RCIA Pearls: Email Between a Pilgrim and a Convert

This is an email exchange between myself “Cristina Convert” and an #RCIA candidate, we’ll call him “Prayerful Pilgrim”. I have not edited this in any way at all – except to put it in chronological order. This had to be shared. I am in awe of this Prayerful Pilgrim.

On Mon, Oct 28, 2013 at 1:24 PM, “Prayerful Pilgrim” wrote:

Dear Cristina Convert,

As I was reading the New Testament, the following verse jumped off the page at me and filled me with joy and wonder: “The next day he saw Jesus coming toward him and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away

English: John the Baptist baptizing Christ
English: John the Baptist baptizing Christ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

the sin of the world. He is the one of whom I said, ‘ A man is coming after me who ranks ahead of me because he existed before me.’ I did not know him, but the reason why I came baptizing with water was that he might be made known to Israel.” John 1:29-31
Imagine being John the Baptist at that time. He knew that the Son of God, the Lamb of God, was coming. He did not have a picture or a description of Jesus. John knew only that Jesus would come and would save mankind from its sins. Imagine the overwhelming joy that John felt when he first laid eyes on Jesus Christ. I can speculate that Jesus was revealed as Jesus to John by the grace of God. John was preparing. He was not the Messiah. He was not Elijah the Prophet. John was the voice of one crying out in the wilderness, “MAKE STRAIGHT THE WAY OF THE LORD.” John was baptizing with water, but he announced that the one who was coming would be baptizing with the Holy Spirit. I can only imagine how John the Baptist felt when he first saw the Son of Man standing before them. It must have been a moment more powerful than John had ever experienced in his life.

Feel free to share this with other team members and candidates if you wish.

God bless you and your loved ones,

Prayerful Pilgrim

On Oct 28, 2013 2:55 PM, “Cristina Convert” wrote:

Dear Prayerful Pilgrim,

Thank you so much for sharing this with me. After reading your email a few times (it’s how we’re taught to read scripture, no? So we immerse ourselves in the scene?) I thought this is exactly how we should encounter the Blessed Sacrament at Adoration, when we enter the church for mass, and maybe (not to the same extent of course) when we encounter anyone else. Jesus is in everyone, right? Shouldn’t we always strive to look for Jesus in our fellow man? Isn’t that the way in which John the Baptist could have known it was Jesus, because he was open to that with the prompting of the Holy Spirit? As I was listening to the Liturgy of the Hours app on the way into work on my phone, the reading for the morning prayer was this:

READING Ephesians 2:19-22

You are strangers and aliens no longer. No, you are fellow citizens of the saints and members of the household of God. You form a building which rises on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the capstone. Through him the whole structure is fitted together and takes shape as a holy temple in the Lord; in him you are being built into this temple, to become a dwelling place for God in the Spirit.

Fitting, isn’t it? Even more! The antiphon (a short sentence sung or recited before or after a psalm or canticle.) is “Love one another as I have loved you” This is how we recognize one another in the Body of Christ! Truly inspirational stuff, Prayerful Pilgrim. I have forwarded this on to the team and have asked that Deacon TC distribute accordingly.

See you all tonight! Keep up the contemplation of scripture, faith and the truth! It’s serving you well!!

God Bless you and your family.

Cristina Convert

P.S. If you’d like to know what the Liturgy of the Hours is, what morning prayer means, antiphon any of that stuff, don’t hesitate to ask!

On Mon, Oct 28, 2013 at 3:52 PM, “Prayerful Pilgrim” wrote:

Thank you. Yes! Just what I should get out of the Scripture. Look for Jesus in everyone we encounter. I thank you sincerely for connecting that beautiful concept to the passage from Matthew.

Thank you also for the passage from Ephesians. It brought tears to my eyes. Strangers and aliens no longer. We are bound together as integral component parts of His temple. We are dwelling places for God in the Spirit. This is awesome.

Thanks to you and all of the members of the RCIA team for your generous contributions of time and talent. Each of you is an inspiration to me. You are guiding me and encouraging me on my faith journey.

Blessings,

Prayerful Pilgrim

On Oct 28, 2013 3:57 PM, “Cristina Convert” wrote:

I am SO glad, Prayerful Pilgrim!

I wanted to ask, may I publish this exchange on my blog? I think it would really be touching for readers the world over – those who click anyway! I won’t publish names or anything that could tie it to you in any way.

If you are uncomfortable with this, please tell me!

We (the team) are blessed with this class this year! You are all so open and willing to share. It’s wonderful.

See you all tonight!

Cristina Convert

On Mon, Oct 28, 2013 at 4:04 PM, “Prayerful Pilgrim” wrote:

Yes. Feel free to publish. If one word of what I wrote helps one person, I will feel like I am helping in a tiny way to do God’s work.

On Mon, Oct 28, 2013 at 4:18 PM, “Cristina Convert” wrote:

AWESOME!! Thank you! Will be up tomorrow!

* * *
Amen!

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

