Feature Friday: The very first one!

This is a new “addition to the rotation” (as we say about dinner at my house), but I know you’re going to love it.

This Feature Friday “blog hop/link up”, is Marcia’s creation over at her blog, Blogitudes. I’ve been spending a lot of time on Google+ of late and there are so many wonderfully witty blogs shared over there. As I scrolled, I would see a post from Marcia and laugh. That gets me, every time. So, without further ado:

Blogitudes Feature Friday Link up

If you haven’t made the leap to Google+, I highly recommend it (your funny bone with thank me. That, and your affinity for cats will be satiated. There seems to be a lot of cat gifs and images there). If you would like to join is, I know Marcia would love to have more shining faces link up with her. Next week, I will do 7QT as per our usual (or maybe both?!). The rules for this blog hop are listed after this post for you to consider.

This week I read a lot of blogs, and commented more than usual. Considering the blog blitz I just participated in, I thought it good blog karma to read and comment as much as I wrote. Here are my favorites (one spiritual, the other secular – because that’s how I roll) And the features go to:

Erika Clay of TipsyLit 

We all love a good list post, don’t we? 10 ways to increase blog traffic, 12 ways to cut hummingbird cake, 7 things you must do before you eat that apple – we love it. This is NO different. May I present to you, Twenty-One Reasons You Made Me Deactivate My Facebook Account by Erika Clay at TipsyLit. I came upon this blog via a blogging group on Facebook, oh the irony. I thought this was totally, completely hilarious. I was kind of bummed there was no reference to Candy Crush Saga, not that I play it, or have ever played it, or knock anyone who does. It just seems that these invites to play are all I get! Isn’t Facebook supposed to be a way of keeping in touch? Check it out, laugh your head off, then read the comments and laugh some more and feel slightly intimidated because you have no witty comment to add. Wait. That was me. I loved this post and I am slowly following stalking and reading all things Erika Clay on social media. It’s kinda what I do.

Amy of Making the Swim

I mentioned a new blogger last week, but didn’t mention the blog name, or address because it’s still very new. Her name is Amy, and she writes at Making the Swim. She found me on the 7QT link up (and round and round we go!) In this particular post, she writes about bearing her cross of conversion, and how that relates to, well everyone. Being an adult convert means you have this whole life of people knowing who you are, and what you like. You have all of these expected behaviors and those closest to you know where you sit, figuratively speaking. Then you express something other and it doesn’t reconcile. You don’t fit. You don’t make sense. That’s hard. Really hard. She gets some of that out here with About Conversion, Division and your Posse. Seeing as this is her third post, she’s SUPER brave to come out and write about these feelings in a public forum. Head over, read and support her through this time.

What I wrote about this week

I introduced you to my family. Real names and everything. This is me trying to come out of my comfort zone and not be afraid of, well everything! It took me a while to get this out, darn editorial calendars, but I finally squeezed it in. I shared a story I heard about on the radio of a woman who chose self-assisted suicide at 85 years old, because she couldn’t bear losing her good looks any longer. I thought this was a “more than meets the eye” reason and expanded on that. In a complete 180, I shared some Catholic Celebrities with you. I bet there’s one on the list that you didn’t know was Catholic!

And that’s how you Feature Friday Hop people. Interested? I was! Anytime I can share my faves with you, it’s a must do in my book! Won’t you share with us?

Instructions

To enter the Feature Friday Hop, <— that was the link, by the way! You must follow these few simple rules:

Enter a Feature Friday or Weekly Wrap-Up type post written by you in which you:

  1. feature/list a post that you recently read that was written by another blogger (complete with URL link, name of author and blog) – and briefly explain why you are featuring it. (You can feature more than one fellow-blogger post if you’d like.)
  2. feature and include a post that was written by you within the last week or two (complete with URL link) – and explain why you wrote it.
  • Please do not link up contests, product reviews, or sponsored posts.
  • Read and comment on at least two other Feature Friday posts that are entered in the hop.

(Optional) Share this blog hop with your friends and beg them to join in the fun. The more the merrier!

And those are the simple rules. This hop is all about sharing great content – promoting others and promoting yourself.

See? LOVE!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “Feature Friday: The very first one!

  1. Oh Cristina! I love what you’ve done here! Love the way you introduced the hop (and greatly appreciate the wonderful shout outs)! Your entry is perfect – and I can’t wait to read all the posts that you highlighted! Thank you so very much for participating – and extra special thanks again for creating the awesome Feature Friday badge! You totally & completely rock! 😀

    Like

    1. See what I mean people?! This lady is a bottle of sunshine!

      Thanks Marcia! This is a great idea that I will shout from the rooftops for participation!

      Have a great weekend and enjoy hopping today!

      Like

      1. She is a “bottle of sunshine!” Loved your post and I’m excited to check out the list. I did catch you post on Catholic Celebrities earlier in the week, and would never have guessed most of them. Great work!

        Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the funny. I’m always looking for more people to stalk. The more distractions the better when I should be working, I say! Erika Clay might be totally stalkable. We’ll keep an eye on her. By we, I mean…er…just me, of course.

    Like

  3. What a great post!! And a wonderful idea!!

    I had planned on doing a Fabulous Friday post, which featured some of my favourite Twitter people I follow and a brief explanation as to why I follow them (instead of the #FF tweets that I do).

    Do you think if I joined this blog hop, I could incorporate that my FF post into a Feature Friday? I would still kep it to bloggers. But list 4 or 5, instead of one.

    What do you think?

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

