The #VeilProject: A Movement to Encourage

VeilProjectI love tradition and especially this time of year: Advent wreaths and calendars, scripture readings, Jesse Trees, caroling, midnight mass, St. Nicholas – I love it all. There’s so much controversy about this among women apparently. Some feel strongly that we shouldn’t be forced to wear them. There is also a bibilical reference that I can and will share that notes women should wear veils to mass. It’s all about choice at the end of the day it seems and the choice is yours.

Will I tell you it’s a must? Nope. Here’s what I will do. I will clue you in on why I started wearing one just this weekend and how I ripped off that “they’re all going to be staring” band-aid right off. I will also let you in on a cool link up that I’m quasi hosting with Tiffany at Life of a Catholic Librarian (quasi because I can’t actually hold a link up on this site) coming this Advent, and where to get a beautiful veil at the end of this post, should you decide it’s something you’d like to try. All I ask for in return, is that you prayerfully consider it and post your experiences either way via comments here, here or blogging and linking up when it’s live. I’ve also included a few links on either side of the controversy for your review and convenience.

I am always, always searching my soul for ways to honor God. I want to know and be known for being set apart for Him. I want to be aware always that he formed my inmost being, that he knit me together in my mother’s womb. (Psalm 139:13) With that always as my guide, I have come to love and pray the rosary daily. I pray the Liturgy of the Hours morning prayer and evening prayer daily, I make confession frequently, sought out a third order, read spiritual books almost exclusively, and now, have been led to wearing a chapel veil.

The bible outlines this for us, from 1 Corinthians 11:2-16

Head Coverings

I commend you because you remember me in everything and maintain the traditions just as I handed them on to you. But I want you to understand that Christ is the head of every man, and the husband is the head of his wife, and God is the head of Christ. Any man who prays or prophesies with something on his head disgraces his head, but any woman who prays or prophesies with her head unveiled disgraces her head—it is one and the same thing as having her head shaved. For if a woman will not veil herself, then she should cut off her hair; but if it is disgraceful for a woman to have her hair cut off or to be shaved, she should wear a veil. For a man ought not to have his head veiled, since he is the image and reflection of God; but woman is the reflection of man. Indeed, man was not made from woman, but woman from man. Neither was man created for the sake of woman, but woman for the sake of man. For this reason a woman ought to have a symbol of authority on her head, because of the angels. Nevertheless, in the Lord woman is not independent of man or man independent of woman. For just as woman came from man, so man comes through woman; but all things come from God. *Judge for yourselves: is it proper for a woman to pray to God with her head unveiled? Does not nature itself teach you that if a man wears long hair, it is degrading to him, but if a woman has long hair, it is her glory? For her hair is given to her for a covering. But if anyone is disposed to be contentious—we have no such custom, nor do the churches of God.

Interestingly, I was thinking about the possibility and discerning it without ever uttering a word aloud to anyone. Then someone sent me a message asking if I wore them. I told them I did not. She replied that she makes them and how recently, every time she made one, I kept coming to mind and could she make me one. My God! How he speaks to me. I took that to mean that what I was discerning, He was hearing and confirming my longing to love Him and feel loved by Him. I mentioned this event to my friend Tiffany and she wears chapel veils. We talked for a bit (or obsessed over Michelle’s shop) and we decided to do this together with a purple veil for Advent. Michelle makes these veils with love and so the three week turnaround made the timing perfect. As Tiffany and I talked more about it, we thought it would be a great act of love if we shared this with you and see if you could join us. We will wear veils for Advent and then blog about our experiences here. The link up will be kept open for all of Advent, should you need more time to decide. May I also suggest these other veil-makers because they’re in the giveaway!!!

Liturgical Time (above)
Designs by Birgit (OH MY!)
Veils by Lily (WOW!)
Peter’s Bride (LOVELY!)
Silver Hill Treasures (Mantilla fantastickness!) – not confirmed as yet – but we’re working on it!

