G is for Grace

#atozchallenge G is for grace @fillpraycloset on TwitterToday we are talking about Grace. I am sure we have all heard for the expression, “There but for the grace of God, go I”. It was originally said by John Bradford with regards to prisoners being led to their execution in the mid-sixteenth century. Some also say that St. Philip Neri said it. Regardless of who said or when, they are both speaking of God’s grace.

St. Faustina and Divine Mercy were the topics we briefly discussed yesterday, just in case you missed it. I will of course, have mercy on those who may have missed it.

What is it?

Grace is a gift. Period. Did you know there were two different kinds? Sanctifying grace and actual grace. Sanctifying grace dwells in your soul and makes your soul holy – or set apart. According to Catholic Culture, “it is called sanctifying grace because it makes holy those who possess the gift by giving them a participation in the divine life”.

Actual grace is granted by God to perform beneficial acts. For example, when you begin to feel guilty about something, and need to “get it off of your chest”. Suddenly you find yourself in the confessional, a therapists chair, or a friendly ear. It was God’s actual grace that got you there. Make sense? The thing about actual grace is that once you are moved to the confessional (in my personal example) that actual grace is gone. It’s done it’s job. For a deeper and more complete treatment on actual grace, head here.

G is for Grace #atozchallenge @fillpraycloset on Twitter

Why did I choose to share this particular “G” with you?

Grace is given you whether you think you have it or not. Grace is a gift and it is important as Catholics to remember that God bestows it on you all the time, just when you need it and even when you think you don’t.

Romans 3:23-24

since all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God;they are now justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus

It was God’s actual grace that got me to race over to a bookstore to buy a bible after never having read one. Ever. It is God’s sanctifying grace that sets me apart for Himself from the very beginning.

Romans 6:4

Therefore we have been buried with him by baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.

Come back tomorrow for to read all about my Catholic take on the letter H. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

32 thoughts on “G is for Grace

  1. You cannot be the receiver of His grace and not tear up (or bawl in my case) at singing Amazing Grace. What an loving and merciful God we serve ❤

    Like

  2. This was a great post. I tend to remember Grace and Mercy hand in hand:

    Grace—When we get what we don’t deserve.
    Mercy—When we don’t get what we deserve.

    Like

  3. I have always been confused by the 2 forms of grace
    I love the way you explained it. It makes so much sense now.

    Like

  4. I always think “undue favor” – there is no way I can work for it, it is so freely given to me… and there are moments when I can literally feel that grace, feel it… in fact some was sprinkled on me just a few minutes ago. I was fresh out of the shower, happy as a lark as my Mom used to say when I was little. I was watering the plants and singing to them as I watered. I picked up my little spider plant baby to see how her roots were sprouting and sure enough, there they were, happily growing and much moreso than just two days ago! I gasped in excitement! Grace! On my hike the other day, when I walked at a faster pace than usual and my heartbeat was literally like a drum – I could hear it outside my head! And there, in the heat… strokes of cool breeze from no place. Grace!

    I have oftentimes felt the triune God as a playmate, most visibly running alongside me as I try valiantly to fly a kite. I’ve never managed to achieve this simple feat. When I do, I’ll know who is there, blowing under the kite so it can float around, gliding, so effortlessly.

    🙂

    Thank you, Cristina!

    Julie Jordan Scott
    The Bold Writer from A to Z

    Like

  5. I went to elementary school with a girl named “Grace Counts.” I remember my dad muttering, “It sure does,” the first time I mentioned her name to him. He wouldn’t elaborate, which was actually helpful, because I mulled that over for years, and it always makes me smile to remember.

    ~Tui Snider~
    @TuiSnider on Twitter
    My blog: Tui Snider’s Offbeat & Overlooked Travel
    I am also part of the #StoryDam team, a friendly writing community!

    Like

  6. I didn’t think of it has a gift before. See, I thought of it as thought god put into your head so you didn’t (or did, as the case may be) do something and saved yourself some trouble. Which you could look at as a gift . . .

    Like

  7. As a convert, I really appreciate the simple explanation of grace. I have heard of actual grace and sanctifying grace, but it still confuses me a little. Thanks for the push to look into it more. Must be the Holy Spirit!

    Like

  8. Now, grace gets me every time. It’s so simple, yet so overwhelming to my mind that thinks it needs to be much more complicated than this. It would make so much more sense if it was complicated, and yet, it’s not. It’s so simple.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

