Q is for Quadragesima

Q is for Quadragesima #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset on TwitterThis looks difficult, but I promise, Quadragesima, is a super easy concept to master and learn. We’re actually in it, right now.

I shared a bit about Pentecost yesterday. Ok, so it was a lot. I got carried away and wrote double what I’ve usually written, that means it’s important, head over and catch up. I promise, I’ll make that up for my lack of brevity yesterday, in this post.

 

What is it?

Quadragesima (kwodj-ruhjesuh-muh) is a period of 40 days of preparation with prayer, fasting and penance – especially Lent! That’s what we’re in right now. That’s it! See how easy that is?

#lent @atozchallenge @fillingmyprayercloset Quadragesima

Why did I choose to share this particular “Q” with you?

Because Easter is tomorrow! It’s the end of Lent and all of it’s 40 days or Quadragesima. Bring on the celebration and hallelujah chorus. I also completed a Lent series with my very good friend Tiffany, and fellow Catholic (she’s also a Librarian and Belly Dancer – hey, we got flavor). If you’d like to learn about Lent, you are certainly welcome to poke around. In the meantime, I am headed to Easter Vigil* tonight where people who have been studying, praying and discerning for months and maybe even years, are coming into the Catholic Church. It’s a pretty awe-some event.

While you’re poking around, why don’t you read a little on how my husband (the self-proclaimed atheist) ended up with ashes on his forehead one year on Ash Wednesday.

Anything like that ever happen to you?!

Extra Credit: Vigil just means a mass in anticipation of the Sunday mass the following day. No big. It’s my favorite kind of mass to go to. Less people, and if I’m singing (cantoring) I skip a couple of hymns. For a singer, I shouldn’t want to skip anything, but I’m just an odd duck.

Come back Monday to read all about my Catholic take on the letter R. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

27 thoughts on “Q is for Quadragesima

    1. Me too!! Now we enter the Easter and then, the Liturgy of Nice Times (what my husband calls Ordinary Time. He’s so funny). Happy Easter new Catholic and sister in Christ! Yippee!

      Like

  1. I am so very exited for tomorrow! I observed Lent this year and I gave up sugar, my goodness! That was much more of a challenge than I thought! God bless you on this Holy weekend!

    Like

      1. I can see how that would be hard…… Well congrats! We have completed yet another Quadragesima ( I had to copy and paste that word because I can’t pronounce it let alone spell it :-/ lol) I actually didn’t know that word until your post! God bless you sister on the day our Savior has risen from death! Happy Easter to you and all of your family as well!

        Like

  2. I miss the vigil! I did it once when I converted and had a 7mo old. Our schedules were so out of sorts after that, we are the Christmas Day and Easter Sunday kinda family. Oh, I take it back, I have been a sponsor two times as well.

    Like

  3. I was really hoping to go to service at our local Catholic Church tomorrow. Not because I am of faith, but to watch and share in the experience.

    As you know, the Catholic faith is one that really intrigues me.

    Unfortunately, my fiancé has to work tomorrow, and I have no way if getting there.

    One day, I will partake. 🙂

    Like

  4. I love learning new words. My most recent favorite is riparian, but I couldn’t figure out how to put it into my theme, so I just write about it as much as possible, as boldly as possible. i also didn’t understand the Catholic definition of Vigil – that is cool to know as well.

    Have a blessed day tomorrow, dear Cristina, giver of so much love to this world!

    Julie Jordan Scott
    The Bold Writer from A to Z

    Like

  5. Catching up on your posts after a few days away with the family – celebrating Easter. Hope you had a lovely one. 🙂
    Well, quadragesima was not that hard after all. A tongue twister but thankfully doesn’t mess with the mind.
    Hope you’re well and back to buying books by the sackful.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