If you don’t have a veil, don’t have the money to purchase one or don’t want to wait to try this that’s ok. I haven’t received my veil, but feel so strongly about wearing one that I did just that this weekend with a pale pink scarf that I already had (and bought from Kohl’s! Pictured above). I headed out to 10AM mass (the big mass here) with my 9 year old, Lexicon. I told him that I was a little anxious, because I knew everyone would be watching and wondering why the sudden change. He responded that if anyone looked, he would just remind me that I am loving God and there’s nothing wrong with that. Did I say he’s nine years old?

I usually don’t sit in the front, but I felt so strongly pulled to be there, that that’s just where we sat. The sides of the veil kept me conscious and focused on prayer and the readings. I felt this was an elevated experience of the mass for me. More elevated than cantoring, or giving a testimony for #RCIA. I felt connected to the women of the Old Testament, connecting with them through to the New Testament and the years after. I felt reverent and connected. I felt this scripture as I sat in the pew next to my Lexicon, with my Catholic brothers and sisters, before the Tabernacle:

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. ~Hebrews 13:8

Beautiful. Loved and loving all at once. R, my new #RCIA sister in Christ, leaned in and said I looked beautiful. She didn’t know I was trying it for the first time and she didn’t have to say anything to me at all. It instantly pierced my heart. I hope I can see more women wearing a veil to mass. I hope to inspire others in my parish to wear a veil. After all, who doesn’t want to feel and look like a bride? Isn’t that what we truly are? Don’t think you’re excluded men! What do you think? How do you feel about it? Does your wife, fiancee or daughter veil? Post your comments below too!

*Bottom line “Judge for yourselves” It’s not a rule, it doesn’t make you better or worse if you choose to wear one or not. I won’t judge you, that’s for sure! I do hope you at least try it, and link up to let us know your thoughts – with pictures too! The actual linkup will begin on Advent (December 1st) We thought to post a little earlier about it, so you have time to purchase a veil, get a scarf, stare at yourself in the mirror for a while, you know. We’d like to know your experiences, fears, questions, reactions, all of it. It’s a project after all with the goal of love. Follow along on Twitter too #VeilProject and the newly nominated #AdventFever. Head over to Tiffany’s to read more.  

Liturgical Time Veil Shop is where I purchased my veil from (and am anxiously awaiting it!). Remember the 3 week turnaround time. A lot of love in these veils. 

Here are some other links that you might like to read regarding chapel veils:

For me, personally, wearing a veil to mass or upon approaching the Lord at all, is a must, I too feel like it is similar to my feeling on conversion of heart to God: something that I will never force, because as sons and daughters of God, we should choose to follow freely because we are called by the Holy Spirit to do so. In the words of our Holy Father, Pope Francis, “If they accept the Lord and have goodwill, who am I to judge them?” It is my sincere hope that you will always listen to the promptings of the Holy Spirit whether you choose to veil or choose not to. Let the discussion begin!

The Madonna in Sorrow

31 thoughts on “The #VeilProject: A Movement to Encourage

  1. I’m very excited about this link up! I used to cover all day during my Quaker days, but gave it up when I started investigating Catholicism. Really, I should have kept it up as a Catholic who is so blessed to be in the physical presence of the Lord at Mass. I found that covering all day also helped me honor my husband even when my “feminist” sensibilities made it hard to do so. The light pressure was a reminder to give him respect. My hubby has agreed to watch the baby so I can go to confession on Saturday. It’s been almost a year (!), and you can bet that I will cover my head for that occasion as well!

    Like

    1. Hi Rachel! Wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing your exclusive perspective. I hope you’ll follow along and keep us all posted on how confession goes and your continual journey home! A special thanks to your hubby as well!
      +xo
      Cristina

      Like

    1. Thank you SO much for stopping by. Continue to discern! I tried it just this Sunday and loved it. Regardless, I do hope you will continue to share your thoughts and reflections on the subject as they come up!
      God bless you!
      Cristina

      Like

  2. Wow, what an idea! I have never thought about wearing a veil before but I’m intrigued. You got me with the Hebrews passage. That verse keeps coming up for me again and again lately. I absolutely love it – it is so powerful. I look forward to hearing more about your experience and perhaps I just might be brave enough to try it one day myself…

