Small Success Thursday Vol. 12: Mary is an early riser!

Small-Success-ThursdayHas it been a week already? I feel like this year is flying by. I was just filling champagne glasses with ginger ale and watching Despicable Me 2 with the kids!  Today is dedicated to the small successes in our lives. Let’s be honest, if we count up our small successes we are more grateful, more full of thanksgiving, easily pointed towards the present moment. I feel it makes it easier for me to hear and see God. Isn’t that a nice space to be in? His space, His gifts, His successes for you?

I am linking this bad boy up over at Catholic Mom, because them’s are the rules (not really).

This week is all about being a little more rigorous in my personal spiritual goals and endeavors. Sounds like a huge chunk to chew on? It can be if you let it. Here’s what’s up:

1. I have committed to some things and I would like to really work at keeping it. This means, keeping a pad by my nightstand to capture any ideas I could have for blog posts, spiritual reflection, research, meditations, emails I should send (like to Father Heaven!) and the like. Granted these are pieces of a box calendar I received from S (I use the backs from the previous day, the front has really great faith reflections and quotes), it seems to be working for now. I think maybe I should get one of these to keep it all together:

il_570xN.522048530_om3y

Here’s what’s on the front of today’s sheet:

photo (2)

2. I am keeping up with my spiritual reading schedule! (for now – always a caveat):

  • I’ve been reading some C.S. Lewis daily
      • I am all caught up on reading “The City of God” by St. Augustine of Hippo – not as daunting as I thought. There’s a Facebook group with a reading plan, don’cha know so it’s very organized.
      • I even added some St. Francis de Sales (because he is the patron saint of this blog, hello!) for his memorial on Jan. 24th, same day as the memorial of Our Lady of Peace – well, that’s not lost on me at all. Once I looked ahead in the calendar and saw these memorials coming up, I had to prioritize and really be more rigorous (there’s that word again) with reading. I hope to post a reflection on these two happenings in the liturgical calendar. I am really excited for that.
      • Reading Holiness for Everyone by Eric Sammons about Arrrrrrrrriba St. Escrrrrrrrrrriva (that’s how Lexicon says it whenever he asks me if I am reading about this great saint). I know that I have St. Luke this year, but I wanted a closer walk with the saints and well…you can read up on how this Saint came over to hang, here.

3. I am consecrating myself to Jesus through Mary again this year! I began this morning and will complete it on February 11, 2014 – the Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes  I am using Totus Tuus : A Consecration to Jesus through Mary by Fr. Brian McMaster. Last year, I read 33 Days to Morning Glory  by Fr. Michael C. Gaitley MIC  and that book bore much fruit, but I wanted to try this one and see what fruit would drop from the heavenly tree.

What’s the success you ask? Well, I, Cristina, the writer of this humble blog, woke up at 6AM to read the first days scripture, reflections and prayers. You read that right. 6AM. For someone who has a difficult time sleeping, this is a huge success. Of course, the bed was warm, comfortable and enveloping even at 6AM when my alarm went off, but I fought the sloth anyway.

Today it asks that I find Mary in my day. To pause and find her. I think it was her who found me and helped me out of bed at 6AM!

What are your small successes this week? Share them here in the comments if you don’t have a blog or head over the CatholicMom to link up!

I leave you with a pretty picture and a prayer – Veni Creator Spiritus –  to reflect upon. Yes, inspired by the consecration. It is prayed each day.

bf482d8f57bd901a0a83d539ce80aaf8 (1)
The coronation of the Virgin Mary [as queen of heaven], 1452, Antonio da Fabiano

Come, Holy Spirit, Creator blest,
and in our souls take up Thy rest; come with Thy grace and heavenly aid to fill the hearts which Thou hast made.

O comforter, to Thee we cry,
O heavenly gift of God Most High, O fount of life and fire of love, and sweet anointing from above.

 Thou in Thy sevenfold gifts are known; Thou, finger of God’s hand we own; Thou, promise of the Father, Thou Who dost the tongue with power imbue.

 Kindle our sense from above,
and make our hearts o’erflow with love; with patience firm and virtue high the weakness of our flesh supply.

Far from us drive the foe we dread,
and grant us Thy peace instead;
so shall we not, with Thee for guide,
turn from the path of life aside.

 Oh, may Thy grace on us bestow
the Father and the Son to know;
and Thee, through endless times confessed,
of both the eternal Spirit blest.

Now to the Father and the Son,
Who rose from death, be glory given,
with Thou, O Holy Comforter,
henceforth by all in earth and heaven.

Amen.

8 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday Vol. 12: Mary is an early riser!

  1. You are just giddy for the Lord aren’t you?

    Hey…I was up around 4:30 am then crawled out of bed at 5:45 am…blissful peace and silence…now I am ready to hit the couch from exhaustion.

    I like the calendar quote you shared…very nice. And reading…wow…you have some extra storage of energy somewhere. I haven’t found mine yet : )

    Much love xoxo

    Like

  2. Cristina, that picture of Jesus and Our Lady is gorgeous! I loved it so much that I made it the background on my laptop! So thank you! Sounds like you’ve been busy reading-I have started a lot of books too that I need to finish, but they’re all so good that I’m trying to read them all at the same time! haha! Speaking of St. Josemaria Escriva, I randomly found one of his books in our house today and opened it to a random spot. I’d never read anything of his before, but it took me about five seconds to realize that he is a very wise man and I should read his books! 😉 haha! So there’s another one added to my stack. 😉
    Blessings!

    Like

    1. This business of adding books after the fact to my list is getting out of hand! I think it’s a good addiction though! St. Josemaría Escrivá is popping up everywhere – that’s not a bad thing either!

      Keep me posted on what you’re reading!
      +++

      Like

  3. I’m also doing a Consecration to Mary this year. We are using the 33 Days to Morning Glory book. It’s small, yes, but it seems to be just the right amount for me. I’m loving it! We’ll (as a parish) be doing our consecration on February 2.
    Happy Reading! (and here I thought I was trying to read too many books at once)

    God Bless!

    Like

    1. I keep telling myself I have a whole year to read “The City of God”, “Totus Tuus” in 33 days, “Holiness for Everyone – at my pace, as well as, wait. Where’s that list?! See why I need them!

      Found it! De Sales by 1/23… Whew. Thank you list!

      I look forward to your reflections! How wonderful to do this with your parish! Is a priest moderating at all?

      Interesting!

      Like

      1. There actually isn’t a priest moderating. We’re all doing it on our own, but “together” in the sense that there is a group of us doing it. I think they will be doing a little special something at the Mass on Feb 2 for those that completeted it.
        Although, I some times wish they would have a discussion time. I like hearing discussions on “church topics” it helps me to process them better, especially being a relatively new Catholic.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

