Moments of Grace Vol. 26 Can I walk with the Saints?

Miracle Man of Montreal St. André Bessette

Collect from the Memorial of St. André Bessette

Lord our God,
friend of the lowly,
who gave your servant, Saint André Bessette,
a great devotion to Saint Joseph
and a special commitment to the poor and afflicted,
help us through his intercession
to follow his example of prayer and love
and so come to share with him in your glory.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,
who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.
Amen.

With a new year comes some change and it will be no different in the bloggy-verse. Jenny at Plain Grace has refined these glimpses into our lives and re-framed them. They are now called Moments of Grace. She feels this new name better conveys what we are expressing and I quite agree with her. Why don’t you join us and share the moments of grace in your week?

“It is with the smallest brushes that the artist paints the most exquisitely beautiful pictures,” said St. André Bessette.

day_planner2

Gratitude
::Time to reflect
::Keeping commitments
::Prayers in the dark
::Board games
::Shutting down

Praying
::From here:
::::for those that have asked me to
::::for those who are afraid to ask
::::for those who are too sad to ask
::for all of you who visit
::for vocations to the priesthood and religious life (my little Poor Clare friend)
::for RCIA candidates all over
::for third order postulants, novitiates and lifelong members 
::my Lay Dominican (real life and online) communities
::that the bad dreams go away – lately clutching my rosary under my pillow helps. I use the humble one I got from the Franciscan Sisters T.O.R. of Penance of the Sorrowful Mother. Knowing that these women religious pushed the beads on to the thread comforts me.

Thinking and Reflecting
I’ve been thinking that I need to learn more about our wonderful saints. A lot of us went through the process of getting chosen my a saint this year using Jennifer Fulwiler’s Saint Name Generator. But I want a more intimate walk with our saints. More than just an overarching theme to my year. I want a tighter pressing on my senses by saints. I made a list in the middle of the night, one side had the months of the year and the other was meant to fill in the names of saints I thought I should learn about. First name, St. Josemaria Escriva. Why? Because as I was reading my Navarre St. Luke Bible Texts and Commentaries (he chose me for 2014), look at what I came upon:

I dream – and the dream has come true – of multitudes of God’s children, sanctifying themselves as ordinary citizens, sharing the ambitions and endeavors of their colleagues and friends. I want to shout aloud to them this divine truth: if you are there in the middle of ordinary life, it doesn’t mean Christ has forgotten about you or hasn’t called you. He has invited you to stay among the activities and concerns of the world. He wants you to know that your human vocation, your profession, your talents, are not outside his divine plans. He has sanctified them and made them a most pleasing offering to his Father. Christ is Passing By, 20

Whoa. Please Sir, can I have some more!

Then I wrote the name St. Teresa of Avila and thought, wait! Let’s have all of the saints choose me. I don’t have the entire list for you hear my dears. I left my journal at home. I know. Perhaps I wasn’t to share the whole list with you yet. BUT…don’t go! When I hopped over to the generator, I prayed that I would be chosen by the saint I needed to learn from the most. Right now. At 2AM on Sunday morning. Can you guess who I got?

Saint Josemaría Escrivá

I am not even joking. I wanted to learn about him and I guess he felt the same way. I got a book I know, I know another book and immediately set out to read Holiness for Everyone by Eric Sammons with a foreward by Scott Hahn. As I came to the end of the first chapter last night, it asked that I read the fifth chapter of the Lumen Gentium by Pope Paul VI (1964) and specifically reflect on the following:

Thus it is evident to everyone, that all the faithful of Christ of whatever rank or status, are called to the fullness of the Christian life and to the perfection of charity;
(Lumen Gentium 40)

We are all called to holiness, not just priests, deacons, clergy and religious. All of us.

Be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” (CCC #2013)

I would sure like to try. Not to be perfect, but holy. What is holy?

holy-hl-adjective-1

Don’t you want to try? Aren’t you inspired to? I challenge you to head over and allow saints to pick you. I won’t keep tabs. They will. When situations are presented in your life that need solving, understanding, holding and keeping, let them hold your left hand as God holds your right.

Hearing
In Medio Ecclesiae from The Dominican House of Studies singing Ubi Caritas. Just beautiful.

Cooking
Last night I made herbed (baked) porkchops, bell pepper stir-fry over baked potatoes. Quite delicious.