    Like

    1. Come along for the ride! We hope you continue to discern and let us know any things that come up for you in the process…remember, there is that giveaway we’re working on 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Cristina

      Like

  3. Cristina…

    This was so good…I want to print it out and take the time to reflect. I will be honest…I think I would feel embarrassed. There…I said it. I would be the only one, trust me. But these veils are absolutely heavenly and I think I can see myself in one of them. Maybe a brown one for Carmelites : ) Or the cream ones which are just so delicate and feminine. I am going to discuss with hubby and will definitely keep you posted as I discern.

    Like

    1. I am SO happy you stopped by! If you have any questions at all, please, please share. If you have them, others do too. I just got impatient in waiting for my Advent veil that I threw on my scarf. We’ll keep talking about it on all three blogs to give ample opportunity for all to discern (quietly) then here. My husband was all for it! *shocked a little”

      And brown for you would be prefect!! I can totally see it too!!!

      Peace & Blessings,
      Cristina

      Like

      1. My husband is receptive (yay!) and we both like the cream color…I think I am going to order one as a birthday gift. I am reading all the blogs you shared and they are helpful. I am in a somewhat poor parish and mostly everyone there is in sweats, jeans and tees so yes…it will be noticeable but #1 what am I worried about? and #2 am I that important that everyone is thinking about or looking at me? HA! Also, once I read about the imagery of the bride of Christ, that really got me thinking as well as the decrease in distractions. I know I will be self conscious for a bit…but God will give the graces and I love the idea of starting it for Advent.

        Bless you sister! I am looking forward to joining in.

        Like

      2. Oh! I am SO excited!!! I can’t wait to read all of your reflections and insights!
        Xoxo
        Bless you…
        P.S. I think this is an awesome early birthday present! My birthday is in December… Hmmm you’ve given me a great idea!

        Like

  4. I never thought about wearing a veil to church. It’s a great idea Cristina! You really did look beautiful this pass Sunday with your soft pink veil and you matched your veil with the perfect soft pink sweater. This is definitely something that I would consider in the near future. Maybe in a Ivory color.

    Like

  5. I have been veiling since my return to the Church. I find it feels reverent and helps me remember that I am in the presence of The Lord. The priest wears his vestments, I wear my veil. I was a little nervous but now it feels normal. I carry a small spare in my purse in case I find my self unexpectently in Church. Interestingly enough more men then women have commented about it.

    Like

  6. I have always had the urge to wear the veils, I have one, but many times it falls off. I remember Jennifer Fulwiler posting about wear thing that looked like scarfs. That really appeals to me for I think they would probably stay on my head a little better. This is a great idea and I hope I can as well join in. God Bless!

    Like

  7. I, too, make veils as well as veiling (since Mother’s Day 2012) and am looking forward to the Advent Veil Link-up. Since you have listed several ladies who make and sell veils, I was wondering if you would consider listing mine as well. No worries if that’s not possible – it’s always worth asking. 😉

    Here’s a link to some of my veils (just in case): https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151097449426760.487581.402602941759&type=3

    Like

    1. Hi Birgit!

      I think I should write a post on how unorganized we were in coming up with a plan for this! When I wrote this post we only had one giveaway born from a chat with Tiff online, then a FB exchange with Emily and poof!!! We just kinda rolled with it and now have 5 veil giveaways – including your beautiful veils! We haven’t made any official announcement with regards to names of veil-makers involved yet because the details are still being finalized!!! (Eeek)

      We are so glad you’re joining us! I started veiling a few weeks ago – and while I won’t spoil my reflections now (tempting), I’ll never go back! I’ll update this post to include your links!

