Going back to the beginning

le_poeme_de_lame_-_generation_divine-large
The Poem of the Soul Divine Genesis Anne Francois Louis Janmot

There’s something about the phrase “back to the beginning” for me lately. What does that mean, exactly? The beginning of what? Who wants to go back? Shouldn’t we always be moving forward? Not really. Sometimes to go forward, going back isn’t such a bad place to start. The Prodigal Son went back. What happened there? He was welcomed with open arms. He also had a second chance to do it all over again, right.

Over Christmas, I spent time with my family watching movies. Most were Christmas themed movies, but we also watched others that were just, nostalgic, feel good movies. These movies included quotes to repeat and lines to laugh over. Here’s one that I hadn’t noticed really, until I was in this “back to the beginning” mindset (probably because at the time, we were on heels of the New Year and all that!)

Inigo: I am waiting for you, Vizzini. You told me to go back to the beginning. So I have. This is where I am, and this is where I’ll stay. I will not be moved. (my emphasis)

Brute: But the Prince gave orders –

Inigo: — So did Vizzini — when a job went wrong, you went back to the beginning. And this is where we got the job. So it’s the beginning, and I’m staying till Vizzini comes.

Please tell me you know where this is from. If not, we will have to plan to watch The Princess Bride together sometime.

Replace Vizzini with the Holy Spirit and you’ll see where I’m going with this post.

Corinthians 15:58

Therefore, my beloved, be steadfast, immovable, always excelling in the work of the Lord, because you know that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

So we should be steadfast, immovable. Where do we get that strength from? That bedrock. Yes, from God of course, but let’s get a little out of the box here. Back to the beginning.

Genesis. That’s the easiest beginning, isn’t it? In fact, the very definition of genesis is “the origin or mode of formation of something.” But do you remember Genesis the first time you heard it? When you didn’t know how it would end? What would unfold, be explored, exposed, revived or resurrected? I’m sure there are many who can say they read the first page of of the bible and knew full well, the end.

In life, we don’t have that opportunity of knowing where or how our lives, stories or relationships will end or even begin for that matter. That’s where the Holy Spirit comes in with His nudging and prompting. How a book is set before you, words are spoken, songs are played, or situations – sometimes painful -are thrust upon you. Sometimes it’s not even you’re story He’s writing. Sometimes you’re part of a beautiful patchwork for someone else. To bring them closer.

How can you find the truth of it all? Go back to the beginning.  There’s no shame in starting over. There is certainly no pride in it either. Reflectively retreat into that silence, the well of grace that is God and draw out His replies. Bring our Mother, Mary with you. Turn your ear to hear His heart and what he is trying to say to you. Look to Mary and she will point you in the way you should go.

All of these thoughts arise from my reading Totus Tuus: A Consecration to Jesus Through Mary with Blessed John Paul II. The format of the book suggests daily journal writing, which I can’t say no to certainly. You’re asked to reflect on one word or phrase that speaks to you. This day, given the context of my mind at the time – this jumped out at me and grabbed my face (can you picture it? Like a child, forcing me to look):

Dominum et Vivificantem, 1986

And faith, in its deepest essence, is the openness of the human heart to the gift: to God’s self-communication in the Holy Spirit (51). JPII

Let’s have that deepest essence of faith. Let’s open our human (and therefore imperfect) hearts to the gift of the Trinity. If necessary, wait for It to come.

You won’t be alone. Inigo and I will wait with you.

Anyone making their consecration to Jesus through Mary? Please share your reflections, questions, images, anything. This post will be listed here as well for organizational purposes.

*     *     *

I was just asked to pray for a dear friend’s cousin who passed Friday. Her name was Rosalie (42 years old). She leaves a family (son and daughter in their early teens and husband) behind along with countless friends and extended family.

2 thoughts on “Going back to the beginning

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

