V is for Virtues of the Blessed Virgin Mary

V is for Virtues of the Blessed Virgin Mary #AtoZchallenge @fillpraycloset on TwitterToday we’re going to talk again about Mama Mary, well, not about her exactly, but we’ll chat about why she’s just the perfect model and highest saint in the Catholic church.

“Put your hands in the air if you hear me out there. I’ve been looking for you day and night, shine a light in the dark. Let me see where you are ‘cause I’m not gonna leave you behind”

U.N.I.T.Y. was what we rapped about yesterday. So don’t get left behind and catch up! That was a Queen Latifah song? Forget it 🙂

What is it?

In picture form! Because, sometimes, it speaks a thousand words!

#atozchallenge #virtue @fillpraycloset

Why did I choose to share this particular “V” with you?

These ten virtues of the Blessed Virgin Mary are all found in scripture.

  1. Profound Humility: Knowing who she is before God, nothing more and nothing less
  2. Lively Faith: Constantly seeking God’s will and never settling for complacency
  3. Blind Obedience: Following God’s call without counting the cost
  4. Continual Prayer: Always being aware of God’s presence
  5. Universal Mortification: Seeking to lay down her life and her will at every moment
  6. Divine Purity: Having a heart immaculately clean and unstained by sin
  7. Ardent Charity: Letting her love for God be the driving force behind every decision
  8. Heroic Patience: Always trusting that God was on the move; having more faith in His plans than her own
  9. Angelic Sweetness: Radiating joy and peace to everyone she encountered
  10. Divine Wisdom: Always begging for God’s Spirit to guide her

Source : http://lifeteen.com/marys-list-the-10-virtues-of-mary/

See why she’s called the highest saint, Queen of Heaven, Our Lady, and truly Blessed?! Can you imagine encompassing all of that, all the time? Can you imagine what strength that took? Let’s try something, think of your kids or your neighbors’ kids that always want to know what you’re up to in the garage. Or maybe you don’t have neighbors, what about your brother’s kids, you love them, right? Children are a good in this world. It’s their innocence we’re drawn to. Such innocence. So imagine then, Mary, as a Mother, knowing full well that she just had to bear whatever came, always having to trust that she had no control, but was entrusted to help and guide her son, no matter what came – and man did it come!

Can you imagine knowing that a child you know, and see grow up, had to die? What would that feel like for you? Pretty rough. Anyone who could go through that, and still manage to trust and be a spiritual mother to others alive, and assumed into heaven? Where do I learn that peace? I wrote about these virtues a few months ago and what I said then hasn’t changed. I will always, always try to respond when things get rough through these virtues. I always find a peace that way, you know? I fall short sometimes in some of the virtues, while I’m strong in others. But I try, you know? I always try?

By all means, print this puppy out and keep it in your purse, or fanny pack, frame it, laminate it or give it to someone. If nothing else the image is soothing. Hail Mary, Blessed art thou among women, indeed.

Come back tomorrow to read all about my Catholic take on the letter W. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

24 thoughts on “V is for Virtues of the Blessed Virgin Mary

  1. I strongly suspect that in the not-so-distant-future it’s going to be laid upon me to grow in devotion to Mamma Mary. As of yet I do feel her protection, say a Hail Mary when things get funky feeling, and grasp the rosary in my pocket if I sense that I need some protection, however, my personal devotion lacks (I’m sure it’s just about where I am in the journey – I mean seriously, it’s not even been a week officially).

    Like

  2. Yessss! I guessed right. 🙂
    More than the list of virtues, I feel the strongest about her having to witness the death of her own son. Words fail me…how do you begin to put that into writing…

    Like

    1. I’m sorry! Next year?! What am I thinking! Let me get through this month! Maybe you can write about St. Vincent and let me take a break. 🙂

      Like

  3. Perhaps I might agree on some of those things as good things to strive for, in any case. But I think I see the holy water in the corner, bubbling and starting to hiss…

    Like

  4. I am always amazed she managed to take it all in from the very beginning. She was so young – younger than all my daughters now – and just agreed to take it all on… such faith! I am also a big fan of her cousin, Elizabeth, and ofcourse John the Baptist. I love that he leapt in his Mama’s womb when young Mary arrived for her visit. Thank you for this series, Cristina. Intriguing information, well presented.

    Like

  5. Mary was such a strong person and good role model for other women, in spite of how I’ve heard some people claiming she was “just” a passive woman who mutely accepted what was asked of her and never questioned anything. I also love how she’s a motherly figure for people to pray to and confide in. My father’s side of the family is Roman Catholic and Eastern Catholic, and my paternal grandma, who just passed away, had a lovely little grotto of Mary on top of the bureau in the room I always slept in when I stayed over. My grandparents also had at least one statue of Mary in their large garden.

    Like

  6. I was just thinking what it would be like to possess all of those virtues, I mean, I am Mary and all 😉 One of the first thoughts in my mind is that I would be exceptionally OVERWHELMED, especially in this day and age. Through media we are more aware of the hardships everywhere in this world and I would want to help EVERYONE! Ok, I do want to help everyone, and my husband often has to tell me to stop being the creepy stranger who wants to offer assistance to everyone…yeah, I do that. Welcome to Nebraska! Anyway, these are the times I truly admire those who can live in the moment. They can block out the what if’s and what could have been’s of the past, and they can set aside the worry of what will become of and I need to get to this person and this person and this person…instead, they focus on the person with them at that moment and help them. Yeah, I’m not quite to that place yet because I’m a worrier. But I’ll get there! I know I will!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Happy May
  8. Pingback: Sexy Moxie Mama

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