      Thanks and God bless you…
      Cristina

      Like

  8. Hello, I am happy to find your blog! Ear;ier this year I was feeling led to wear a veil. I asked our Priest about it at confession. He said if I felt that God wanted this then I should do it and not worry about what others think. The first time I wore a veil was at a weekday Mass. In a way that was harder because this was in a small chapel and it was impossible to not be noticed. But at the same time, I knew that the small group of people there were very kind and so that made it easier. I didn’t have a veil then either and the scarf almost fell off. It’s been several months and so far I have not seen anyone else wear one, but I am much more comfortable now. Once you ‘rip off the bandaid’ as you say, you find it’s not that big a deal even if you’re the only one.

    I am a convert too, 7 years now. One thing Jesus did to help me know that it really was Him who showed me to wear a veil was this…I was opening some papers I’d saved and they were folded up in my journal. I didn’t know what papers they were exactly. As I opened them, immediately my eyes fell on the words, “….the bride is veiled.” That sealed it for me, and if I ever do feel uncomfortable or different, I just remember Who I wear the veil for. Another thing….I found a veil in my house that I didn’t know I even had! It must have been in a bag of clothes that were passed on to us at some point. I am happy to hear of lots of other women and young ladies who are being called to this too. All by His Spirit! God bless you!

    Like

  9. Hello! I’m 13 years old and I feel God calling me to veil. I’ve read just about every blog post out there (and I really loved yours!) on veiling or not veiling, and I feel Jesus saying, “So, you’re going to do it today, right?” Or something like that. And yet, I always always say no. What it comes down to is this: I have a very large family, and I’m the youngest of them all. My older sisters are mostly married and we go to mass with their families. Not a single person in my family or extended family veils! I don’t really mind strangers looking at me, it’s my family. I don’t want them to think I’m trying to hard (which is ridiculous. My sisters are foreign missionaries!) to be holy, but I just can’t get over the fact that my 3 year old niece, my brothers and brothers in law, mom and dad will be looking at me! I’m praying that God will give me the courage to veil, because I could really use some. Oh, and a funny thing is, I bought a small mantilla about a year ago, and it’s sitting in my drawer, waiting to be used. I’ll admit, right before mass I’ve tried it on in front of a mirror, but right before it was time to leave, I buried it in my drawer again.
    Also, there are just a few questions I have. Do you wear your veil in the confessional, when do you put your veil on and when do you take it off. I don’t know when this blog post was written, but I hope someone can reply to me. I yearn to veil!

    Like

    1. Hi Emma!

      I am so honored that you commented here. I put my veil on before I leave the house and take it off when I get back! That’s just me though. I would say you put it on before you enter your church. When you are in confession, the priest is “in persona Christi” or “another Christ”. I, personally would stay veiled in reverence to Him.

      That’s out of the way….

      So I would do the following:

      1. Keep praying! Always! He loves to hear your prayers.
      2. Speak with your Mom and Dad. If you go to them with a sincere heart, they will listen. Talking as a mom here!
      3. Speak with your priest. He knows your family and can give you good advice. Who knows? Maybe this is the beginning of a call for you.
      4. Pray some more. You can never pray enough!

      What color is your veil? I ask because generally, white is for unmarried women and young girls and black for married. I wear black usually, but red for martyr days, purple for Advent and Lent, white for Easter, pink for Gaudete and Laerte Sundays – but that’s beyond what we’re talking about here – I love going by the liturgical calendar 🙂 but have veil will mass! So for now, it’s not important. First step, is to pray!

      All of these veil posts were written this Advent 2013! If you have any other questions at all…don’t hesitate to ask.

      God bless your sweet soul,
      Cristina

      Like

  10. I veil before the blessed sacrament in adoration. The third time I went to adoration while praying i heard.. veil thy self. ok.. so i did, then i started veiling at mass, because at the concentration of the host .. guess what Jesus is here.. here in the mass, here at adoration.. As a extraordinary minister I do not wear the veil for fear a disturbance, like the veil getting in the way. I wear a wide lace headband instead. My focus is on God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit . so while I am in the congregation. i can focus all my attention on the mass, and while being a servant for the lord I can witness to his majesty .. I don’t know if that make sense but there are ways of veiling … that still honor our lord without using the “traditional veils” just keep it conservative.. you really don’t want to wear something tie dye.. unless it’s in good taste.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

