14 things I did on #nosocialmediasunday

Here we are with weekend two or three (?) of #nosocialmediasunday I am hoping that you will join me in steering clear of Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest just for one day a week.

14 things I did on #nosocialmediasunday http://wp.me/p3xcDn-Wy #catholic #AtoZChallenge
I get pretty hard core, and don’t text either. Scary, I know. You don’t have to be that intense about it. I suggest to do what feels right for you. This can extend through to Lent, just be something that you do all the time, or just when you need it.

  1. My son and I made confession. When he goes, I go and vice versa. We kind of support each other in this way. He’s 9. Every time I go, I have to learn that it’s ok to be human. I kind of have an issue with that. I get caught up in not being allowed to feel sadness, anger, or anything other than a joyous, content soul. Not so, says Father Joe. What a beautiful priest. No one taught me that, it’s just something I do – but confession clears it right up.
  2. We all went to vigil mass How I missed it. How we all missed it. It’s such a beautifully reflective mass. Everyone who wants to be there, really be there, is there. I got to see some parishioners I hadn’t seen in a while. A mother and adult son.
  3. I watched a movie and drank a couple of glasses of wine with my husband after giving the boys snack and sending them to bed. We saw Enough Said with James Gandolfini and Julia Louis-Dreyfus. My husband strongly recommended it as he’d seen it in flight on a business trip. I never like to commit to any show longer than 30 minutes, unless it’s Downton Abbey. This, was worth every minute. I love James Gandolfini and am a huge Sopranos fan. My husband thinks I am just like the character played by Julia Louis-Dreyfus; quirky and funny. I’m quirky? In any case – a great movie and I highly recommend it.14 things I did on #nosocialmediasunday http://wp.me/p3xcDn-Wy #catholic #AtoZChallenge
  4. I made 33 rosaries for communion makers that I will never meet (except in heaven of course), I just realized that the number 33 has significance as I am making my consecration to Jesus through Mary tomorrow – on the Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes!
  5. I finished a book, and began another one I will give a review on it this week for sure, so I don’t want to give it away. The one I picked up after finishing the former, was a suggestion by the author, and something I’d read before – The Prodigal Son by Henri Nouwen. Perfect lead up to Lent, I think.
  6. I listened to a couple of podcasts from Teresa Tomeo’s Catholic Connection and am now well versed in Legatus. Have you ever listened to her show? She gives you all the news and then some from a Catholic perspective. I love that she reads the Pope’s addresses, letters and homilies too. Just a great show.
  7. I watched a basketball game  Basketball? Yes. I am a huge Knicks fan. We lost. But Durant is all that and then some. So, it’s kind of ok.
  8. We had Sunday dinner – my husband’s specialty espaghetti – and watched the snow fall (again). We’re getting another foot on Thursday. Perfect. Lay Dominican meeting day. You know it’s going to be cancelled. Why?! WHY! Very disappointed about that.

    Our Lady of Lourdes from Wikipedia
  9. I caught up on my consecration prayers I can’t believe this is all coming to a head tomorrow. I mean, that went by quickly. I am working out how to get to mass tomorrow. We have pretty serious stuff happening at work and it will be difficult to sneak off.
  10. I had a chamomile Epsom salt bath. This is ultimate. I get the salts from Target. They have chamomile, lavender and eucalyptus and it’s relatively inexpensive.
  11. I lied out on a beach and just thought of nothing and everything. So it wasn’t a beach and it was a towel on the floor in my bedroom. I have an active imagination, ok?
  12. Planned my calendar for April. Why April? Because I am participating in the Blogging from #AtoZchallenge  (See the neat button I put up?) Always looking for ways to evangelize and expand my reach, I signed up to blog every day in April (except Sundays) through the alphabet, but with an exclusively Catholic focus. So, for example, A’s could include: Apostolic succession, Apostles, Acts, Agape or Annunciation. I’ve created a spreadsheet, of course, to keep my thoughts together. I am really looking forward to meeting new people and reading some great blogs. Interested in the challenge? Head over and sign up. Tell me if you do, support, ya know?
  13. I topped off my weekend with some Downtown Abbey. Man, I love that show. I won’t give any spoilers here. But I am so glad *that* didn’t happen last night. DA fans, you know what I mean!
  14. I didn’t vacuum. This doesn’t really count, but it sort of does. Vacuuming, the way I do it, is stressful. There are tracks and a chart involved. Yes, I am that Mom.

Did you participate in #nosocialmediasunday ? How did you unplug? Were you anxious? Did you cave? Tell me all about it!

13 thoughts on “14 things I did on #nosocialmediasunday

  1. For some reason I did not realize you were making your consecration tomorrow. I will be renewing mine tomorrow for my 12th anniversary. My daughter Veronica will be renewing hers as well. I think it’s her 5th anniversary. Many prayers to you my friend. Please remember us as well.

    Like

  2. I watched a movie over the weekend too, Alfred Hitchcock {just gotta make sure I don’t it again when I’m home alone lol :)}
    I lovvvve Henri Nouwen’s books…the wounded healer is my fav!

    Like

  3. Hope you didn’t get a bad sunburn at that beach, Cristina 🙂 Congratulations on your Consecration tomorrow! I have Adoration tomorrow and will especially remember you in my prayers…such a wonderful day for you!

    And…Downton Abbey…never miss it! YES! So glad “it” didn’t happen. I was worried there for a bit! Can Downton Abbey just never end….and maybe even catch up to our time? I think Mary could run for president, or the Senate at least. Guess she would be too old at about 110 or so 🙂

    Have a beautiful day tomorrow, Cristina! xo

    Like

    1. Thank you, dear Patricia. How are you? I love, love, love Lady Mary! She is wonderful. But what about Aunt Rosamund. What do you make of her role? She really did press and thank God it all worked out in the end. As for Mr Green…all I can say is, it’s about to GO DOWN!
      🙂 Praying for you.

      Like

      1. Hey, Cristina! Thank you for your prayers; I especially need them for a “situation” right now. Hmm, Aunt Rosamund. I wish she had not been so supportive of ‘it”. As you said, thank God it did all work out in the end. I was so worried about the “dowager”. Wouldn’t want to lose her. She has so many of the very best lines…would love to be just like her when I’m her age 🙂 Wise and witty! Love it! BTW, I think you still sound pretty salty too me! 🙂 But I DO know what you mean. I’ve lived with constant dryness of soul for years now..shocking at first, especially when it is continuous. But you do learn to love loving Him, without expecting favors in return. Praying for you too! xo

        Like

  4. I gave up Pinterest for Lent a couple years ago. It broke my addiction. Now I’m having to get back into the swing bc of blogging. I still don’t use it much.

    Like

    1. Oh…long before blogging there was Pinterest. I have 3,089 pins alone – on one board.

      Talk about addiction! I think Pinterest is the least intimidating, then Facebook, Twitter, and dun dun duuuun – Google+ I am trying though. Don’t I sound old and uncool?

      Like

  5. Hi, Cristina. I’ve always been looking to doing some apostolate via writing (I am better read than heard), and when I read about the A to Z Challenge in this post…

    So I joined! I’m kinda nervous, but since you will be into it, too, I feel braver. (I’ve been visiting your blog, and I pick up good doses of inspiration from your posts.) My overall themes will be faith and family (and maybe homeschooling). Yes, I will also do that spreadsheet-style of planning 🙂 and maybe do some posts ahead of time, just so I am more relaxed.

    Thank you so much, and I am looking forward to April!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

