Our Time for Prayer with St. Cecilia, Virgin and Martyr

2004-9-21-pic-2

As a singer, I should love St. Cecilia as she is the patron saint of musicians. However, I love her for more than that. 

She was a road for the blind by giving good example, a heaven through her continual contemplation, and a worker for heaven by her application to good works. 

Read the account from The Golden Legend by Jacob Voragine about the life and death of St. Cecilia. It’s really quite amazing.

Now let’s pray this prayer to St. Cecilia

O glorious saint, who chose to die instead of denying your King, we pray you please to help us as His fair praise we sing. We lift our hearts in joyous song to honor Him this way. And while we sing, remembering, to sing is to doubly pray.

At once in our hearts and in our tongues we offer double prayer sent heavenward on winged notes to praise God dwelling there. While in our hearts and tongues we try with song to praise God twice, we ask dear saint, to help us be united close to Christ! Amen.

Dear St. Cecilia, one thing we know for certain about you is that you became a heroic martyr in fidelity to your divine Bridegroom. We do not know that you were a musician, but we are told that you heard Angels sing.

Inspire musicians to gladden the hearts of people by filling the air with God’s gift of music and reminding them of the divine Musician who created all beauty. Amen.

Lord, hear our requests. Through the intercession of St. Cecilia, please grant what we ask. Amen.

I hope you enjoy the new day we set aside for prayers. Fridays. My favorite mysteries are the Sorrowful Mysteries. It reminds me that if Jesus can get through His agony, scourging, crowning with thorns, His carrying of the cross and crucifixion – we can get through anything. There’s strength in that.

Please leave your prayer request below. 

9 thoughts on “Our Time for Prayer with St. Cecilia, Virgin and Martyr

    1. I agree. That’s why I chose that one over the more common one of her with a lute. I’m sure readers thought that the musician in me would choose that too.

      Guess it’s a subliminal signal of where I align with this great martyr!

      Like

      1. Actually crazy enough I never saw the other one you speak of, I have always seen the one you posted with the entry. Then again I have only been Catholic since 2009.

        Like

      2. Really?! I did not know that. And yes, Santa should get that for us and framed…heck, I will even take a miniature version of the piece to have in my house. It can sit next to my St. Dominic Statue.

        Like

      3. Oh wow, congrats wow you are a baby LOL. (That is what one of the Dominicans Friars called me.) I would love to own statues of Blessed Jordan of Saxony and Blessed Diana D’Andalo…oh and Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati

        Like

      4. Same, though I have been told one time that I seem more cradled than cradles…I do not believe that. And for the first two I listed they are my Dominican Laity Patrons (My religious name in the Laity is Diana Jordan).

        Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

