Small Success Thursday Vol. 6: Bucket Lists, Books and Balance

This week is speeding by so quickly – then Thanksgiving. Can you believe it? I worked very hard at remaining present to all of God’s nudges this week. Good thing too, because, as luck would have it, Sherry over at Catholic Mom is asking us to “share how God pulled you outward toward others, toward Him.  We’re not called to live in a comfort zone, but to be a person of comfort to others”. With that in mind, here is my #SmallSuccess list.

Small-Success-Thursday

  1. We finally put the finishing touches on the #VeilProject communication to the veil-makers for our giveaways. If you have absolutely no idea what I am going on about, Tiff, Em and I have teamed up to encourage other women to try wearing a veil to mass. We lovingly called it The Advent Veiling Linkup Project. Tiff is hosting a linkup starting on Dec 1, Em was in charge of drumming up some giveaways (marketing machine that she is) and I created spreadsheets to keep us organized and contacted the veil-makers. We’re going to be promoting 5 giveaways of veils from some really great businesswomen and will be promoting on our blogs throughout Advent. We thought it would be a great way to see how women felt about veiling, or if they’ve never considered it, they would hear from others and discern if it was something they’d like to try this Advent! Considering that all three of us are pretty busy with work, family, cooking, Christmas knitting, blogging, stalking favorite rosaries and veils online, and children, this is a little bigger than a small success!
  2. I completed my first book review for Image Catholic Books. The book I reviewed was none other than Teresa Tomeo’s “God’s Bucket List”. This isn’t a book I can keep to myself – so I am giving it away! Comment on this post to try and win it yourself. You won’t want to miss out on reading this regardless. If you’re so inclined, please rate my review here, this way I can increase my ranking to get a wider selection of books to review for you (and giveaway!) My review, thus far has received some special comments from people I’ve never met or heard from ever saying that it touched their hearts and it was what they needed to read. It melted me like butter on toast to hear. I am so glad I could cast a net and catch just one fish. Total success.  I wasn’t going to share this either, but – one of my deepest, secret, bucket list items has just been crossed off. My husband is sending me on a Catholic pilgrimage to Italy with my parish for 12 days in May. Mass with the Pope, visiting Assisi, Rome, Florence, Orvieto, Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast – daily mass, Eucharistic Miracle of Lanciano, St. Paul’s, St. Padre Pio, Sistene Chapel and then all of the Classical sites too. If that’s not serious bucket list stuff…I’m going with my Deacon. You know, the Godfather of my boys, Deacon TC, and Fr. J!!! When my husband told me, I had just finished this book. I can’t stop thinking about the connection. Man, I tell ya!
  3. I’ve decided to take my health into my own hands. I haven’t really shared this with you, but I’ve not been well. Granted, things can be worse, but there’s a bit of suffering here all of which I am offering up in prayer. I left a voice mail with my doctor yesterday (more like a soliloquy) about why at 35 years old I shouldn’t be on 6 different prescription medications! It seems, the one I needed created so many other side effects that more medicines to counteract needed to be prescribed. I am now in a tornado of side effects and medicine. I definitely feel like a house has been dropped on me. Honestly, after reading this on CatholicMom (thank you), I realized that what I’d been feeling was right. I need to wean and get back to basics. While this may not be right for everyone, I know that I always do better when I take the time to care for myself instead of looking to medicine to make it better. I am grateful for having health insurance, and even more grateful that I have it for my children. However, there’s something, for me, to be said for trying to get 8 hours of sleep, unplugging for real prayer, eating more fruits, veggies, whole grains and lean meats, exercising and getting the right combination of supplements. It’s going to take some time for me to start feeling better, but I can’t keep sidelining it. Pray for me won’t you? This is a success for me because I always think of myself last and delegate my health to others because it’s easier/quicker to. Doesn’t mean it’s better. Am I alone here? Tell me that I’m not!
If she can balance it, so can we! Happy Memorial of the Presentation of Mary. Thank God for this woman…

Head on over to the Small Success post at CatholicMom.com to link up

What are you’re successes this week? I know you have some! Leave a comment here or blog about it and link up!

Have a peaceful Thursday.

16 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday Vol. 6: Bucket Lists, Books and Balance

    1. Thank you Sir William…may I call you that?
      I am working on it, I promise you. More warm milk and less anti-anxiety medicine (shhh don’t tell anyone) 🙂

      Like

  1. Good for you for taking control of your health! I hope and pray that you find something that works better for you and you start feeling great again!

    Like

    1. Of course, of course! While I’m considered an M.D. by my boys, I know that consulting my Dr. is always the best decision. We’ve talked about going down different paths and he said for me to call if ever I couldn’t deal with the side effects. No sleep, severe acid reflux, migraines and a few other side effects that I just don’t think I can juggle anymore! Thanks for looking out FranciscanMom!!! 🙂

      Like

  2. Cristina…your posts are always so well thought out…I give you credit : )

    Well, ’nuff said about your wonderful husband…wow!

    Advent is going to be awesome this year girl!

    Yes…please keep us posted on your health if you feel led to…maybe I will email you about that too : )

    Like

    1. Can I just say it again. I heart you.

      Please email me! I haven’t responded yet, but it doesn’t mean I’m not talking to you when I pray.

      Advent is going to be incredible!
      Can’t wait to do this with you…
      The husband, surprises me. Every time. And yes, lets talk health history!

      xo

      Like

  3. As I said before, I am very excited about the veil project, actually figured out how to use my infinity scarf as a veil. That made me very happy. (Added bonus it stays on my head!)

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

