A Living Sacrifice

I wasn’t planning on posting about this today – how many times have I started a post this way. You know the deal – I don’t always have control over what’s written here.

I was texting with my friend S about my knitting progress (lack thereof). She asked me how it was going and I responded “It looks like Picasso is knitting Lexicon’s scarf” and I sent this picture.

Pablo Picasso – Weeping Woman with Handkerchief 1937
Pablo Picasso – Weeping Woman with Handkerchief 1937

In the search for a picture to complement the humor of my text, I remembered how much I love art and used to spend time at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC when I lived there.

As I scrolled, I found her…

010

To me, it responded to Day 5 of my consecration. See how she sees herself? She is actually beautiful and what she sees in the mirror is not what she sees. She is consumed by the vanities of the world. 

The “spirit of the world” offers many false illusions and parodies of happiness. There is perhaps no darkness deeper than the darkness that enters young people’s souls when false prophets extinguish in them the light of faith and hope and love. The greatest deception, and the deepest source of unhappiness, is the illusion of finding life by excluding God, of finding freedom by excluding moral truths and personal responsibility. (Homily, World Youth Day, Toronto, July 28, 2002)

Pope John Paul II is speaking at World Youth Day, so as an adult, I could easily skip over this message – but isn’t this the life before conversion too? This Picasso painting is how I would view myself before accepting him.

Romans 12:2

Do not be conformed to this world,[a] but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God—what is good and acceptable and perfect.

See how she longingly reaches out to her reflection, almost to bring it close, and to keep it safe. To reconcile it with who He created her to be. That’s all I ever wanted. I think that’s all we ever want. Safety and blessed assurance.

Let us let go of the attachment of created things – whether it be pretenses, negative feelings or emotions, addictions on any scale (pun intended with my chocolate addiction!) This is easier said than done of course. But try, just try to replace that addiction with God. God in anything: the water you drink, the paper you write on, the words you see, the smile of a stranger, the rhythm of the heart beating in your chest. God is there in the rhythm, on the page in the smile, and in the water. Truly.

What will you give up to gain God today? How do you see yourself? Is your perception colored by the world or by God?

Another prayer request – for LT. just pray for strength and peace. She is a soul crying out to Him, let us rally around her with prayer. I shared my sentiments (and I will with you below) with her (that in an unrelated instance happened to also share with another friend earlier in the day). It seems we’re all in a storm together:

I cling to the post so to speak as the sand storm whips about and scratches at my skin and irritates my eyes. I squint and hold on. The storm has to end. Nothing endures like God’s love and care for us. I have to hold on to that – keep my head down and pray (plow) through it.

6 thoughts on “A Living Sacrifice

  1. Have you read Emily Stimpson’s “These Beautiful Bones: An Everyday Theology of the Body”? It relates so much to what you’re talking about here. She encourages us to treat the body with the reverence it deserves because it was made in the image of God and reflects our soul. Whether it’s folding the laundry, living as the mothers (spiritual or physical) God intended us to be or the clothes we choose to wear (veiling or not!), we should give glory to God through our bodies. I think you would like it and the writing is stunningly beautiful.

    Like

    1. I have not read it!! BUT, if you recommend it…it’s on the list. I am heading over to download a preview (otherwise, it’s lost in the stack of envelopes that I use to keep notes. More organization in 2014!

      +++

      Like

      1. I always put books I want to read on my wish list in Amazon (even if I don’t buy there) so I can keep track of all the recs. It’s a little more theological but a beautiful read filled with amazing quotes.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

