S is for Sirach

S is for Sirach #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset on TwitterToday, I may have surprised you. You would think that after mentioning the Sacraments, I’d write about that today! I can’t let you rest, dear reader. You never know with me, and I hope you’ve figured that out by now. We’re talking Sirach.

Yesterday we touched on a HUGE Catholicky <— (is that a word? It is now!) love. The Rosary. Suffering from the blues, on occasion, or worse, depression? Read it. Depression waits for no man, or woman!

What is it?

Sirach is a book of the bible not recognized by the Reformation. Remember Bibles? This book is in the Catholic Bible. It is written in the style of Proverbs and therefore, wisdom, in short sentences abound. This particular book was written by a Jewish man named Jesus, son of Eleazar, son of Sirach; hence the self named book title. This book helps us live a faithful life to God, even with the small things in life.

#atozchallenge Sirach #catholic @fillpraycloset

Why did I choose to share this particular “S” with you?

The Book of Sirach is my favorite book of the bible. I even have a free printable page of verses made by Jenny from The Littlest Way at my desk in the office. The scripture gleaned from this book has inspired many a post round these parts. I am sure that there is a verse anyone and everyone can relate to.

For now, let’s just end with this:

Before you speak, learn (Sirach 18:19)

And isn’t that what we’re doing in this series?

Yep.

I challenge you to read the printable, and share a verse that you found applicable or intriguing. As you can see, they are helpful to anyone, at any time. For extra credit, head over to the entire book of Sirach and pick one of your own to share in the comments. Go on, the water is fine! Just come back and tell us which jumped up and slapped you in the head. Does that to me!

Come back tomorrow to read all about my Catholic take on the letter T. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

17 thoughts on “S is for Sirach

  1. Is it just me or the does the blog look different? A little cleaner, maybe?
    Also, I had heard this word before but hadn’t connected to the book. Sweet of him to name for it his grandfather.

    Like

  2. Do not argue about a matter of which does not concern you. That one stuck out to me. I think everyone could live by this. Mind your own biz!

    Like

  3. Love Sirach! Actually the title of my blog is based on one of my favorite passages! “Listen, my faithful children: open up your petals, like roses planted near running waters, send up the sweet odor of incense, break forth in blossoms like the lily. Send up the sweet odor of your hymn of praise; bless the LORD for all He has done!” (Sirach 39:13-14)

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

