Small Success Thursday Vol. 4: Messages from Saint Thérèse of Lisieux

 

Small-Success-Thursday

Another #SmallSuccess filled week – if we look hard enough. Small successes and blessings are important to remember, count up and count on to get you through the hard times.

From CatholicMom.com: List three things you are grateful for this week: victories over minutia, victories over the big stuff, blessings which you have received which reveal the breathing presence of God’s grace in your life. Then ask a friend to come and participate too.

Head on over to the Small Success post at CatholicMom.com to link up

Here we go!

1. This week, I received a new rosary. It arrived on Monday. This rosary is quite special as it is a third class relic. In the center it contains soil from the burial grounds of my confirmation saint, St. Thérèse de Lisieux. When I came into the Catholic Church I chose her because I needed to become LOVE in the domestic church of my home, just as she longed to be LOVE for the Catholic Church as a whole. St. Thérèse de Lisieux (or of the Little Way) gave me courage to sacrifice the smallest things to help me be holier, to help my marriage, to help my husband see why I needed my faith. With her intercession, it was easier for me to carry this cross. After I came into the faith, I didn’t call on her as much as I did. And now, she is calling me. So this rosary…is a real blessing to me and will be for the rest of my life. This is not just any rosary, to be sure.

Picture1
See other rosaries here: https://www.etsy.com/shop/unbreakablerosaries

2. Remember I received the rosary Monday. On my way home from a particularly exhausting day at work, I was looking down as I walked toward the car. I was thinking about the evening ahead, with my children and husband who has been having a difficult and very stressful time at work. When that happens, he’s just so unhappy – and that makes me unhappy. While I used to be unhappy because I would be upset that he wasn’t “fun” to be around, this changed. I am now unhappy because I don’t want him to hurt. I don’t want him to be upset or sad, stressed or angry. I know I can’t control what others feel, but I think this is more the growth of compassion for another because Jesus is in them. As I came to this realization in that short walk to the car, I took a deep breath and thought I would be the light in the home that night – even if I was tired, even if I didn’t think I had the energy. I prayed through the intercession of St. Thérèse of the Little Way to show me little ways to be that light, to be that love of my domestic church. With the next steps I took, I saw something in the mulch, it didn’t look like it was moving, so it wasn’t a bug (gross). I bent down to pick it up and it was this.

photo 12

Yes, that’s a silver bracelet of roses, with St. Thérèse on the other side. She was with me. She’d heard me and was really with me. Remember, I had that rosary waiting at home. I did run in and bring the bracelet in to the lost and found at security. Could you imagine being the person who’d lost their Little Queen (as her father called her).

3. On Monday night, is #RCIA night. I am on the team and am the intercessory prayer coordinator. This means that I coordinate with the other groups at our parish to pray for the #RCIA candidates. I also ensure that someone from the team is praying in the chapel in front of the Blessed Sacrament for them for an hour during the two hour class time. While my responsibilities don’t include praying for them myself, I do – whenever I pray. On this particular evening, we were talking about the saints. Go figure, one of the four saints chosen, St. Thérèse. What a blessed Monday indeed.

#LittleWay

St. Thérèse, Pray for us!

What are your successes this week? I know you have some! Leave a comment here or blog about it and link up!

Have a peaceful Thursday.

P.S. Every time you see her name in this post, I have linked to a different site to get to know more about this wonderful saint and doctor of the Church.

16 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday Vol. 4: Messages from Saint Thérèse of Lisieux

  1. I LOVED this post!! It was so beautifully written, and the subject matter gave me chills. I am devoted to St. Therese and actually have a true relic encased in a small glass-fronted reliquary. It had belonged to my grandparents and came to me in a strange way, at a very important time in my life. If you’d like to read about it, here’s the address to a blog post I wrote a while ago: http://mumsie2five.blogspot.com/2012/08/my-books-patron-saints.html.

    Thanks for sharing your successes, and God bless you!

    Like

  2. Wow!! The Rosary is lovely–a Rosary of roses. I hope the person who lost their bracelet returned to find it. It’s amazing how so many things spoke to you of this Saint in such a short time.

    Like

  3. Ok, so I HAVE to have the rosaries!! Seriously, I have been looking for them for a dear friend’s daughter who lost a very special pair from her grandmother and I would love to send her these. I can’t find them on the link though. Are they one of a kind?

    I appreciate your sharing of the struggles and blessings of your grace filled life. I was comforted by this saint in my early days like you wouldn’t believe ~ well you would believe it. I cannot count the amount of roses I have received as a sign of God’s love. They are less frequent these days, but I am able to recognize it as a maturing in my relationship to my beloved.

    God bless Christina.

    Like

  4. What a beautiful rosary! I once prayed a novena to St. Therese about asking a guy out (I’m an old maid of 39 years. 🙂 ) Anyway, she sent me roses, so I asked the guy out. He turned me down. 😦 Hmm, still trying to figure out what that was all about!

    Like

    1. You are not an old maid! I’m going to be past 35 this year myself and refuse to believe that all the grey hair makes me old! St. Therese is something else. Isn’t she?!
      Xoxo

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

