Our Time for Prayer with St. Lucy, Virgin and Martyr

LuciaAccording to CatholicCulture.org, here’s some information about this Virgin and Martyr

Patron: against hemorraghes; authors; blind people; blindness; cutlers; dysentery; eye disease; eye problems; glaziers; hemorraghes; laborers; martyrs; peasants; Perugia, Italy; saddlers; salesmen; stained glass workers; Syracuse, Sicily; throat infections; writers.

Symbols: Lamp; dagger; three crowns; cauldron; two oxen; stake and fagots; cup; sword through his neck; poniard; ropes; eye held in pincers; awl; cord; eyes on a dish or book; swords.
Often Portrayed As: Woman hitched to a yoke of oxen; woman in the company of Saint Agatha, Saint Agnes of Rome, Barbara, Catherine of Alexandria, and Saint Thecla; woman kneeling before the tomb of Saint Agatha.

Now let’s pray a special prayer asking for St. Lucy’s intercession

Saint Lucy, you did not hide your light under a basket,
but let it shine for the whole world,
for all the centuries to see.
We may not suffer torture in our lives the way you did,

but we are still called to let the light of our Christianity
illumine our daily lives.
Please help us to have the courage
to bring our Christianity into our work, our recreation, our relationships, our conversation
every corner of our day.

Amen

I hope you enjoy the new day we set aside for prayers. Fridays. My favorite mysteries are the Sorrowful Mysteries. Today though, in preparation for Advent, I would like to gently turn my focus on His birth. I hope you don’t mind.

The Nativity Lorenzo Monaco (Piero di Giovanni) (Italian, Florence (?) ca. 1370–1425 Florence (?))
The Nativity
Lorenzo Monaco (Piero di Giovanni) (Italian, Florence (?) ca. 1370–1425 Florence (?))

 Please leave your prayer request below. If you do not leave your prayer request in time for my hour of Adoration, not to worry, I’m praying for you anyway.

Pax.

 

5 thoughts on “Our Time for Prayer with St. Lucy, Virgin and Martyr

  1. Hello, Cristina! I love St. Lucy and the prayer that you shared today. My family is moving tomorrow, so I would appreciate prayers for clear weather and a successful and PEACEFUL moving day without anybody getting on each other’s nerves too much. hehe! Thank you! I will keep your intentions in my prayers as well.

    Like

  2. Hi. Cristina,
    It’s only now that I know that St. Lucy is also the saint of salesmen. I’m also a salesmen. Please help me pray to her that I will be successful in my sales business, I need to pay all my financial debts. Thank you.
    Malou

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

