E is for Easter

#atozchallenge E is for Easter @fillpraycloset on TwitterWe left off at the letter D, for St. Dominic, where I talked about this Saint, and why he is so very important to me (and this blog!)

Easter means more to me now, than Cadbury egg commercials, Easter egg hunts, chocolate and pretty spring dresses.

Who eats those Cadbury eggs anymore? Once I finally got around to trying one, I was like, meh. On with the show!

What is it?

To Catholics, Easter is the Pashcal Mystery where after 40 days of purification through fasting, prayer, penance and almsgiving, we share in the joy of Christ’s resurrection. The 40 day time frame is called Lent. This symbolizes our attempt to imitate the fasting Jesus underwent in the desert prior to his crucifixion and resurrection. We hold a special mass, especially at the vigil mass, where we recount passages of scripture from Genesis to The Gospels and right to the Paschal Mystery of Christ’s death and Resurrection. We also welcome new Catholic’s into the faith that evening after months, sometimes years of intense prayer and study. While the Easter Vigil and masses are on one “Sunday”, the Easter season of jubilant exaltation (think Hallelujah chorus with trumpet blasts and confetti) lasts 50 days ending in Pentecost – another favorite Holy Day.

@fillpraycloset on twitter #atozchallenge E is for Easter
Easter: More than just chocolate eggs!

Why did I choose to share this particular “E” with you?

Easter is my favorite liturgical season because I am a convert. As an adult convert, I remember my months of study and prayer, confusion and understanding. I remember being the only member to join from the choir loft (I’m a singer too). I can still feel the pats on my back as I walked from the loft to the altar. I still laugh at my husbands’ comments afterwards. Here’s a tip: if you ever go to an Easter Vigil mass, it starts in the dark. Remember? We’re starting with readings from Genesis:

Genesis 1: 3-5

Then God said, “Let there be light”; and there was light.
And God saw that the light was good; and God separated the light from the darkness.
God called the light Day, and the darkness he called Night. And there was evening and there was morning, the first day.

This is where drama enters the Catholic Church, I think. All of your senses are included in this mass from the bells to the smells (incense) and so it makes sense that the lights are turned off for this part of the mass. Slowly as we move through biblical history, the lights get brighter and brighter.

Before that happened, my husband looked at me from his pew with my little boys right next to him, and mouthed to me “did they pay the light bill” How was I supposed to know? No one told me!

Those pilgrims set to enter into full communion with the church, walk in holding lit candles – this is symbolic of their faith, their tireless work to understand the Trinity, the mysteries, The Gospel, the Magisterium and God’s love for them individually, flaws and all. Even if you don’t know anyone coming into the faith personally, I highly recommend this as a mass to attend at least once in your life.

Easter this year is on April 20th.

I am at a conference today, all day, in New York City – if I’m not around today, know that I am getting “my pray on”. I am here: 9th Annual Divine Mercy Conference and since we’re all off Sunday, I will reconnect Monday! 

Come back on Monday for to read all about my Catholic take on the letter F. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

@fillpraycloset on twitter #atozchallenge E is for Easter

43 thoughts on “E is for Easter

  1. Another fascinating post! I had an idea of what Lent was, but didn’t realize it lasted so long. I don’t know how you all do it. Are there certain things you must give up? Or do you choose your own?

    I’ve always wanted to attend a mass at a Catholic church. Perhaps this Easter, I will aim for it. It must be beautiful.

    Like

    1. There’s no set thing to give up. What I do, is I give up what I love – like buying books. Whenever I feel compelled to hit that “1 click purchase” button, I think twice. For the kids, I don’t have them give anything up just yet. They just add more prayers to their day, and really, it’s just intentions = pray for others and not just themselves! I wish you could come to mass with me for Easter vigil. My husband will be away and I’ll need help corralling my kids, I mean, I would love you to see it!
      😉

      Like

      1. LOL! Hmmm if we weren’t so far away, that would be tempting!

        I like the idea of giving something you love up for a period of time. How wonderful it would feel when you get it back. Not too mention how appreciative you would be.

        Sort of like when someone you love goes away for a while and then comes back. It’s one of the best feelings ever.

        Like

  2. Ah the holidays are setting in n so is Easter 🙂 Looking forward to water eggs as well…n like you mentioned it’s a great reminder bout Jesus’s resurrection… great post!

    Like

  3. Easter is my favorite, too. Especially as a fellow convert. For me the best part is the Lenten preparation…sort of a spring cleaning for my spirit.

    Like

    1. Precisely! I can’t even tell ya! Prayer, fasting, penance, almsgiving (charity). It’s all so intensely focused. What really helps me is praying the Sorrowful mysteries every day!!! Prayed a chaplet for you Saturday xo

      Like

  4. You make me laugh. I’m glad to read you are getting your pray on! I want to get my pray on, too, because lately my prayers are being answered before I say a word! 🙂 You have such a refreshingly clear writing voice – it is phenomenal. Much love and enjoy New York! I’m jealous!

    Like

  5. My husband gave me a Cadbury egg yesterday. I like them but they are awkward and messy.
    I love the Easter Vigil and Mass. I love the music too.

    Like

  6. Beautiful post. I have many friends who takes lent for Easter and Christmas and Im there guide to vegetarian recipes 🙂 Thanks for the useful info!! 🙂

    Like

  7. I have attended churches of a few different denominations in my life – The Easter Catholic mass is steeped in so many traditions – you are right about all the senses being stimulated, I would also recommend being involved in one at least once in a lifetime

    Ida
    Reflex Reactions

    Like

  8. I always thought Lent was a beautiful, spiritual ritual, when done with intent. I see way too many people saying they’re giving up something trivial for Lent, however if it has deeper meaning and connection to them, great! I don’t know. What are your thoughts. When giving up something, should it have a strong meaning to you?

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

