Book Review and Giveaway: The Last Secret of Fatima

Giveaway ENDED. Terry of 8kidsandabusiness won. Please contact me to work out the details!

Where to begin? This is my first foray into the Apparition of Fatima. Sure, I pray the Fatima prayer when I pray the rosary, but did you know that it came from this apparition? Specifically from the little children who say:

Poor Holy Father. We have to pray a lot for him – Jacincta

I pray a lot for sinners so they won’t cause the Pope to suffer too much – Francisco

I was most taken by the innocence of the children in this book. While the world was concerned about the fascination of secrets and reading between the lines of the apparition and alleged Vatican cover up, these children (who are Blesseds) especially Sister Lucia were concerned with the message:

After all, it is the call to conversion, prayer and penance issued by Our Lord’s Mother herself. The Fatima message is saturated with the Gospel.

Indeed, Bertone weaves the message, implications, timeline, history and mystery in such a way that I could not put it down! Not even in the bath.

That's being read and flagged in the tub!
That’s being read and flagged in the tub! See the water?!

Because this book is incredibly rich (and one pass really doesn’t do it justice) I would like to reflect on one part that has made the largest impression on me. This impression, to me, was so bright, I was surprised because of it’s loose attachment to the Fatima message and chronicle

Enter – A Prayer in the Blue Mosque. Perhaps this is most interesting for me to reflect upon because I am a relatively new Catholic, perhaps it’s the wisdom and deep compassion of His Holiness Benedict XVI, Supreme Pontiff Emeritus. When asked if Cardinal Bertone prayed in the mosque as his (at the time) Pontifical counterpart had, his response:

Of course. Don’t forget that we are in a historic house of prayer, where millions of people have prayed and continue to bring their supplications to the God who is light. Among the many names of God in Islamic theology, this is the one that struck me the most. The calligraphic inscriptions that adorn the walls of the Blue Mosque (some of which were executed by the sultans themselves) proclaim that God is light, and that he is almighty, compassionate, And merciful. Surrounded by such an invitation to praise god’s perfections, perfections that Catholic theology confesses in its own way, why shouldn’t one pray? It was impossible not to lift one’s heart toward the God of Our Lord Jesus Christ and to ask him to help men of goodwill carry out the great work of building a new world on the foundation of peace. IN all of his speeches and meetings in Turkey, Pope Benedict constantly emphasized the word “peace”.

Perhaps it’s because I am still learning of our recent Papal history, documentation and splashes into the very public (and often scary) politically charged society. For me, this book taught me about more than just than history of apparitions, more than the loving and directly honest nature of Sister Lucia and her conversations with Cardinal Bertone. Still, infinitely more than (soon to be) St. John Paul II and the direct effect this had on Russia as well as his life. I learned about the basics, and they were brought more vividly to me in the smaller parts like this Blue Mosque and the children, begging and imploring through its pages adhere to Our Lady’s request of prayer, penance and conversion. I can’t recommend this book enough. I am almost, now, sad to part with it.

Enter to win a copy of this book by commenting with your reflection below. The winner can let me know if they would like to keep my flags (see above), color coded – you’ll learn about that when the winner is announced or if I should remove them.

Here’s a reference for you from the Vatican archives for this monumental visit reflected upon above by His Holiness Benedict XVI, Supreme Pontiff Emeritus as well as a detail (read part) picture of the mosque.

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.

BloggingForBooks-RankThisReview-120x60

O my Jesus, forgive us our sins. Save us from the fires of hell. Lead all souls to Heaven, especially those in most need of Thy mercy.

12 thoughts on “Book Review and Giveaway: The Last Secret of Fatima

  1. This has always been such an interesting and compelling revelation. I really enjoyed your review! Now I will have to put it on my “to read” list! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. No matter how many books/encyclicals/documents are written, and no matter how many apparitions there are, the message is always the same: prayer, penance, conversion – the three pillars. I would love to win this book!

    Like

    1. Hi Terry,

      My step-daughter chose (soon to be saint) Pope John Paul II this year as her saint. Given the connection with JPII and Fatima, I asked her to pick the winner! She randomly chose, you! Please send me your address as well as preference – with my color coordinated tab fantastic-ness or without – entirely up to you.
      Congrats again!
      Cristina

      Like

  3. It was the story of Fatima on DVD, narrated by Ricardo Montalban, that put me over the top. I always had one foot in the door, but after that, forget it. Full blown, back home!

    Lately, in the am, when I attempt my morning offering, The Fatima prayer comes instead. I always think to myself, “Wow, this must be very important right now.”

    I would love to have it, if it’s God’s will.

    Like

  4. Fatima will always be the most intriguing and important apparition our Lady has had. We must continue to pray for the consecration, the conversions and for souls to be saved. This should be our focus and pray to our dear Lord. I’m very interested in reading this book. The Cardinal’s life is one of longevity, intrigue and speculation. His autobiography would be a top seller as someone who was in the upper echelon of power and saw it all up front and personal. Thank you for offering to give it away! Please consider me!
    Blessed New Year!

    Like

  5. I remember seeing a film about the “Fatima” story. It was an older film made in the early 50’s I believe. Now I don’t remember much about the film, but I think it was sanctioned by the Vatican and essentially accurate in the depiction of what occurred.

    Lee
    A Faraway View
    An A to Z Co-host blog

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

