Small Success Thursday: Questions, Ladders and Letting Go

Small successes and blessings are important to remember, count up and count on to get you through the hard times. I thought this was perfect for me, so, I am going to try to add it to our little rotation and see how it plays out. I’ve been considering moving our prayer days to Fridays because I love the Sorrowful Mysteries. We shall see friends. We shall see…

I was asked by Chris @ Campfires and Cleats to post and linkup. She’s celebrating her small successes this week at her place and CatholicMom.com.

From CatholicMom.com: List three things you are grateful for this week: victories over minutia, victories over the big stuff, blessings which you have received which reveal the breathing presence of God’s grace in your life. Then ask a friend to come and participate too.

Here we go!

1. My friend S. I called her this morning on my way into work – which I never do – I never use my morning commute time for anything other than morning prayer – but this was important. I needed to ask her a very important and personal question (and hoped she would say yes). While I can’t speak more about it now, I can say that I am so relieved and grateful that she, at least, was open to my request. She needs to speak to her husband, because it impacts him as well. S and her husband K have two teenaged girls. They have been married 20+ years and are so beautifully Catholic. I am looking back on our short friendship and this comes to mind from Psalm 139:17:

To me, how mysterious your thoughts,
the sum of them not to be numbered!
If I count them, they are more than the sand; to finish, I must be eternal, like you

2. Finishing my ladders for the Liturgical Time: Walking the Seasons Jesse Tree Advent Ornament Swap. When all is said and done, 30 people will have an entire hand crafted set of Jesse Tree Ornaments! I chose Jacob’s Ladder and it was a lot to put together. I cut the sticks to fit the requirements, then cut 4 rungs for each (had to make 30), glued them all together, painted them and tied twine around each intersecting part – so it was an “x” on the front and frayed in the back. I wanted them to have an authentic, Old Testament feel. I’ve been thinking about adding a little dove to the top left, because I think a symbol of the Holy Spirit can be sprinkled in anywhere. I’ll check the craft stores this weekend! With a full time job, two boys, my husband, opera rehearsals, cantoring, Lay Dominican meetings and events, being on the RCIA team and blogging, I am SO grateful that I got these done in the time schedule I allotted for it (but finished early!). Here’s what they look like.

#SmallSuccess

3. Letting go and letting God. Truly realizing and internalizing that my husband’s salvation is not my battle to be won. I pray that my husband can learn to get go, without really letting go myself. Since I’ve loosened my grip around that intention, I see small changes. Openness. In me and in him and it’s beautiful.

I’ve invited Em @ Em’s Estuary and Tiffany @ Life of a Catholic Librarian to link up. These are my two Catholic online community sisters. I haven’t known them long, but don’t know how I ever did without them. You could say that I am truly grateful for them too.

Have a Peaceful Thursday.

4 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday: Questions, Ladders and Letting Go

    1. Totally deserved! You told me not to go ballistic and I didn’t. But…well…just…surprises are hard for me ok! I have a hard time keeping them in! Just know that you are loved, thought about, prayed for, special, talented, sassy, funny and my dear friend. “See” you tomorrow.
      Love you too!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

