We’re talking Catholic Celebrities

I was going to write about why people are weird and naturally decided that it would be better, and MORE fun to list some Catholic celebrities, you may not have known were Catholic instead. This way we all feel better and the weirdness goes away. Don’t worry, I am NOT talking about you. You’re cool beans.

Catholic Celebrity

In my never ending quest to learn about all things Catholic and sprinkle that in with this secular world we live in, I thought, celebrities? Why not? I love a good In Style Magazine every once in a while. I do admit though after a few too many mags, I have to walk away. Too much pretty, too much perfect. Well, we talked about it yesterday. I will share just a few on my list. We could add more, and we could also be here all day. On with the show!

Jim Caviezel Catholic

Jim Caviezel

I mean, God bless him. He played Jesus in The Passion of the Christ.

Here’s a great interview done by Catholic Digest where Jim talks about what it’s like to adopt children and what it’s like to be a father.

He also talks about being the voice of Jesus in a resurrected role (I know, I know) in The Word of Promise audio Bible

Bradley Cooper

Bradley Cooper

Now, The Hangover hilarity aside, he’s an excellent actor. From Silver Linings Playbook to American Hustle, he’s been a nominee for an Oscar! So he’s serious business and not just the funny guy. In this interview with Details, he says:

I grew up Roman Catholic. I was baptized. I always loved the pageantry of it. A lot of it had to do with loving my father and looking at him wear his tweed blazer to Mass. I loved the way he prayed, so I would pray like he would. Not for any other reason than I wanted to be like my father—I wanted to be like Charlie Cooper. But in so doing, through the ritual of it, I started to have faith in God. Am I a spiritual person today? Yes. I don’t know how I could not be. It’s like saying, “Do you breathe?”

And hey, he took a selfie with me on Ash Wednesday, remember?

Patricia Heaton Catholic

Patricia Heaton

I love her. Love her! I watched (and own) every episode of Everybody Loves Raymond. I lived that marriage (before I was Catholic) complete with the in-laws. She is such a Catholic in the secular media too.

She recently spoke of her older sister, who is a Dominican nun *insert o_O face here* “”and nuns are always portrayed as weird, sexually repressed, old maids who are bitter. Listen, I went to Catholic school, there are a few of those, but the Dominican sisters that I know are lovely, lovely ladies,” Read more about her feelings on how the media portrays Christians as the bad guys. Amen sister. And she’s just a petite powerhouse, who doesn’t love that! You never see us comin’

Nicole Kidman CatholicNicole Kidman

All Moulin Rouge aside, not really because I love that movie. This actress has chops. Chops for days. She knew what was up, she came home when she got remarried in the Catholic church – after having been married in the Church of Scientology to Tom Cruise (did you know he went to Seminary school?!?)

Kidman is in post-production for the movie, Grace of Monaco (Grace Kelly – another beautiful Catholic woman!)

Mark Wahlberg Catholic
Picture by Jeff Fusco. Picture below by s_bukley/Shutterstock.

Mark Wahlberg

I pinned an article from CathNewsUSA about this (and tweeted, etc., and it was shared all over the place). I knew he was Catholic, I didn’t know he was “get to mass before everyone gets up then go again with the family”, Catholic. That’s serious!

Robert Pattinson Catholic
(AP Photo/Chris Pizzello)

Robert Pattinson

Yes, friends. I couldn’t believe it either. He is. That’s what he identifies as. And, as my friend Emily pointed out – he plays piano. She’s into those kinds of things. Maybe because he can rock out a hymn? I can’t hate, he talks about abstinence, albeit about a film of Vampire love *insert eyeroll here* He does say pretty random things, that I won’t repeat here. If you’re interested, you can search for yourself. In the meantime, let’s move on!

Stephen Colbert CatholicStephen Colbert

He has to be my favorite Catholic in the media. I watch him most nights. Why? He talks about our faith. He keeps it at the forefront, because he wears his ashes on TV! Because last night, his entire opening segment was about the decline of church attendance. And also, Fr. James Martin, SJ is their resident priest. Timothy Cardinal Dolan made an appearance as well, you can see that here and here. Talk about the new evangelization! He uses humor and his snarky popularity to get the church on everyone’s lips. Just follow him on Facebook – people are a’talkin in the comments. Good, bad, negative, positive, they’re talking!

Anne Hathaway Catholic

Anne Hathaway (honorable mention)

Bestill my heart, I love this girl. She is my favorite in the Devil Wears Prada. Partly, because I lived that job, daily, for years. She got out! She made it! Ok, she’s not Andy in real life. Mike keeps reminding me. While she was raised Catholic and was married by a priest and a rabbi, she recently made headlines denouncing the church because of our views on homosexuality. Here’s hoping she’ll come back. I mean, she did Les Miserables, right? She has to be praying about it? She wanted to be a nun for Mike’s sake!

And, George Clooney was raised Catholic and was an altar boy?!?!? WHAT? YEAH!

Are there any celebrities that you wanted to see on this list? I only had an hour to pull this together! So let me know in the comments!

37 thoughts on “We’re talking Catholic Celebrities

  1. I have to say impressive list, you picked the current living Catholics, you should do a list of the classic actors (aka dead actors) too. Why? Well, I love old movies, of course and well would it not be fun!

    Like

      1. I read that series when I wasn’t Catholic, so I’d like to again. I’ve heard rumblings from others that it has anti-Catholic overtones. However, Nicole Kidman – totally Catholic.

        Like

  2. I can forgive Robert the Twilight movies….the last one was actually pretty good. (Shhh. You don’t know I’ve seen it.) I mean, British accent, plays the piano, writes his own songs….yeah, I go for that.

    Like

      1. George Clooney went to my parish school for a while (St. Michael in Worthington, OH). I hope he comes home (to the Church, not Worthington).

        Like

      2. I also have only a few degrees of separation from him because he used to date my friend’s former teacher. It’s a small world.

        Like

  3. Don’t forget the Sheens/Estavezs. Although they have their own strange take on faith (Charlie isn’t the best example of Catholicism). Martin is a descent Catholic. And Emilio is working on it.

    Like

      1. It makes me want to walk the Camino. I have been to Santiago de Compestella before, long before I converted. They got wonderful light for the film, my photos are so hazy.

        Like

      2. I would hope to be unplugged while walking that journey. A note pad would be with me as well as a camera!

        Like

  4. What a fun list! I honestly got excited when I read that Robert Pattinson (totally a Twilight fan!) was Catholic. And Anne Hathaway… hopefully she will find her way back to the church! 🙂

    Like

  5. Great list!! I have seen Mark Walhberg give some great interviews, what an positive and joyful witness of the faith! My Mom prays for Tom Cruise daily…and Madonna too…she says ya can never pray to much for anyone 😉
    Don’t forget to add Jimmy Fallon and Jim Gaffigan to your list….my sister sent me an article of Jimmy Fallon talking his positive experience of Catholicism.

    Like

    1. Yep! I love Jimmy Fallon and Jim Gaffigan and knew all about their Catholicity! I think this is calling for another post! SWEEET!

      Madonna. Oh Madonna. *hands clasped*

      Like

  6. Great post Christina. It’ll be lots of fun to click on some of those links. Thanks for all of the work and effort you put out for this. It’s easy to let the “spin” convince you that there are no believers in Hollywood. And is there anything more attractive than a handsome catholic man? I’ve been scandalized!! Just kidding ~ sort of.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

