Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 21

CWA Time people!!! One of my favorite days of the week around here (I love Sundays too) Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2Gratitude
::Growth. My own growth – and thankful to God for making it so.
::Picking up where I left off.
::Answered prayers about my boys and possibility
::A day of rest. Knitting, tea, Dominican chant, reading…ahhhh.
::Friends (Theresa, I’m looking at you) who take the time to share with me.
::The strong need to go to Adoration each week.

Praying
::Please pray for my Suscipio sister, Angela. She was just diagnosed with cancer. These are the times I wish I lived closer to people. Then I’d be moving a lot.
::Please pray for a long time friend, back in my life, E. She has a tumor near the front stem of her brain. Looks benign, but please pray for her healing. Surgery is in December to have it removed.
::Special intentions. I am praying a whopper of a novena. The 54 day grande dame novena, in fact called the Rosary Novena to Our Lady. I am doing this with my friend Tiffany. We also are choosing an hour each week to spend before our Lord in adoration. Last time I had a migraine, this time, I cried. I guess that’s better??
::My friends, especially Pickles, S and the ladies over at Suscipio and Catholic Mom Cafe.
::Those in the pews who struggle in their faith, are atheists, or who have fallen asleep.
::My husband. Why? Because I love him.

Thinking and Reflecting
I am reflecting on my meekness. On my patience in all things. On realizing that I may think I’m patient, but I’m not. This came to mind:

How weighty to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!
I try to count them—they are more than the sand;
I come to the end—I am still with you.
Psalm 139:17-18

My patience path is as long as the many grains of sand on a beach. Because I am among the grains of sand, I can get consumed by the weight of them, but with God’s loving expanse and panoramic view of me, you, the world even, we have quite a ways to go. Or at least I do.

Reading
  • The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis I can’t recommend this enough. This is my second time reading it.
  • I am always in my Christian Prayer book for the Liturgy of the Hours.

Hearing
I love this. It’s The Beatitudes Sung by Nóirín Ní Riain & the monks of Glenstal Abbey. Absolutely beautiful. Please listen to is. It’s only about 3 minutes.

Cooking
Tonight it’s cinnamon crumb muffins for a pot luck tomorrow at work. I was supposed to make carrot cake cupcakes, but as always, I think I have more time than I actually do.

Homing & Making
I finished that scarf for Gabriel and am now on a scarf for Alex. I am trying the double seeded stitch. Bad idea. You have to pay attention to do it. I keep forgetting my place. Now the scarf has two different patterns. Looks like th double seed stitch is getting eaten by what I now dub the “crazy stitch”.

photo (2)

I didn’t make this, Lexicon did, but I had to share it. It’s a rosary! He made this at school. 

020

Here’s Little Monk’s scarf. He loves it…but it’s a little itchy.

028

Around the Web
::A cute knit and crochet community called Ravelry.com Ever been?
::I visited this blogger. A Woman’s Place … head over. I think you’ll like it. I know I did. I wish I lived near her too.
::I spent time on this blog too (you’ll see a comment from me if you look hard enough) My new love, Lectio Divina. Read about Lectio-to-go on A Cloistered Heart

Captured
We got some sweet treats from Em-and-the-gang this weekend and a Dominican themed rosary with some knits-n-stuffs from Tiff at the end of what was a spiritually brutal week. They are a thoughtful couple of gals.

stuff
You know this had to show up on my screen just as the Advent #VeilProject is underway. Go #TeamVeil! We are finalizing the details of all FIVE giveaways. Yes, five. Apparently, veils are takin’ova.

016

Tonight is #RCIA – pray for conversion and to the Holy Spirit!

16 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 21

  1. Listening to the lovely music as I comment : )

    I am glad I didn’t scare you away with my words LOL!

    Wore a scarf this week as I wait for my veil…I have started journaling about it to share during Advent. It was difficult and yet…not. All kinds of thoughts and emotions involved : )

    Your blog is wonderful…I don’t know how you keep up!

    Much love…

    Like

    1. NOT AT ALL! How do I keep up? I have an email in my drafts in reply to you!

      🙂 as you can see – been a little harried of late. But have some positive news to share with those close-ies (just made that up for my friends)

      glad you liked the music. prayers for you.
      xo

      Like

  2. What an inspiring almanac.. how serene, how peaceful, how trusting of God’s love.

    I will listen to the music tomorrow morning when the house is silent 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

