Moments of Grace Vol. 27 Saintly Silliness and Alice

With a new year comes some change and it will be no different in the bloggy-verse. Jenny at Plain Gracehas refined these glimpses into our lives and re-framed them. They are now called Moments of Grace. She feels this new name better conveys what we are expressing and I quite agree with her. Why don’t you join us and share the moments of grace in your week?

day_planner2

Gratitude
::Another day off
::Committing to #nosocialmediasunday (although I admit, I do read – but I don’t even text!)
::moments of inspiration (where I post 4 times in a day. Or is that pure nuttiness?)
::making new online friends
::Nightly online quizzes, with people I’ve never met, on Facebook. So much fun!
::the feeling I have after filing paperwork at the office. It’s better than that slick feeling on your teeth after a cleaning (and you feel like you’re a superstar)

Praying
::A friend who is on the path to entering the Poor Clares
::A friend’s daughter, through the intercession of St. Raphael for “pure chaste love”, I threw in St. Valentine and St. Jude for impossible causes (because this girl is a toughie), and I even chatted up St. Francis de Sales. I mean, why not? I’m praying a novena to him anyway!)
::Sifting. Sifting? Yes, sifting. I want to shake the pan back and forth and find gold amidst the dirt. 
::my Lay Dominican (real life and online) communities

Thinking and Reflecting
I am thinking that I am not going to get to finish An Introduction to the Devout Life by St. Francis de Sales feast day this Thursday. I have diligently been reading a little every night. I have learned something though and it could surprise you. I’ve been reading this book on my phone. I know, I know. But until I get a new iPad, my iPhone is the most upgraded device I have (and that’s the only downside to Oyster Books that I can see). In any event, if I can’t see where I’m going (i.e. the end of the book and how much I have yet to read) I can’t tell how much farther I need to go to finish. I feel like I am floating in a sea of words. Or like Alice, in a bottle floating, in the ocean. She sees land, far off, but how can she get there? She needs a course charted (or whatever bucaneers say) much like I need to know (by sight and feel of the book) how much I have left to read. Otherwise, it’s all floating bottles, with me in them.

I love this movie. Have I mentioned that?

vlcsnap-14217089

Hearing
My boys cheering each other on and laughing. I have the day off today. Sometimes they wake up like this. Totally silly, totally happy and wanting to hug each other (Little Monk isn’t a hugger, except with me). So much for that…they’re arguing. It’s this way with kiddos.

Cooking
Yesterday, we celebrated the anniversary of my husband adopting Lexicon. Lexicon is the fruit from a previous marriage. My current (and last) husband adopted him a year ago yesterday, so we took him out to lunch. He had his favorite – Alfredo sauce and we scribbled like crazy all over the paper table cloth (love these). But this also means I went out and overate (just for dessert) and had little to nothing for dinner later, not because I felt badly, but because I was full. Who says no to tiramisu, tell me?

Homing & Making
I just got new sheets and new towels, so there they go into the wash to soften up. I don’t know about you, but I buy new sheet sets, and for whatever reason, after a few months, the pillowcase goes missing, or the flat sheet. I end up with a patchwork of sheets and pillowcases which drives my normally OCD husband, crazy. He demanded new sheets. Demanded. Well, who am I to say no? I wonder, do I subconsciously do this for new sheets? Must pay more attention. Although, if I test this theory with my socks…

Around the Web
I am really trying to keep up with my favorite blogs. There are just SO many of them. My bloglovin’ feed is the little engine that could right now.

I did download a pedometer for my phone to track my every step. Yes, I was the dork walking around the house yesterday, trying to get to 1000 steps. I did! And I also walked a mile on top of that (milling around the mall – that counts too!)

Captured

I am SO tempted to put a picture here of my friend S. She came over this weekend to knit with me *Knit Whisperer*. I made her the last of my Earl Grey Creme tea (so blissful) and I took a picture of her drinking it. My phone made the clicking sound and the gig was up. She caught me. Darn!

I love that chick.

Instead, here’s a picture of my husband and Lexicon, thrilled to pieces over their special day.

Clearly we like NY teams.
Clearly we like NY teams.

A quote from my new BFF. St. Francis de Sales

photo (1)

Where my pedometer is at right now as I sit here and type!

photo

That’s all, folks!

Please don’t forget to share or add your name to be prayed for a new prayer ministry for women and men who have had irreparable procedures that impede them from having children of their own – like me. And I always, always pray for any intention that you need at any point…just leave a comment anywhere (but I have a special post for these on Saturdays)

:::And because we all need it:::

St. Therese, pray for us!
St. Josemaría Escrivá, pray for us!
St. Maximillian Kolbe, pray for us!
St. Dymphna, pray for us!
St. Dominic, pray for us!
St. Monica, pray for us!
St. Albert the Great, pray for us!
St. Augustine, pray for us!
St. Michael the Archangel, pray for us!
St. Joseph, pray for us!
St. Paul, pray for us!
Mary, Undoer of Knots, pray for us!
Mary, Mother of God, pray for us!
St. Joseph, pray for us!
Elizabeth Leseur, Servant of God, pray for us!

All you Saints, Blesseds and Servants of God, pray for us!

Agape,
Cristina

10 thoughts on “Moments of Grace Vol. 27 Saintly Silliness and Alice

  1. Wish I had motivation to write…arrgghh.

    I wonder…I am going to look for that pedometer for my Windows phone…would love to try it.

    That quote is the BEST! Just wish I could actually follow his advice. I love his book you are reading.

    Prayers needed for a test this week…not feeling myself which is a downer. Your *moments of grace* made me smile…so glad you had something special to celebrate.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

