R is for Rosary

 

R is for Rosary #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset on TwitterAhhh, this is my kinda tawk. I love praying the rosary. And I hope, you’ll at least try, try a decade. But I will be just as happy if you said a Hail Mary, or a Glory Be, or an Our Father. It may be a little intimidating at first, it was for me, which is why I app’ed that baby.

I dropped mad Quadragesima knowledge on you yesterday. No, it doesn’t mean you should visit the doctor.

 

What is it?

The rosary is many things to many people. It is a meditative prayer, loved by popes and prayed by saints. The rosary is also something Catholics do when they want to “talk to Mom”. This is Mary’s prayer. Mary Mother of God that is. In this meditative prayer we reflect on 20 mysteries of the bible over the passing of 50 beads on a chain. It is said that the rosary was given to St. Dominic by Our Lady (another way we refer to Mary Mother of God – there’s also the Blessed Virgin Mary, Queen of Heaven, Queen of Peace and Theotokos, to name but a few). Getting on with it, because we’re pressed, the mysteries we meditate on are listed below according to the days on which they are prayed:

Joyful Mysteries: Annunciation, Visitation, Nativity, Presentation and the Finding in the Temple on Mondays, Saturdays, Sundays of Advent, and Sundays from Epiphany until Lent.

Luminous Mysteries: Baptism of our Lord, Wedding at Cana, Proclamation of the Kingdom, Transfiguration and the Eucharist (or Last Supper) on Thursday’s

Sorrowful Mysteries (my favorite): Agony in the Garden, Scourging at the Pillar, Crowning with Thorns, Carrying of the Cross and the Crucifixion on Tuesdays, Fridays, and daily from Ash Wednesday until Easter Sunday

Glorious Mysteries: the Resurrection, the Ascension, Pentecost, Assumption and the Crowning of our Blessed Lady <— there’s another name for Mama Mary on Wednesday’s and Sundays.

R is for Rosary @fillpraycloset #atozchallenge
One of my favorite rosaries

Why did I choose to share this particular “R” with you?

I’ve written about the rosary here, a lot. Crankin’ out the Rosary and My Dear Rosary are good places to start. They’re not what you think one would write of regarding a centuries old prayer. But here’s what I haven’t said. I have issues with depression. I always have, I think (like my grandmother who hid it to her death) and didn’t really label it as such until after Alex was born. That was nine years ago. Granted, I won’t say that the rosary replaces Zoloft or Cymbalta (both of which I have had the pleasure of withdrawing from). I will say, that there is something about passing the beads through your fingers, or rolling and pressing the beads between your thumb and pointer finger when you’re “having an episode”, it’s soothing. The more I press into the bead, the more I feel as if I am pressing that depression into the bead. I think it’s that powerful because of the all encompassing nature of the prayer: you hold the beads, you speak the prayer and you meditate on the mysteries. You can’t think of anything else, and in that, you lose the mundane, the sad and the painful. I pray it in my car known as “the church-mobile”. I taught it to myself with the help of mp3s on my iPhone. Sometimes, I still use it because I love the lilt and timbre of the voices or when my brain is being especially drunk-monkey. I also love this prayer because for all intents and purposes, I don’t have a mother. With the rosary, I can talk to Mom every day, and she listens with no judgement, no questions, no backhanded responses that leave me feeling less than. Sign me up!

Did you know that Louis Pasteur, the scientist considered this one of his favorite prayers? Boom.

Resources, as promised:

How to pray the rosary cheat sheet
The mp3s I use in my car (if you use them between the hours of 8-8:30ET, chances are you’re praying with me.)

And here’s a freebie that you may not have expected and I’m really layin’ it on here. If you don’t currently own a rosary and / or can’t afford one, I’ll make you one. Free of charge. Just send me a message. Who loves ya, baby?! (US only – sorry guys! I’ll sing to ya?)

Come back tomorrow to read all about my Catholic take on the letter S. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

47 thoughts on “R is for Rosary

  1. (((Hugs))) pretty sure my heart will never not break for you. But Mamma Mary has got you 🙂 Excited to teach the kids about praying the rosary tomorrow after they get their new rosaries blessed (Easter gifts!). Xoxo!

    Like

      1. Oh my GOSH! I’m so sorry. I know how hard it is. It took me a l-o-n-g while to not feel the aftershocks. 😦 Praying for you!

        Like

    1. It’s SO deceptively easy. You find yourself, thinking, contemplating and stirring up the muck, but in a way that’s not discouraging. If anything, you find yourself wanting to pray it more.

      Like

  2. I think Rosaries are so pretty. I remember the one my mom had while we were growing up. We are not Catholic but I think it was a family heirloom. Thanks for sharing your story. I think it’s great that you have found something to help you when you need it. Everyone needs something!

    Like

  3. This one is something I know and have. I have this neon colored beads rosary that I keep with me. It was gifted by a friend!

    ~S(t)ri
    Participant|AtoZ Challenge 2014
    Smile, it makes (y)our day!