Homing & Making
Lexicon and I made some rainbow loom bracelets. We spent all day Saturday doing these together. I just found out that one of his classmates stole the one we spent the most time making. Please pray that he gets it back. His little heart is broken.

How about instead of Around the Web, this week we do Around the Blog?
Here’s what’s coming up (where applicable, I’ve listed the last post for each – just to bring us all to the same page – there are a lot of new readers – – welcome, thank you and God bless you – –

Tuesday: Dominican fantastic-ness (I present Thursday and want some time to edit, view it printed, etc)
Wednesday: The Last Secret of Fatima by Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone book review <– link to the last book review I did
Thursday: #SmallSuccess Thursdays
Friday: #7QT (or 7 Quick Takes)
Saturday: Our time for Prayer I know this keeps moving. I want to find the right home for it. Since we venerate Mary on Saturdays, I think this will be its permanent spot. Don’t you agree?
Sunday: The Lord’s Day. I will not tweet, share, write, respond, text, blog, nothing. I did it this weekend and it was really powerful. I enjoyed going dark over vacation and wanted to keep that weekly. I will reflect on that here very soon.

Captured
Look at who I found in the chapel where I pray. I’ve always seen this there. It’s not new. But the connection was made, now tell me…is this St. Dominic?! More to come from this experience soon.

010

Please don’t forget to share or add your name to be prayed for a new prayer ministry for women and men who have had irreparable procedures that impede them from having children of their own – like me.

:::And because we all need it:::

St. Therese, pray for us!
St. Josemaría Escrivá, pray for us!
St. André Bessette, pray for us!
St. Maximillian Kolbe, pray for us!
St. Dymphna, pray for us!
St. Dominic, pray for us!
St. Monica, pray for us!
St. Albert the Great, pray for us!
St. Augustine, pray for us!
St. Michael the Archangel, pray for us!
St. Joseph, pray for us!
St. Paul, pray for us!
Mary, Undoer of Knots, pray for us!
Mary, Mother of God, pray for us!
St. Joseph, pray for us!
Elizabeth Leseur, Servant of God, pray for us!

All you Saints, Blesseds and Servants of God, pray for us!

Agape,
Cristina

12 thoughts on “Moments of Grace Vol. 26 Can I walk with the Saints?

  1. Cristina, I love this post! The saint that chose me to be the patron saint of my blog this year was St. Agostina, who was a nurse. I was inspired by your Jose Maria Escriva to ask for another saint along with St. Agostina, and the saint who came up was St. Valentine! I thought I knew about him, but when I clicked on the “learn more” button, I saw that he was physician (something I’d forgotten.) And since I think my vocation is nursing, its really cool that now I have a nurse and a physician watching over me! Have a peaceful day.

    Like

  2. You just write right from the soul and I love it. How awesome that St. Josemaria came up…the Navarre Bible ROCK! I have John, Matthew and the Psalms and I love the meditations in there from St. Josemaria. I especially am inspired by the one you share with us above.

    So much brewing…I am looking forward to it all.

    (Thanks for prayers…I fall under the *too sad to ask* category right now.)

    Like

  3. I have always loved the Saints. I remember during RCIA the Dominican Friar, Fr. Peter, O.P. taught that the Saints are ‘pathways for which we can reach God’. I shall never forget that.

    Like

      1. They most likely will not come forward, but either be like a gentle breeze or like a brick wall that appears out of no where. God tends to do more of the brick wall (it is a good thing, I promise!).

        Like

  4. I clutch at my Rosary, too, when I am afraid and can’t sleep. Then I pray the Rosary and somehow, my mind gets clearer, my heart quieter, and I am not so afraid anymore. Our Blessed Mother does intercede.

    Thank you for your insights; they are worth reading and re-reading. They’re a blessing.

    Like

    1. Thank you Marcia – what a super nice thing to read before tea this morning.

      I clutched my rosary last night with both hands. Still not sleeping well.

      Not letting it get the best of me though!
      +++
      Cristina

      Like

  5. St Josemaria Escrive picked me this year. I think he and I will have a great year. Ah, I have spent many nights clutching my rosary as if it were my lifeline in the long night. I remember the bad dreams as I grew closer to Our Lord. I still have them sometimes when something is about to change.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

