Second Sunday of Advent: Sweet Gifts #VeilProject

I wore a skirt and blouse, with a cardigan and heels to offset the beautiful litugically, purple eternity veil that I received from Liturgical Time. I felt so serene walking into mass. I can barely describe it. My face felt aglow and I didn’t even notice that my feet hurt. When we opened the doors to the church, we were asked if we wanted to present the gifts. Of course! We sat in the specially marked pew and I handed out my little rosaries for them to pray with. I took out my St. Dominic rosary from Tiffany. I pray it when I want to feel weight behind my prayers. She prayed with them for a while before she gave them to me, which makes them take on a very mystical quality indeed. They are always in my pocket and I feel around for them when I am nervous, much like Bilbo and his precious ring.

During mass, I nudged Little Monk and Lexicon to keep their hands folded during prayer times and grabbed Little Monk’s hand as I followed along with the readings in the Magnificat. He can’t read the words, but he can recognize sight words like “the, and, to, little, Pam and cat”. ย During the reading, this caught my attention and I knew I was being spoken to:

Romans 15:4

Whatever was written previously was written for our instruction,
that by endurance and by the encouragement of the Scriptures
we might have hope.

I have been reading more scripture this Advent with my Magnificat Advent Companion (and the usual ย – but never really – Liturgy of the Hours). Recently, I was prompted to read the book of Job during adoration as a comfort to me in my struggles. I have what I need in His word. Thank you Lord for putting it so firmly on my heart to read what you have left me, that I might not be alone.

During the homily, our priest spoke of the Sacrament of Reconciliation. The second graders made their first confessions just the day before. He tied it to the Gospel reading for this week:

Matthew 3:3

Prepare the way of the Lord,
make straight his paths.

I instantly knew that God was calling me to confession. I like going to confession, but I haven’t been. It has nothing to do with lack of desire or need. Not wanting to make waves, I always tell myself I will go next, week. Next week comes and, well, you know. Not yesterday. I was in a veil and in heels! It was happening. I am getting ahead of myself…

The gifts.

I walked down the aisle with my family as if God himself were holding my hand. I was smiling and happy. Joyous and peaceful. So much so, that I didn’t even notice anyone looking at me like I was odd for wearing something I hadn’t before (so noticeably anyway – I have been veiling for about a month now). Everyone smiled back, that I could see anyway. I felt as light and as airy as the lace surrounding my head.

#VeilProject and Tattoos :)
#VeilProject and Tattoos ๐Ÿ™‚

The rest of mass was glorious. Afterwards, I flitted about like a butterfly, kissing everyone sweetly because I found their nectar so alluring. There is nothing like that fresh out of mass smell! I made confession with Lexicon and we prepared ourselves for the coming of the Lord.

If you haven’t, please head over to Silver Hill Treasures.ย One lucky winner will receive this authentic Spanish Medallion mantilla in the color of her choice. Enter through December 12th, or as I know it, Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe!

Please link up over at Life of a Catholic Librarian where we will be sharing our Second Sunday in Advent reflections for the #VeilProject. I hope to see you there.

Pax

6 thoughts on “Second Sunday of Advent: Sweet Gifts #VeilProject

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

