F is for Faustina (St. Faustina)

#Atozchallenge F is for St. Faustina @fillpraycloset on TwitterWe have another saint lined up for today, because it’s SUPER timely. Just this Saturday, I attended a Divine Mercy Sunday conference in da Bronx. I had a decision to make, either I would use D to discuss my man St. Dominic, or I would do it with the letter F, for St. Faustina. You can’t talk Catholic and make no mention of St. Faustina.

Last time I shared some Easter egg goodies with you – not all the goodies, mind you. We have to keep these short.

Who is it?

@fillpraycloset F is for Faustina #atozchallenge
The message of Divine Mercy is for sinners. If you are a big sinner, this one is for you (and me, mostly me!) From http://www.catholicbible101.com/

Sister Maria Fasutina was canonized (or made a saint) by soon to be saint John Paul II, in 2000. She is the first saint of the millennium. Her message via books of her diary and the life she led, speak of the extraordinary revelations or messages from Jesus. Jesus asked Sister. Faustina to record these experiences, which she compiled in notebooks. St. Faustina was born in 1905, the third of nine children. To say they were poor is an understatement. According to the Divine Mercy Website:

Sister Maria Faustina, consumed by tuberculosis and by innumerable sufferings which she accepted as a voluntary sacrifice for sinners, died in Krakow at the age of just 33 on October 5, 1938, with a reputation for spiritual maturity and a mystical union with God. The reputation of the holiness of her life grew as did the cult to the Divine Mercy and the graces she obtained from God through her intercession.

Why did I choose to share this particular “F” with you?

Divine Mercy Sunday is celebrated on April 26th and 27th – the same day/s that Blessed John Paul II will be canonized a saint!! Considering he canonized her a saint in 2000, this is a perfect, perfect date! I just attended the 9th Annual Divine Mercy Conference in the Bronx Saturday where Timothy Cardinal Dolan ended the day by celebrating mass. Pope Francis was there too, his cardboard representative, anyway. We prayed, listened to talks, had confession and adoration (didn’t teach ya that one), and I got to see and hug nuns!!! Did I tell you, I have a thing for nuns? There’s such a joy in them, I can’t even tell you!

@fillpraycloset F is for St. Faustina

While there we prayed a few devotions to express and expand upon the Divine Mercy message. Three O’clock is known as the Divine Mercy Hour and comes from St. Faustina’s diary where she writes:

At three o’clock, implore My mercy, especially for sinners; and, if only for a brief moment, immerse yourself in My Passion, particularly in My abandonment at the moment of agony. This is the hour of great mercy. In this hour, I will refuse nothing to the soul that makes a request of Me in virtue of My Passion (Diary, 1320).

During this hour, we all prayed the Divine Mercy Chaplet which calls for a repeating of this divinely inspired prayer:

Eternal Father, I offer You the Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity of Your dearly beloved Son, Our Lord Jesus Christ, in atonement for our sins and those of the whole world; for the sake of His sorrowful Passion, have mercy on us. (Diary, 475)

If you ever get the chance to watch it on EWTN, it’s truly beautiful to hear and see people that don’t know you, or you them praying for your salvation and that of the whole world. For more information, please had over to the Divine Mercy Website.

Come back tomorrow for to read all about my Catholic take on the letter G. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

31 thoughts on “F is for Faustina (St. Faustina)

  1. Lovely, Cristina! I have watched this on EWTN and I agree wholeheartedly; it is awesome to pray this with others and I get goosebumps just knowing there are so many praying for others around the world and me too. Cannot wait to see what you have for the rest of the alphabet.

    Like

    1. Well – I didn’t share (because these were pre-scheduled) the video that we prayed the Divine Mercy chaplet to on the way to the conference! I had to look away because it was so beautiful. I was about to cry – then remembered – MASCARA! 🙂 Levity helps me deal with the tough stuff.

      Like

    1. So many people were convinced when I posted it to FB! There was a gentleman there who was manning a book table and he said the trick was to be sure NOT to have the floor in the photo! Guess it worked!

