I is for St. Ignatius

I is for Ignatius #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset on TwitterToday we’re going to chat about Ignatian Spirituality. We could talk about St. Ignatius of Loyola too, I’m not counting him out. Again, the goal is short, sweet and appetizing. So let’s hope I can do that for ya.

Come Holy Spirit, Come! That’s what we talked about yesterday, inspired by some old school Hip-Hop.

That’s how I roll.

What is it?

Ignatian Spirituality comes from St. Ignatius. But let’s hold on him for a minute. IgnatianSpirituality.com says:

Ignatian spirituality sees God as actively involved in the world and intimately involved with us in every moment and place.

St. Ignatius is a saint, as of March 12, 1622. He is also a Spaniard and was kinda full of himself – quite the peacock in his finery, until he was injured via cannonball to his legs, breaking one and severely injuring another. What then? You’re laid up. Just you and your thoughts – no finery. That’s when his spiritual conversion took place through reading spiritual texts of Jesus and the lives of saints and well…look at him now?! A saint! For a really great book on St. Ignatius, I recommend this one by Margaret Silf titled Just Call Me López: Getting to the Heart of Ignatius Loyola. It’s not your typical book.

“In this unlikely tale of a 16th-century soldier-turned-saint and 21st-century woman, we see what happens when one person opens herself to a real-life, real-time experience of the communion of saints. The two are as different as pen-and-ink and laptops are as writing instruments, but their conversations show us that life’s really important questions don’t change with the times and technology.”

—Steve Givens, Faith, History and the Creative Life

Why did I choose to share this particular “I” with you?

There’s this type of prayer, a reflection really, called the Daily Examen. I have to tell you, it’s almost perfect (why not all the way perfect? Because the Our Father is the perfect one, silly!) Now I’ve written on a special way to do this that I just learned recently which may or may not involved baked goods. But there’s this infographic that’s just sublime. If I laminate it, that’s what brings it to sublime status and I have. Twice.

The Daily Examen by Busted Halo
The Daily Examen by Busted Halo

So are you laminating this? What are your thoughts on incorporating this into your prayer routine? Or maybe you’re looking at this whole prayer thing a little differently? Nothing wrong with reviewing your day and being thankful to God for it, resolving to do better tomorrow? Is there?

Come back tomorrow for to read all about my Catholic take on the letter J. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

44 thoughts on “I is for St. Ignatius

  1. Gives you hope to see that someone who may have been a bit selfish was able to turn around and “see the light.” I know that I need a reminder every now and then 😉

    Like

    1. And this is exactly why we have saints! They show us that even mistakes, sinners, drunkards, proud peacocks, all of it – we can all be saints!

      Like

    1. I have laminated it and gave it to my Goddaughter, and then laminated it for myself (slap some self-stick magnets and on the fridge it goes!).

      Like

  2. St. Ignatius changed my life. Does anyone call him “Iggy”? Seriously – the examen and his connection to Teresa of Avila’s deep mystical spirituality, that alone would be enough. I love what you wrote about him and I love the examen cheat sheet/ It probably doesn’t surprise you I own a laminator.

    I am going to dig out my photos from St Ignatius church in San Francisco. It is one of the most spectacular spaces I have been in. It is part of the University of San Francisco and my oh my… when I first walked through it I was speechless and one of the other parents on the tour teased me and said, “Do you think its time to talk to God again about becoming Catholic?” 🙂

    Anyway – love this, love you love, life love it, most of it… anyway…

    Like

      1. Find you inner Iggy – love it!

        Julie, I want a laminator! Do you drive everyone crazy laminating everything? I know I would! LOL (Mom, really, it’s my monthly school lunch menu)

        Like

    1. Yes! We do call him Iggy quite playfully! I don’t think you have to talk to God about becoming Catholic – seems He’s already talking to you! SNAP!

      Like

  3. I was expecting St. Ignatius Loyola to pop up today so I wasn’t entirely off the mark. I haven’t come across the Examen before this post and I kind of like the Ignatian meditation. 🙂

    Like

    1. DARN! I was hoping to surprise ya. I could have gone with Icons, Idols, Immaculate Conception, Incarnation, Indulgences, Infallability…really, I could have. How did you know, my favorite recipe maker? So glad you like it!

      Like

  4. Cristina, glad to see that Ignatian spirituality made the cut for the letter “I”! Of course, I’m biased in my appreciation for this practical spirituality.

    Like

    1. He and Ignatian Spirituality had to make the cut!! It was my first foray into the faith (when I began to research after deciding Catholicism, for me, is all that and a bag of chips!

      Like

  5. Thanks for the examen. It will be laminated… possibly into a bookmark for the many books you are recommending {which sound like pretty good reads}.

    Like

  6. Only Jesus can turn around a life like that…I know lot of people who are self absorbed… And seen quite a few turn around after an encounter with Jesus…Lovely Post!

    Like

    1. I pray with my children every morning on their way to school. We pray some rote prayers (Our Father, Hail Mary, Memorare, etc) then we pray for our intentions. I always end it by saying that I pray they see Jesus in everyone and that everyone they meet sees Jesus in them. This way – he is always just around the corner, waiting to be encountered. 🙂

      Like

  7. That’s a pretty good infograph. I’m not familiar with many of the Catholic saints. I’m learning a lot through this challenge.

    Like

  8. This graphic is great! As I was reading it I feel I pretty do most of it in my nightly prayers. I learned a few years ago that some people have trouble praying. Like they are scared to talk to God. That surprised me a bit. I talk to Him all day long 🙂

    Like

  9. in my faith we are supposed to do this at the beginning of the day, when you first get up and before you do anything else. but I never manage it. it needs to part of a routine.

    Like

    1. If you can just start in the evening with reviewing your day first, then tack on – that could work better. Slow and steady, manageable bites!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

