Communication and Consecration

Our-Lady-of-Lourdes-10And here we are at Day 19 of the Consecration to end on February 11th for the Memorial for Our Lady of Lourdes.

I admit, I have gone through a period of silence here in my consecration journey. Last week was tough and it’s not that I wasn’t going through the readings. I was just in a state of absorption, if that makes sense. Interestingly, I didn’t realize that’s what was happening until I happened to turn on Teresa Tomeo’s Catholic Connection radio show (which I highly recommend you do as I certainly have to reincorporate that into my day again).

She read parts of the Message of Pope Francis for the 48th World Communications Day

The speed with which information is communicated exceeds our capacity for reflection and judgement, and this does not make for more balanced and proper forms of self-expression.  The variety of opinions being aired can be seen as helpful, but it also enables people to barricade themselves behind sources of information which only confirm their own wishes and ideas, or political and economic interests.

I don’t want to exceed my capacity for reflection and judgement – especially with consecration. So I was gentle with myself and let the silence, be ok. I had some things come up for me last week that were unsettling. It’s even spilling over into this week. I have to say, dear friends that I go through stretches where it all rolls off my back and then there are those times where everything hurts. Not in the way you would think. I hurt because deep down they do and I wish I could make it better. Instead of using this platform to rail against anyone who would try to hurt me I journal about my feelings. Going back to what Pope Francis said – I don’t want to be hasty and respond in a manner that isn’t:

…a balm which relieves pain and a fine wine which gladdens hearts. May the light we bring to others not be the result of cosmetics or special effects, but rather of our being loving and merciful “neighbours” to those wounded and left on the side of the road.

I do. I so want to be the respite for you to come and share with me. I want you to feel the listening that I do with each word you type. It’s hard, this medium of social media and I want to soften the edges.

I was messaging with someone who quickly became a dear friend, and I ache for her. There is a reconciliation that resides deep within her soul, and I sense it – oh sure, we’ve spoken of it. She is so sensitive to the effects of any decision she would make – so prayer is important here. I pray for her, and for her family, for her decisions and her non-decisions. What I admire about her is that she is a very thoughtful person. She weighs everything so carefully. I can learn from that and I know we all can.

I think the most important thing to remember in all of this is that we have a faith filled obligation when we were Confirmed, to evangelize. In any of my discussions with anyone, I have it in the back of my mind to:

Keep[ing] the doors of our churches open also means keeping them open in the digital environment so that people, whatever their situation in life, can enter, and so that the Gospel can go out to reach everyone.  We are called to show that the Church is the home of all.

This means acceptance and love above all else. We have to be the face of the church. We are the Body of Christ. We have to accept each other to show acceptance of others. The Gospel reading yesterday spoke of it. Of unity in faith. You think He’s driving at a message here for me? It’s so important. Why turn anyone away? I’ve spoken of this before and won’t go off on a tangent here about it – as tempted as I am!

How does this tie into the consecration? I am SO very glad you asked, and waited. In the readings, I came across the Ten Virtues of the Blessed Virgin Mary. As I read them, I kept them in the context of how I would approach you always dear reader, how I could incorporate them into my daily life and better still, in those moments of weakness and doubt, which virtue would and could I turn to? This is all of course to the best of my fallen human ability, of course. I ain’t no B.V.M!

539427__virgin-mary_p

Please feel free to print and keep in your purse, at your computer desk (like I do with notes and reminders) or as a screensaver. The point is, how would you incorporate these beautiful virtues into your life and can you have the capacity in those rushed moments of your day to reflect upon a virtue to carry you through. I bet if you called upon our Blessed Mother, she would help in a jiffy.

Tonight is my #RCIA night. Please pray for the Pilgrims as they continue their journey home.

And if you haven’t yet, please pop over and vote for this blog to win the 2014 Sheenazing Award – should you find it encouraging – as that’s what I’m up for, Most Encouraging Blog. If you already have then your virtual rice and beans are on their way to ya.

6 thoughts on “Communication and Consecration

  1. I have chosen the Feast of the Annunciation for my consecration so I will not be starting my journey until Feb 20th so thank you for posting the 10 Virtues. This will be my second attempt as I fell short the last time. I have learned to accept my shortcomings and just keep trying, I will keep you and the RCIA candidates in my prayers. Also I voted!

    Like

  2. My prayers are with you!

    I did see a neat meme the other day on how to flip sin around to virtues. As a military spouse, we are often told to flip our mood or flip the situation to become resilient. I will have to post it in a blog and reflect on it deeper.

    Like

    1. I actually think I’ve seen that meme! On one side there’s a word that God speaks and the other the evil one’s equivalent. Is that it?

      That would be a post I would love to read *nudge*

      Thank you for the prayers. I need them!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

