The rest is still unwritten

msm944f75vOk, I know the title of this post is a song. I know it’s an earworm of a song. I am working tight on time this first day of the new year because I wanted to say hello, but keep my last day of vacation before work, snuggling on the couch with my main squeeze.

I do have a couple of announcements:

My saint for 2014? St. Luke the Evangelist! What? Oh yeah. Even though this is St. Matthew’s year, I think it’s great to keep St. Luke close to my heart. What’s close to my heart? Evangelization. Almost every post on this blog is tagged as such. In fact, it was evangelization that mustered up the courage to write my very first word in May of 2013.

When St. Luke appeared on the screen, I wondered how it would relate to the word I am using for 2014, to name it. Then, I read this:

Only in Luke’s gospel do we hear Mary ‘s Magnificat where she proclaims that God “has brought down the powerful from their thrones, and lifted up the lowly; he has filled the hungry with good things, and sent the rich away empty” (Luke 1:52-53).

Luke also has a special connection with the women in Jesus’ life, especially Mary. It is only in Luke’s gospel that we hear the story of the Annunciation, Mary’s visit to Elizabeth including the Magnificat, the Presentation, and the story of Jesus’ disappearance in Jerusalem. It is Luke that we have to thank for the Scriptural parts of the Hail Mary: “Hail Mary full of grace” spoken at the Annunciation and “Blessed are you and blessed is the fruit of your womb Jesus” spoken by her cousin Elizabeth.

Forgiveness and God’s mercy to sinners is also of first importance to Luke. Only in Luke do we hear the story of the Prodigal Son welcomed back by the overjoyed father. Only in Luke do we hear the story of the forgiven woman disrupting the feast by washing Jesus’ feet with her tears. Throughout Luke’s gospel, Jesus takes the side of the sinner who wants to return to God’s mercy.

Reading Luke’s gospel gives a good idea of his character as one who loved the poor, who wanted the door to God’s kingdom opened to all, who respected women, and who saw hope in God’s mercy for everyone.

  • Mary? Check.
  • Magnificat? Check.
  • My favorite verse in the Magnificat? has brought down the powerful from their thrones, and lifted up the lowly; he has filled the hungry with good things, and sent the rich away empty” (Luke 1:52-53)? Check!
  • The door to God’s kingdom opened to all? Check!
  • Where the Hail Mary is from? Come on…total Check!

Second announcement, my word for this year, as you know is agape. This is a different love than other more common, romantical (love that made up word) love. I think this is one of the more deliberate types of love as it is the love for your fellow Christian.

agape-2-gp-gp-n-1

I intend to read C.S. Lewis, “The Four Loves”The Navarre Bible: St Luke’s Gospel and of course, Acts to familiarize me more with this Apostle, Saint and master evangelizer. I am sure that throughout the year, I will stumble upon other books and commentaries – these are just to start. In this morning’s homily for the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God , our new priest emphasized Christmas taking place everyday, with us bearing Christ in every act of humility, kindness, forgiveness and love – or agape. Isn’t this a great way to keep the season of Christmas in my heart?

In the meantime, the Lord will help me learn about St. Luke through situations, surprises and …. well, it’s all still unwritten, isn’t it?

Happy New Year!

Head over to Plain Grace and link up with your name for the New Year (and if you don’t have one yet, let’s pray one shows up at your feet, you know, the Holy Spirit way!)

22 thoughts on “The rest is still unwritten

  1. St. Luke!! Awesome and how perfect for you. I just love it. My pastor mentioned the title of your post in his homily last night…too funny.

    Looking forward to learning more about the true meaning of *agape*.

    Like

    1. Hola mama!

      I can’t wait to tell you all about agape! I feel like as it unfolds is where the sweet spot of this word will reveal itself to me. By this time next year…what will I have learned, shared and discerned?!

      And your word?!? Just wait … Comments are a brewin’ here!

      Happy New Year!
      Cristina

      Like

  2. I loved reading The Four Loves by CS Lewis! There’s an audio version, though abridged, it’s read by Lewis. Definitely one of my favorite books. Looking forward to sharing in your “agape” year – found your blog just in time.
    Pax Christi
    a fellow Christina

    Like

    1. Hi Christina!

      Welcome to my little corner of the web by web. I would love to have your perspective and commentary on the book and if you can point me to the audio?!! I would love to hear it.

      God bless you,
      Cristina

      Like

      1. Lewis’s reading from The Four Loves is from a BBC radio broadcast and is available on Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/The-Four-Loves-C-S-Lewis/dp/0849963729/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388682883&sr=8-1&keywords=the+four+loves+audiobook
        It’s been a while… If you do take it up, I’ll listen to it again so I can better share. He is so very British, which makes it a delightful “hear”. What’s great is that he uses everyday examples, humor and common imagery/feelings to help us better understand philia, storge (first time I had heard of it) eros, and agape.

        Like

      2. Wonderful! That would be great! It’s on my wishlist so that means, next paycheck – it’s mine! Mwahahaha…would love to do it together and we can discuss. Thank you for offering 🙂 Can’t deny a good British accent either.

        Like

    1. I always try to listen … I think it’s all the time I spent alone during my initial conversion. Mornings on my patio (early mornings) thinking about God and reading my bible. I could go on and on. I loved that time.

      Thank you, friend.

      Agape,
      Cristina

      Like

  3. Hi Emily,

    Here’s the resource:
    http://www.usccb.org/bible/liturgy/

    Specifically this section from the above site:

    How is the Lectionary arranged?
    The Lectionary is arranged in two cycles, one for Sundays and one for weekdays.

    The Sunday cycle is divided into three years, labeled A, B, and C. 2008 was Year A. 2009 was Year B, 2010 is Year C, etc. In Year A, we read mostly from the Gospel of Matthew. In Year B, we read the Gospel of Mark and chapter 6 of the Gospel of John. In Year C, we read the Gospel of Luke. The Gospel of John is read during the Easter season in all three years. The first reading, usually from the Old Testament, reflects important themes from the Gospel reading. The second reading is usually from one of the epistles, a letter written to an early church community. These letters are read semi-continuously. Each Sunday, we pick up close to where we left off the Sunday before, though some passages are never read.

    The weekday cycle is divided into two years, Year I and Year II. Year I is read in odd-numbered years (2009, 2011, etc.) and Year II is used in even-numbered years (2010, 2012, etc.) The Gospels for both years are the same. During the year, the Gospels are read semi-continuously, beginning with Mark, then moving on to Matthew and Luke. The Gospel of John is read during the Easter season. For Advent, Christmas, and Lent, readings are chosen that are appropriate to the season. The first reading on weekdays may be taken from the Old or the New Testament. Typically, a single book is read semi-continuously (i.e., some passages are not read) until it is finished and then a new book is started.

    I would suggest always starting with this site as a resource. I hope you and your family are having a wonderful start to the new year.

    Praying for you,
    Cristina

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