      Like

  2. You know I ❤ Faustina – and I'm glad you posted about her! I struggled to not post about her today (but I'm trying to post about lesser known Saints 😉 ). The Divine Mercy is so wonderful – someday I'll get my hands on her diary! Great post, as always! xoxo

    Like

    1. I got her book this weekend! Well, we all know I can’t buy books during Lent, as I gave it up. So I didn’t buy it, a friend bought it for me! When she heard that I hadn’t read it, she almost jumped the table to get me one. St. Faustina is so rich and layered. The book is bog (some 700 pages), but well worth it, I am sure!

      Like

  3. I love the Divine Mercy chaplet. I have found that if I auto play it on my phone while I drive to pick up my kids from school, I have finished the chaplet just as I pull in the parking lot. My word of the year is “mercy,” so I have really enjoyed learning about God’s mercy and just trusting Jesus like God revealed to St. Maria Faustina. Thanks for the post!

    Like

    1. YES! My car is the church-mobile for me. I pray always on the way to and from (Divine Office and Rosary). I even find myself driving the speed limit so I can make the most of it! God bless you!!

      Like

  4. Oh, lovey! I am so grateful to read about Faustina. I hadn’t heard of her before. What a shame she left us at such a young age. I haven’t studied many modern saints, so I am glad you bring her up in that respect, too. I am a big fan of Teresa of Avila (as I have mentioned) Julian of Norwich, Hildegard de Bingen… I will need to look up Faustina more.

    I don’t know if I’ve spoken much about the Writing Playground programs I facilitate at the Art and Spirituality Center here in Bakersfield, which is where the Art for Healing programs are held. My first Nun-Friend is the big kahuna of the program and yes, she is a Sister of Mercy. I don’t know how many times I have had her back when people who don’t understand the concept of religious women and how extraordinary they are today…. in so many ways.

    Anyway – love this series, as you know, m’love! I look forward to reading and growing every day.

    Just another of your Protestant fans! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hola Julie! You haven’t! Not at all! You MUST leave a link with me, so I can post to my Resources page, should anyone in the area (living there or visiting) like to sign up!). Saints, I think, are our roadmap to humanity. Saints are just sinners who fall down and get back up.

      Just another one of your Catholic fans! 😀

      Like

  5. I’ve never heard of St. Faustina. It’s amazing that she was able to receive such an honor of sainthood with only living 33 years. Hey, I just realized that’s how long Jesus lived! Oh that I may live a life so radical and true.

    Like

  6. I am not Catholic but my husband and I travelled with a Catholic priest for 10 years and ministered with him all around the world in the 1980s to the youth of the Catholic church. At one point, we had an audience with the Pope because we had met him in his home before he was pope. I have a great respect for the Catholic faith.

    Like

  7. Haha! That’s a great shot of you with the cut-out Pope. I love it! I had no idea about Sister Faustina. I’m going to check out the link about her diaries now. Also, looks like I’m the first one to stumble your post today – yee haw! 😀

    ~Tui Snider~
    My blog: Tui Snider’s Offbeat & Overlooked Travel
    I am also part of the #StoryDam team, a friendly writing community!

    Like

  8. I think I’ve stumbled on something big… THAT is the real pope and the one is Rome is the cutout. Because there is no way he’s not real! 😉 Faustastic post too!

    St Faustina, apostle of Divine Mercy, pray for us. She must be praying so hard right now for her boy, JP2!

    Like

  9. There’s that picture of you and the Pope again! You guys are like all buddy buddy now aren’t you. Put a good word in for me! 😉

    Like

  10. Now here’s one lady I didn’t know about. To be honest, I have quite got the Divine Mercy Hour too….But then I tend to be more spontaneous about prayer. I really think everyone is drawn to different saints and spiritualities (okay not a word – but you know what I mean) within the Church – and that’s what makes it beautiful – that we have so much to choose from.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

