith of mine, the Church, it’s history, teachings, meditations, contemplations, Saints, Third Orders; the more I Iearn, the more I want to know. The more I know, the more I want others to know. It’s a gnawing need that I think about, and almost can’t control. Granted, I can contain myself, I’m not spilling my Holy Spirit at the table over pasta! My soul is animated from a long sleep. I don’t want to sleep anymore. So, I write. And that’s Zeal, baby!

Catholic talk. The end of our journey together as we shared all our stuffs. We dumped the dirty t-shirts and rumpled pants of our lives, sorted through them and hopefully, have made some sense of it. This series, is by far, not all there is to the Catholic Church. I could write on this theme for years and never quite get everything, and that’s pretty remarkable.

Thank you for reading, thank you for commenting and thank you for sharing. Most importantly, thank you for being you and reading a bit about me. This has been a truly humbling experience. It’s been Catholitastic!

Please come back tomorrow and see if my fingers are still typing. I bet you they will be.

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

 

25 thoughts on “Z is for Zeal

  1. That is a lovely post on zeal. Being spiritual myself I can sense your enthusiasm! Loved the way you have expressed yourself! Congratulations for completing the challenge! 🙂

    Like

  2. Cristina, you’ve done a brilliant job of the A-Z. I’ve really looked forward to your posts as well as our little conversations via the comments. I’m so glad we met, albeit virtually.
    You have tons of zeal, lady and you put it to good use. 🙂 High five on that!

    Like

    1. Thank you, thank you Monica. You’ve helped me to gain 5 pounds. 🙂 Kidding. I look forward to many recipes of yours to claim to my guests that I whipped up by myself! I’m not kidding about that. I got a reputation to uphold!

      xoxo

      Like

  3. I am not a religious person, spiritual yes, but not religious. I have a great admiration for the faith you display, it’s strong and caring and accepting. You are quite the unique individual and I’m so glad you’re in my life supporting me and letting me support you. Speaking of zeal, I love that word. We’ve talked about my love of philosophy before, including the book the Four Loves by CS Lewis. So I must say I’m a bit biased on this post this time around, lol. Can’t wait to see what else you have to offer!

    Like

    1. I appreciate your support, truly. I am excited to get to writing more about, well, everything.

      That’s it though! That’s the alphabet, Mary. I mean, we could add some of the Spanish letters like the N with the tilde on it? 🙂

      Like

    1. Aww thanks S(t)ri. I was a little overwhelmed at the end, I hope it didn’t show too much! I will stay in touch – you’ve got some great writing happening over in your neck of the woods!

      Like

  4. Brilliant as always! I have written on zeal too coincidentally! COngrats on the finish! Been great to have met you through this challenge! Fellow Survivor!

    Like

    1. Anything can be twisted towards the negative. Look at Spider-Man? Did you see the mean one?! I know – a little odd in the comparison. My brain is fried! All this zeal, ya know!

      Like

  5. You are definitely zeal, baby!!!! (excessive use of ! needed)

    I have loved reading your posts through April, and I am not even religious! You have a knack for teaching. You make it fun and interesting.

    I am going to miss your daily teachings. Truly. Might I convince you to do a bi-monthly post similar to what you did in the Challenge? 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

