H is for Holy Spirit

What’s up Holy Spirit?! H is for the Holy Spirit #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset on TwitterFor me, this is a perfect snack after Grace which we spoke of yesterday.

The Holy Spirit is so dear to me, and you’ll find if you are Catholic, or Christian or coming into the faith or thinking about faith, it will be dear to you as well. As always, this will not be an in depth treatment, because these are supposed to be short quick bites of Catholic love. Here we go!

What is it?

It’s what people call a hunch, a prompting, your sixth sense, but what is it really?

The Holy Spirit is the third PERSON of the Trinity (the others Father and Son). So the Holy Spirit is a person? Yep. Let’s take a quick look at some scripture to help us with this – it is a mystery after all:

John 14:16-17

And I will pray the Father, and he will give you another Counselor, to be with you forever, even the Spirit of truth, who the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him; you know him, for he dwells with you, and will be in you.

So the Holy Spirit as Counselor is sent to us. It is sent to us to keep us steeped in the truth, and far from sin – although, as fallen humans we can muck that up. I do.

There’s also the Coming of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost – one of my favorites, because that’s the meditation of the rosary. See how connected this Catholic thing is?!

Why did I choose to share this particular “H” with you?

Interestingly, we recently discussed the Holy Spirit in the RCIA class that assist with. The Deacon at my parish noted that the Holy Spirit is the least comfortable part of the Trinity for new Catholics (I think all of us, really) to relate to. It’s not easy to pin down, difficult to relate to because we have no real idea what it could look like. Is it a vapor? Does it wear a sheet? What is it? He went on to say that the argument is that this prompting, this push by a spirit is more of a realization that we really aren’t in control. Believe it or not, the Holy Spirit was, and is what I relate to the most. I know that’s how I got to where I am right now; listening to “A Tribe Call Quest“, writing about the Holy Spirit and the Trinity (which as we all know is my last name after all! WHAT?!? OH yeah) That’s another reason why we should get our Holy Spirit on.

I leave you with this… Catholics are imbued and sealed with the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit at Confirmation (another sacrament!) They help us to live a life of virtue and they are

H is for Holy Spirit, the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit

  • Wisdom: Helps us to detach from the world, makes us relish and love only the things of Heaven.
  • Counsel: Enables us to see and choose correctly what is the will of God.
  • Piety: Inspires us with tender and filial love of God.
  • Fear of God: Fills us with love for God, and fear of offending Him.
  • Knowledge: Points us to the path to follow and the dangers to avoid in order to reach Heaven
  • Fortitude: Gives us courage to overcome obstacles and difficulties that arise in fulfilling our religious obligations
  • Understanding: Helps us to grasp the truths of religion, as far as necessary

For more information about the Holy Spirit, check it, and check it.

Do you have any Holy Spirit shares? Or questions? Or are you just a little shocked that I listen to old-school Hip-Hop as I write about Catholic things?

UPDATE: A reader just noted that the Pope spoke on the gifts of the Holy Spirit today too? See how the Holy Spirit works?! Day? MADE!

Come back tomorrow for to read all about my Catholic take on the letter I. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

37 thoughts on “H is for Holy Spirit

  1. Lovely post! Probably the most important lesson I learnt about the Holy Spirit was that He is a person and not an it…
    He is the one who helps us daily in every aspect of our lives!

    Like

  2. It’s funny as I was reading I was feeling the same as you, “Believe it or not, the Holy Spirit was, and is what I relate to the most.” The Holy Spirit rocks and I am super happy to have him to hang out with!

    Like

  3. Yesterday I mentioned the trinity in my comment (I believe I used the term “triune God”) and I remember being moved to tears. Yes, the Holy Spirit… such a gift. Your writing is clear and easy to understand. I love what you’re doing here – –

    So many blessings!

    Like

  4. I have felt the Holy Spirit many times in my life. The time that will forever stick out in my mind was on my wedding day. (I got married in a Catholic Church by the way) I was so nervous all day. The moment it was time to walk down the aisle I thought I’d be sick. When I finally reached the alter and John took my hand a complete calmness came over me. I know it was the Holy Spirit telling me I was right where I was suppose to be. It was awesome!

    Like

    1. Yes – the more you think you understand, the less you do. The more you pull back from it, I think, the more it just makes sense to trust!

      Like

  5. I have always been a very intuitive person, and I believe it is the Holy Spirit. To me, the Holy Spirit is that nagging voice that won’t let me stop thinking about something. I have also felt the Holy Spirit washing over me and giving me this calm, peaceful feeling. I especially notice this during mass. Have a blessed day!

    Like

    1. It is that nagging voice, it’s also a whisper – and taking time for silence (prayer, contemplation) will make it all the clearer to listen to the Holy Spirit!

      Like

    1. I don’t know – I would have to hear the context in which it’s used I think. Say if they’re looking at shoes, and they say “I feel the Spirit” then no. LOL!

      Like

  6. When I was younger I remember being oh so confused about the Holy Spirit because I originally learned it was the Holy Ghost, then I was told that was wrong because Ghosts don’t exist and it was the Spirit, and I had no idea what the difference between the ghost and spirit was. I was easily confused back then…ok, I still am about some things 😉

    Like

  7. I was majorly involved in the Charismatic Renewal in the ’80s, Cristina and grew to understand the Holy Spirit – the gifts and fruits really well. The Holy Spirit is often the forgotten person in the Trinity and I’m glad you did this post. ♥

    Like

  8. The Holy Spirit is the Divine Person of the Holy Trinity whom I most easily “get”. And I guess that is strange, because, like you said, this is the Person who is the hardest to pin down or grasp, not spoken of as often as the Father and the Son, etc. But, the lack of visual or “personality traits” is what is most appealing to me. Coming out of atheism, this is how I understood that which we call God: infinite, intangible, unfathomable, the eternal energy alive in and through Creation – the Holy Spirit! Although I know that the Holy Spirit is a someone not a something, I don’t like to use pronouns that would suggest gender. This is the only Person of the Trinity that, in our language, comes closest to how God should be understood as being beyond gender and beyond human limitations.
    Even more profound to me, then, was that God became one of us… Through the Incarnation the whole Trinity opens us up to wonder…
    Love these posts! Great work!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Christina. This is why I love to say The Creed (at mass and when praying the rosary) and The Sign of the Cross. They both remind me and keep me consciously aware of the Holy Spirit. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

