Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 19

Intercession of Charles Borromeo supported by ...
Intercession of Charles Borromeo supported by the Virgin Mary (1714), Ceiling paintings made by Johann Michael Rottmayr (1654-1730) for the Karlskirche, Vienna. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is the Memorial of St. Charles Barromeo. From CatholicCulture.org:

Patron: Against ulcers; apple orchards; bishops; catechists; catechumens; colic; intestinal disorders; diocese of Monterey, California; seminarians; spiritual directors; spiritual leaders; starch makers; stomach diseases.
Symbols: Altar; chalice and host; rope around neck; casket and crucifix; cardinal’s hat; word Humiltitas crowned.
Often Portrayed As: Bishop wearing a noose around his neck; cardinal wearing a noose around his neck.

CWA Time people!!! One of my favorite days of the week around here (I love Sundays too) Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2

Gratitude
::Caring priests and deacons
::Turning lemons into lemonade
::The strength to sacrifice and offer it all up
::Impromptu Beatitudes discussion with Lexicon, because he wants to be a saint. 🙂

Praying
::I am praying for me. I need it. I usually do not take up all the prayer for myself. I am going through some stuff. I am trying. I am offering it all up in prayer.
::I will be spending a week in adoration at a church near my job. I think I need more time like this. In silence. In prayer. In love.

Thinking and Reflecting
I don’t need to be right. Peace to me is way more important, at this juncture, than trying to explain myself. I’m tired y’all. I’m smoothed down like a rosary bead. And like rosary beads, I continue to push on through the path I’m set on; one foot in front of the other, one bead after another. Praying, praying, praying. I will ultimately be with Jesus and Mary in heaven just like at the end of my daily rosary when I pray the Memorare, the Our Father…well, you know. I just thought of that this weekend for perspective in my daily struggles. I gotta say again, the evil one tries, the difference is, I try harder. 🙂
Reading

Hearing
The new Dominican House of Studies schola CD. Beautiful!! Listen and download here!

Cooking
I made nothing this weekend! Thanks to some sweet RCIA pilgrims: W, his wife R and their daughter V, we were treated to an authentic Puerto Rican dinner with tons of leftovers for the weekend. We had pernil (roasted pork shoulder), pastelon (a lasagna of sorts made with plantains, seasoned chicken, and green beans), yucca salad (yucca – like a startchier, tastier potato, with red onions and olive oil), arroz con gandules (yellow rice with pigeon peas) macaroni salad, fresh slices of avocado, a homemade flan (a delicious caramel custard), homemade chocolate cupcakes (V is a budding baker!) and a warm, mulled wine with spices. Right?!?! Right?!?! Sounds awesome? It was! What a wonderful welcoming night with new friends.

Homing & Making
I’ve decided I’d like to take up knitting again. I used to knit all the time. However, when I moved to PA, I wasn’t in the best frame of mind and when that happens, I tend (or I used to) get rid of anything that brought me joy because I felt undeserving. Can you imagine? I’ve come a long way friends. Actually, this is the perfect spot for a reflection found in my Magnificat this weekend that I tore out and gave to a pilgrim from RCIA, W.

It is possible to change the profile of out past acts by means of new compensating acts. This is a marvelous conversion which the sacraments place within our reach! We become capable of much more than a compensation for the past; we become capable of offering to God a life really ordered by love. (Magnificat for November 2013, reflection written by Father Bernard Bro, O.P.)

My friend S, had the wonderful idea to post on Facebook and see if anyone had anything in their crafty closets that they would like to unload before I spend anything. I will also ask the same here. If you have any yarn, needles, notions, etc. please send them my way! Very appreciated.

Around the Web
Check this out! A mobile wallpaper (available in other sizes too) of special days in the Catholic liturgical calendar from BustedHalo!

I am seriously considering wearing a head covering at mass. I just love the reverence of it. I am looking in this store specifically. It helps that she is the woman who coordinated the Ornament Swap for Advent. I thought I’d try it out for Advent, with a purple one to see how I fare. Actually, Tiffany suggested it. I can’t take the credit for that idea! What do you think of head coverings?

Captured

Look at what we found this weekend? A Nativity Set! It’s similar to the look of Willow Tree – which I LOVE, let me tell you, but as a mom on a budget? This price of $30 at The Christmas Tree Shop couldn’t be beat. I put it on my mantle just to see how it would look. A little greenery and some hay? Beautiful! I love this time of year! Here’s a store locator link for ya!

photo

5 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 19

  1. It was my pleasure cooking all the authentic puerican food. That is what my husband and I love to do. We enjoy cooking and entertaining our friends. We are so blessed to have you and your beautiful family in our life now.

    Like

  2. I admire the candidness of your writing. Do know that you will be in my prayers…

    Thank you for sharing those reading and audio resources. I am excited — ‘will be checking them out!

    I love the simple lines and colors of your Nativity set!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your prayers. I truly appreciate all of them.
      It’s not always easy to be candid. When I blog, I have to walk the fine line of being honest and protecting my personal life and those of my family. I pray always that I strike the right balance.
      God bless,
      Cristina

      Like

  3. YAY! Off to read your veil post! Also…that Last Supper picture? It’s the one Deacon TC gave me as a housewarming. He put it on the mantle and it hasn’t moved!
    xoxo
    me

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

