D is for Dominic (St. Dominic)

#AtoZchallenge D is for St. Dominic @fillpraycloset on TwitterOne of my favorite letters, D, for St. Dominic. I am a Lay Dominican postulant so you know this is going to be a favorite. In case you missed it, yesterday was all about Confession.

What is Dominican Spirituality, specifically, who is St. Dominic, and why should you care that I mention I am a Lay Dominican postulant? We will attempt to briefly answer these today, and I will provide some resources for further reading. And if you’re looking for the Feature Friday Post, no worries, it’s here scroll, or click that link!

Who is it?

Quite simply, St. Dominic is the founder of the Dominican Order of Preachers. St. Dominic’s feast day (or day we celebrate him) is August 4 (he was made a saint in 1234). It is also said that he received the Rosary from the hands of the Blessed Virgin Mary. St. Dominic’s “calling card” was his conversion of a man overnight. EWTN shares:

On the way, they passed through Languedoc, in southern France, where the Albigensian heresy was winning many adherents. The host at an inn where they stopped was an Albigensian, and Dominic spent a whole night in discussion with him. By morning he had convinced the man of his error. From that day, it appears, Dominic knew with certainty that the work God required of him was an active life of teaching in the world.

Why did I choose to share this particular “D” with you?

Each month, I research and prepare a module for presentation to Lay Dominicans that have completed their perpetual promises to the order. This means, that I am the new kid (aren’t I always?). I share those answers here on my blog each month. It takes roughly 6 years to make perpetual promises. You read that right. It’s a commitment that shouldn’t be taken lightly. Being a Lay Dominican is a vocation, like any other – including my first vocation as wife and mother.

I can’t get enough of the charisms (special gifts) of this order: to seek knowledge and wisdom through studying and preaching. Once it clicked for me that preaching, wasn’t “preaching” (aka bible thumping, brimstone and fire preaching), everything fell into place. It is here, on this platform that I preach – or share my findings and reflections from a perspective of a relatively new Catholic – coming from a life of a faithless vacuum. Not that I was an atheist, but faith was not on my radar, I was. Once I got out of my own way, faith showed up.

These monthly modules are a microcosm of how I live my daily life. I learn, I study, and I seek answers for myself, but ultimately to share and preach to and for others who are also seeking.

#atozchallenge #SaintDominic
St. Dominic at St. Vincent Ferrer Church in NYC © fillpraycloset 2013

For more information on St. Dominic, check out the very first module I prepared, Questions that Need Answering: The Life of St. Dominic. I also, always, recommend that anyone interested in joining a third order check out some of the resources I have listed.

Come back tomorrow for a Catholic take on the letter, E. I am blogging my way through the alphabet with others who are doing the same. 

Please support the bloggers of the #AtoZchallenge by visiting, sharing or commenting. We have all worked long and hard to prepare these posts, some prepping for a couple of months, as we posted our regular schedule, took care of our children, went to work, had the flu…well, you get the idea.

54 thoughts on “D is for Dominic (St. Dominic)

  1. I’ve heard of the Dominican Order, but I never associated it with having been named after anybody. I presume the Franciscan Order was named after St Francis? I don’t have my orders in order I guess.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote
    An A to Z Co-host blog

    Like

  2. I am definitely going to come back when I am a little bit more awake to click on all of the links on this post!
    As a child in Catholic school I had to do a written project, yearly on a saint of my choosing. Our teachers always recommended that we try to choose a saint that means something to us, so St. Patrick was a popular choice (that was who our school and parish were named after), but then we were told to look at who we were named for. Since Dominiqué is my middle name, I have somewhere, in the recesses of my memories, a number of elementary school projects on the life of St. Dominic.
    Thank you for reminding me and making me curious, once again about the details of his life. 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s awesome. I love your middle name (and that I conjured up some fun memories) Our parish is St. Joseph – so we have a lot of those projects too! St. Francis is also popular because of the Pope!

      Like

  3. Preaching doesn’t come easy…studying and preparation and the prayer that goes behind it really takes a lot of time…Nice to hear of this saint…

    Like

    1. No kidding! I’m reading about 5 books at the same time on varied topics. Wait…I’m not the saint, you were talking about St. Dominic! HA!

      Like

  4. Your posts are very thought provoking Cristina, and certainly making me aware of how much of my childhood was tied up in Catholocism… I have always had faith, just not in religions. Saints have always fascinated me, any archetype does. Do you know anything about St Ida? 😉 I wish you all the best on your journey with the Dominicians, if more people preached as you are in their chosen religions, what a wonderful world this could be…

    Like

    1. I think St. Ida is the Patron Saint of loves, is she not!! 😉 thank you for your kind words on my journey as a Lay Dominican! Truly. Thank you!

