Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 18

Happy Feast of Sts. Simon and Jude

simonandjude

CWA Time people!!! One of my favorite days of the week around here (I love Sundays too) Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

day_planner2

Gratitude
::grace
::courage to be vulnerable
::the homily yesterday on the Pharisee and the Tax Collector
::the comfort of rice and beans w/sliced avocado
::friendship
::super strong coffee
::breathing
::rosary cards in the mail

Praying
::I am praying for me. I need it. I usually do not take up all the prayer for myself. I am going through some stuff. I am trying. I am offering it all up in prayer.
::On Friday, I did go to mass, pray the rosary, Divine Mercy Chaplet and spent time in adoration for any intentions left here though. That doesn’t change.

Thinking and Reflecting
That 90 minutes is more than enough time for a truly spiritual mini retreat. I decided on my day off, to go to mass and stay behind after to pray the rosary. Turned out that there is a group that prays there after 8:30AM mass and then the Divine Mercy Chaplet, right in front of the Blessed Sacrament. I stayed after in the silence and just looked back at our Lord in the Eucharist. I didn’t think, I didn’t try to talk “at” Him. I just sat there and stayed with Him. Then I looked up at the crucifix, and back down to the monstrance. I continued that for about 20-30 minutes. After that, I went to light some candles for my husband and I, my children, a couple of very close friends and all of your intentions. I filled out some spiritual bouquet promises for our priests for World Appreciation Day for Priests. I want to do this more often. My day was definitely brighter as a result.
One last reflection for you. Included above those tear-offs was a wonderful piece about what priests are that I would like to share with you, written by Father Thomas E. Langer (published by Open Sunday Visitor, March 13, 1960):

Priests are mystery men. They come in assorted sizes, ages, weights and collars. They are found everywhere – speeding along, perspiring over, walking by, kneeling on, praying over, laughing with, preaching to, teaching about, pardoning for, and playing baseball with. Little children run to them; teenagers marvel at them, aged folk turn to them; lay people treasure them; non-Catholics stare at them; and Mary watches over them.A priest is Prudence in a T-shirt; Fortitude with a breviary in his hand; Justice on a ball diamond; and Temperance at any party. He is Faith with a blueprint; Hope with a sense of humor; and Charity with a golf club in hand.

A priest may be anything from a contemplative monk in a monastery to a magazine editor on Wall Street, from a labor mediator to a TV personality, from a student to a professor. Formerly known as the boy-around-the-corner, he’s a member of each family, yet belongs to none. He penetrates secrets, shares sorrows, heals wounds. He has the trust of a child, the kindness of a best friend, the sternness of a tight-rope walker, the authority of an encyclopedia, the versatility of a commando, and the salesmanship of a Fuller-Brush man.

A priest is a humble creature – a mystifying worker at all professions. His hours are the longest; his salary the smallest; his Boss the best! He likes good pastors, the smiles of children, a good sermon, a home-cooked meal, and the name “Father”.

A priest is all things to all men in the sight of God. He may be misquoted, mistaken and misunderstood, but he’ll always forgive – because he’s a mediator; a peacemaker, a go-between heaven and earth. It’s no wonder God loves him. He’s a man standing at an altar, clothed in Holy clothes, who while being aware of his own nothingness speaks to God for us and to us for God. And although his greatest act is to offer sacrifice, his most consoling one is to say to me, “Go in peace – Your sins are forgiven.” (bold is my own emphasis) 

That idea of my priest and all priests being a member of every family but belonging to none, makes me love my priests even more. Did you thank your priests yesterday? If not, will you today? #PriestsRock too!

Reading

photo (1)

Hearing
The clicking of my fingers on the keyboard. When I don’t feel “right” I need silence.

Cooking
I made rice, beans last night (again) with sliced avocado this time. I needed some comfort food. We are thinking of Thanksgiving though and trying to get that menu down. Definitely homemade mashed potatoes, turkey and stuffed mushrooms!

Homing & Making
For the love of laundry and rosaries! That’s what I made/did this weekend. I made rosaries and I folded clothes. Lots of them. I got it all done early though, so points to me!

Around the Web

  • I just saw this, it’s called Sisters, on the webby web and had to include because #nunsrock It’s a 1 hour video online. According to the snippet just below the play button:

It is a film about faith and hope, love and death, seen through the eyes of five women who have committed their lives to the service of others in the deepest way. Without narration, their stories are told in the honest words and actions of the women themselves.

Captured
I don’t usually post quotes, but, I don’t really feel very usual today. Which could be a good thing! It’s from Ann Spangler’s new book Praying the Attributes of God. It’s on my wish list. I do have another book by her Women of The Bible: A One-Year Devotional Study of Women in Scripture. I believe she also contributes to the devotionals in my bible. I just love how she writes!

feargod

 

10 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 18

  1. So, rice and beans. Hit me with the recipe. I realize it probably doesn’t need a recipe, but this isn’t something my southern Italians/Scots-Irish/German ancestors made. 🙂

    Like

    1. Here ya go!
      3-4 cloves of garlic chopped
      1 ham steak cubed
      1 LARGE can of pink GOYA beans
      ½ cup of GOYA Recaito
      1 LARGE can of Vienna sausages sliced
      2 packets of SAZON with Achiote
      2 small cans of GOYA tomato sauce
      Oregano, basil, parsley
      Olive oil

      The trick to this is waiting for each layer to boil. Not a crazy boil, but a simmer I guess.

      Olive oil in the pan just enough to sautee the garlic. Add the ham steak and the Vienna sausages. Once the meats start to brown, add the recaito, heat that through. Then you add your two cans of tomato sauce and (to squeeze the most out of your tomato sauce) fill the now empty cans with water and dump that in. As that boils, rinse your beans in a colander – when the water runs clear, it’s rinsed. Add your sazon to the pot with a sprinkle of oregano, basil and parsley. Dump beans in and simmer till your rice is done – which should have been cooking before you got your beans going!

      Good luck and tell me how it turns out!

      Like

  2. I looked and looked and can’t find your # anywhere!

    I want to cry at mass sometimes. But I hold it in every time. Unless I’m alone (sans familia) I don’t want them to see me cry! Or exercise. I’m weird like that.

    xoxo
    Cristina

    Like

  3. Great CWA as always…very reflective. The first book you are reading on Lectio sounds very interesting.

    Yes…me too…don’t want them to see me crying or exercising…unless I am walking of course.

    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Like

    1. I can’t get enough of that Lectio book. I carry it with me everywhere hoping to snatch a few minutes to read. I’ve been unsuccessful lately! I highly recommend it!

      Blessings,
      Cristina

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

