Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 17

CWA Time people!!! One of my favorite days of the week around here (I love Sundays too) Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

I almost forgot to share this with you! I created a new tab “Resources” be sure to check that out! Has most everything I’ve ever researched, looked at, read and enjoyed in the treasure trove of all things Catholic!

day_planner2Gratitude
::epsom salt baths
::retail therapy
::finishing a project
::my next door neighbor, Deacon TC
::S’ counting of music in the cantor book (helped me when it was my turn to cantor and it also made me feel like she was with me!)
::heart-to-heart talks with my husband
::spontaneous change in plans resulting in a nice cocktail during dinner
::the look on my boys faces as they choose their birthday gifts (from gift cards) Walkie-talkie’s!!
::birthday shopping for a friend
::the house I live in
::the means by which I can have all of the retail therapy, birthday shopping and dinner out.
::all of my boys spending time together outside and using their imagination to create memories


Praying
::I am praying for my husband – more than just my usual prayers. He’s going through some stuff. Please pray for him too.
::I am praying for peace. For myself.
::I am always praying for Aaron. I pray that he does good things. I pray that he finds God always wherever he is. I pray that he learns to wade through differences and opposition without negative judgement, grudges or past hurts.
::I am praying for my Lay Dominican family.
::I am praying the rosary with special intentions for all of you in a very special, Holy Spirit driven way. Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother.

Thinking and Reflecting
How important it is to let people know that it’s perfectly acceptable to be vulnerable. It’s important in a relationship, I think, to let those close to us know that it doesn’t always have to be a happy jig, or funny clown. You can be sad, scared, upset and it doesn’t have to be anger, or seething rage. I can understand when you’re feeling not yourself, or fearful, sad. As much as I lean on those close to me, they need to know that they can lean on me too – and not just because I’ve said as much, but because when defenses are down, I hold them. I look directly at them and say it’s ok. As much as I need that intimate understanding from Jesus, I know how deeply others need it too. While we all know I am not Jesus (!), we all know this from John 13:34-35
I give you a new commandment, that you love one another. Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.
It’s not just lip service, love is not just saying it. Love is daily action, love is daily humility and daily service. Especially in a marriage. We choose to love each other every minute of every day.
All of us need this ‘everyday conversion’ – no matter how well we know our Faith or how long we have practiced it. This deepening of faith and love is sometimes known as the ‘second conversion’. It builds upon our initial reception of grace in Baptism. (Bl. John Henry Newman, Bishop James D. Conley from Everyday Meditations – my next book up for review)
Reading

Hearing
In my head – Psalm 121. I sang it yesterday when I cantored at the 10AM mass. It’s really pretty.

Cooking
I made rice, beans and fried porkchops – Puerto Rican style. That means, really, really good! Just then, Deacon TC showed up with a “little mangia” as he calls it. He made my husband speechless when at 5PM yesterday Deacon TC showed up at our door with rigatoni, homemade sauce and meatballs with toasted garlic bread and a little fresh basil palm tree right in the center of the dish for garnish! People, Deacon TC is Italian….from Brooklyn…OLD SCHOOL. You know it’s good. So I am eating that fantasticness for lunch today.

Homing
We are now in discussions to create my prayer space in the bedroom! Mike said – it’s time! I am so excited. I saw a bible stand; wooden and carved that will be perfect. I’ll look for a low bookshelf that will also work as a place to put my statue, rosaries, bible (open to Luke!), a nice runner and my Catholic books. Mike mentioned that maybe I’d like a kneeler? I don’t know yet. We thought…too much? But it’s worth some more thought. Maybe just a little, wooden step stool with a cushion. In any case, I am excited. Can you tell?

Making
I finished ALL of the ornaments for the Jesse Tree Advent Swap over at Liturgical Time: Walking the

Glitter doves on Jacob's Ladder!
Glitter doves on Jacob’s Ladder!

Seasons. I added a little glitter dove on each of them to try and make them extra special. I made a few extra to give to Deacon TC’s sweet wife, J, my friend S and my other dear friend Shell. She’s a sweetheart and loves my boys as if they were her grandchildren.

Around the Web

  • Read the Catechism in a Year – “A daily tidbit about the Catholic faith sent straight to your inbox. Read that little bit each day & you’ll have covered the entire Catechism of the Catholic Church in a year. Cool, right?” I forwarded this to someone on a FaceBook group and thought to add here just in case it could be useful for someone else.

Captured
We all have an image of what Jesus Christ looks like. I just shared my image with my husband this weekend when we were talking about my prayer space. I thought I would share with you. I just love it.

"Thy Will Be Done" by Morgan Weistling
“Thy Will Be Done” by Morgan Weistling

 

4 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 17

  1. I, too, am excited for you about your prayer space/ corner. I am sure it will be a haven and a place of refuge amidst the daily business of living. Do tell us how are putting it together!

    Like

  2. i am a gypsy when it comes to prayer. I pray while walking the dog, cleaning floors, upstairs, outside…just about everywhere. I do love the idea of a prayer corner…I am thinking about it. Do you know about a site about reading the Bible in a year. I need to start it with my seventh-grader.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