    Like

  4. I was hoping you would do rosary for R. I loved reading your post, Cristina. As always, full of great information.

    I don’t mean to be flippant by saying this, but if something would ever convince me to convert, it would be the rosary and the beauty and power behind it.

    Like

  5. I have never prayed the rosary but I did buy some buddhist prayer beads (can’t remember the real name) when I was dating a buddhist computer tech, (Mala beads?) Any prayer with intention is a grand thing, an important method of spiritual practice. Thanks for another great post.

    And yes, I’ve withdrawn from Zoloft once, Prozac twice, Wellbutrin twice. I’m something of an expert. 🙂

    Julie Jordan Scott
    The Bold Writer from A to Z

    Like

  6. You just changed your theme!

    Not being Catholic, I don’t have a rosary. But it is interesting to learn about it.

    Like

    1. Yes! You must be the first one to see it! I wanted something cleaner? I hope it’s that!

      Thanks for noticing my “new haircut”! Glad you stopped by as always!

      Like

  7. I’ve always wondered what the Rosary beads were all about. Thanks for enlightening me once again. Fascinating learning about the Catholic religion.
    Hope this posts. It keeps rejecting it. Your blog doesn’t like me. I’ll try logging into my FB account and see if that helps.

    Like

  8. I love the new look of the blog! Easter gift?

    Also the rosary is my favorite thing to pray before bed, I like ending the night talking to Mom and it just leaves me feeling so peaceful and comforted… I never make it past a decade or two

    Like

  9. I’m a cradle Catholic born before Vatican II, and I’ve never heard of the Luminous mysteries. Hm. We’ve kind of gotten out of the habit of praying the Rosary; perhaps we should start again.

    Stopping by from the A to Z Challenge.

    Like

    1. The Luminous mysteries are beautiful, but the Sorrowful are my favorite! Let me know how your praying goes and what you think of the Luminous addition (thank you JPII!)

      Like

  10. I’m not Catholic, so it was interesting to learn about the Rosary.

    I love the name of your blog! Writing about prayer is a fine endeavor. May you be blessed!

    Like

  11. Oh My Goodness! That Rosary is just divine! I love the roses. And the silver. And the contrast of it all! It is truly the most beautiful rosary I’ve ever seen.

    When I was growing up, going through Communion, they gave us a rosary. It was plastic. But it served its purpose. And then it broke. And then, in one of my moves, I lost it.

    I believe that this is the best instruction of the use of the rosary. I was just told to say the Our Father at the big ones and Hail Mary at the little ones. I never understood why. I guess that’s the difference when you grow up in the military church. I don’t know. But it’s all I knew.

    And the fact that you use it to calm yourself during an episode of depression…that’s amazing how you described it by “talking to Mom” and pressing your depression into the bead. I suffer anxiety attacks along with depression, even on Zoloft. I usually rub my hands together to help calm me, but it hardly ever works. I’ve taken to meditating and controlling my breathing, and praying of course. But, I’ve not been taught properly how to pray, so I just talk. I feel bad, really, because I feel like I’m begging, begging for relief for my husband, begging for a break, begging to give me and my husband strength to get through the days and to keep our hope alive. Is there any way to pray that doesn’t feel like begging?

    Jamie Dement (LadyJai)
    My A to Z
    Caring for My Veteran

    Like

  12. I bought my paternal grandma, who just passed away, a wooden rosary in the Galilee in February 2008. I’m pretty sure it had some Jerusalem earth either behind the medallion of Mary or the Crucifix. I didn’t have the emotional strength to go to the funeral because I just couldn’t handle seeing another grandparent in an open-casket coffin, but I found out she may have been buried with that rosary. I told my parents they could have it if my aunt found it and didn’t want it, but then my aunt told my father that that might’ve been the rosary she was buried with, since it was made of Middle Eastern wood, and apparently her favorite. a rosary she loved praying with. If that rosary were indeed the one I got her, I had no idea she loved it so much in her final six years.

    Like

  13. Cristina, I was doing a Google search on Rosary for a post I’m working on (due today and today ends in…ACKKKK!!! 38 minutes!!!) I was so happy to see your pretty face show up about 1/2 way through the page. Anyway, I’d comment more, but I have to post fast! Love this and am linking to it. Thanks for posting your Rosary how-to links too!

    Like

  14. Success!! Thank you very very much! I read 5 of the prayers, the sign of the cross, the apostles creed (I actually knew that one!), our Father prayer (this one too!), the Hail Mary prayer, and the glory be prayer (I love this one!). God bless you sister and thanks again!

    Like

      1. Yes. 10 beads where the Hail Mary prayer is prayed. Then one for the Our Father or Pater beads (4 there is one that’s a center). Continue this pattern for the 5 mysteries. That makes 54 beads. Then a center. One pater bead, three Hail Mary beads another pater bead and then the crucifix. If you look on this site there are pictures of them to make sense of the words here: http://newevangelizer-6.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/files/2008/01/How-to-Pray-the-Rosary.pdf

        Like

      2. That is so great! Thank you very much!! I read what your day is typically like and I have even less idea how you do it now! I pray God grants me that level of devotion to Him! God bless you sister!

        Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