      Like

  5. Interesting Cristina. Faithless vaccuum, the words struck me. we humans need to have a Faith in something to connect with ourselves deeply and the faith that we reflect a greater Energy than our own is comforting.

    Like

  6. I’m fascinated by anything historically from this time period, and not just because I’m penning a novel based in the time period. It’s so fascinating the different world these people occupied and how it has evolved over the last many centuries.

    Like

    1. By all means, Crystal, take what you can glean here and write! I am so glad that I was able to share something that could be useful to you!!

      Like

  7. I like the new design of your blog,Cristina. I also like your A to Z challenge.
    I have loved St. Dominic since my childhood. The Dominican Sisters were my teachers in both elementary and high school, and at the Dominican School of Philosophy and Theology. My first spiritual directors, back in my young adulthood, were Dominican priests. I was especially blessed by and influenced by Fr. Paul Hinnebusch, O.P., who is surely in heaven now. My parents and siblings also had a good dose of Dominican spirituality. Such was my spiritual foundation!

    Since being “Dominicanized,” I have also been “Franciscanized,” at the Franciscan School of Theology, and “Carmelized!” Yet, God led me to the Carmelite Order. I am a professed Lay Carmelite. It took about 7 years of formation before final promises. I wish you many blessings on your Lay Dominican journey.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Dear Sister in Christ! Funny share…when people ask me what my “sign” is, I say that I am a Dominican with Carmelite rising! I was born on the Feast day for St. John of the Cross actually! I also looked into the Lay Carmelites for a time, and felt more “called” to the Dominican Laity (as you can probably see!) Don’t get me started on nuns either. They are like Catholic celebrity to me! Love them!

      God bless you!

      Like

  8. Being a lay postulant sounds really interesting. One of my favorite blogs is A Nun’s Life, and the sisters have talked about about alternatives for people who aren’t interested in or able to have a life as a vowed nun, priest, or monk. On one of their podcasts, they discussed some groups that offer such service opportunities in a lay capacity.

    Like

    1. Carrie-Anne!! Send me the link, would you please? I am fascinated by nuns! Ever see the movie God is The Bigger Elvis? Stop everything and watch it! Amazing! She acted with Elvis and he was her first kiss!!! o_O

      Like

      1. Sister Julie and Sister Maxine’s website is http://anunslife.org/. I’ve been reading it for years, since I heard about Sister Julie in possibly a Time magazine article on young nuns. It recently had a major facelift, to include even more features and content. I think my favorite part is the Ask Sister podcast. One of these days I’m going to have to tune in when it’s live, so I can take part in their chat room during the broadcast.

        Like

  9. Thanks for sharing information on the Saints. For those of us who aren’t Catholic, it’s great information to have, especially for literary connections. The more we know about the world around us, the more literary connections we can make. I find a lot of my favorite philosophers write about religion, or they make connections that I miss if I’m not better versed in what they are talking about, lol

    Like

    1. Yes! So true. You’ll find that people with the O.P. attributed to them (Order of Preachers) are all over the academic scene. Super smart those ones. 😉

      Like

  10. I love that you used the word “charisms” in this post because yesterday I learned that this root word for “charisma” means gift. Love it when “new” word pops up over and over like that. 😀

    ~Tui Snider~
    @TuiSnider on Twitter
    My blog: Tui Snider’s Offbeat & Overlooked Travel
    I am also part of the #StoryDam team, a friendly writing community!

    Like

  11. St. Dominic is one of my favorites. How could he not be, my sweet grandson is named after him and my Dominic is quite a spiritual kid.
    I have been a Catholic my whole life but I’m learning stuff over here. You are doing an amazing job with this challenge!

    Like

  12. Ha, the only saint I’m even slightly familiar with is …{go figure}… Francis de Sales, the patron saint of writers! And I only know that because my mother-in-law gave me a pin with St. Francis de Sales on it, which I pinned to my writing sweater — a sweater I always wear when writing as it is so comfy and makes me feel librarian-ish. I’m really enjoying learning more about your practices. Thank you so much for sharing all this!

    Like

  13. St. Dominic is Awesome!! Do you know the story (of course, you probably do) when Our Lady appeared to him with the different orders around her. he was sad when he didn’t see his order and asked where they were. Then she showed him under her mantle!! LOVE!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

