Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 13

St. Padre Pio de Pietrelcina from DivineOffice.org
St. Padre Pio de Pietrelcina from DivineOffice.org

Happy Memorial of St. Padre Pio! Saint Pio of Pietrelcina, O.F.M. Cap. was a Capuchin Catholic priest from Italy.

CWA Time people!!! One of my favorite days of the week around here (I love Sundays too) Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

I almost forgot to share this with you! I created a new tab “Resources” be sure to check that out! Has most everything I’ve ever researched, looked at, read and enjoyed in the treasure trove of all things Catholic!

day_planner2Gratitude (lots this week)
::waking up and seeing that my husband brought up the laundry basket for me. It was like a bouquet of flowers in the walk in closet. I hate hauling that thing upstairs.
::time spent with family after a long time without seeing them
::streamers
::the Krusty Krab Club and my husband playing DJ
::talking with my Sister in Law about my faith for the first time
::choosing prayer time instead of finding something else to clean
::sticking to my commitment of going to choir even though I had absolutely no voice. Made me feel good to keep my promise to the choir director. Definitely would have been easier to sleep in.
::a toddler who I spent 30 minutes with and for the rest of the evening would not let me go. Not even to go with his parents. made me feel very peaceful in some of my decision making.
::late night text from Aaron. He said that he was just finishing up his prayers and he was thinking of us.
::really good progress reports from my stepdaughter. I am far away from her and hope that my prayers reach her heart. I think they are.
::a very supportive husband (as always, but he amazes me every day with just how supportive he is. Especially when I am not supportive of myself!)

Praying
I’ve received some potentially upsetting news that is not mine exactly to share here, but I will ask you for prayers. Please pray that the Lord’s will, no matter what it is, be done – I will be ok with that. 

I pray for the RCIA candidates and catechumens. I am very excited to see where they are and how they grow in their faith. Please pray for them, and for all making this journey to the faith this year.

I pray for a man, H. I found out yesterday that he was diagnosed with a very aggressive form of leukemia. Second time. He doesn’t want any cards, or visits. I pray that his soul is ok as well as his body.

I am praying for my friend Em. For a very special intention.

I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am praying for Aaron. I pray that he does good things. I pray that he finds God always wherever he is. I pray that he learns to wade through differences and opposition without negative judgement, grudges or past hurts.

I am praying the rosary with special intentions for all of you in a very special, Holy Spirit driven way. Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother.

Thinking and Reflecting
I am thinking that family really is what you make of it. This weekend we had a blast at the boys birthday celebration. The family representation was small, but they were so happy to be there and to be with us. They shared and loved with us and we laughed. We laughed the kind of easy, comfortable laughter that you want to have with family. I’ve missed that and it was really great. We had some friends over too and that was just the icing on the cake.

Reading

Hearing
Just listening to the Divine Office morning prayer for St. Padre Pio

Cooking
We had lots of leftovers from the party: every kind of pizza combination you could imagine, penne with sausage and sauce, brie cheese and crackers, vegetable platter with french onion dip, dark chocolate covered acai berries and blueberries, sharp cheddar, potato chips and of course, birthday cake. So we were noshing on that all day yesterday.

Homing
We went ballistic with cleaning for the party. I mean, if you can imagine, me, vacuuming the stairs frantically as if Jesus was going to inspect it, that’s how clean they were. I even scrubbed my bathroom down three times with soft scrub. My friend S, asked me if the guests were going to be partying in my master bathroom that I was going so crazy to clean it. My answer, lots of laughter and my last wipe of the glass. She was right.

Making
I am making progress on the music I have to learn for the event I am doing in November. The capacity is for 160 people and we are at about 110-120? I will be singing three arias (Caro Nome from Rigoletto, Musetta’s Waltz from La Boheme and Susanna’s Aria from the Marriage of Figaro). I thought it would be nice for you to hear me. This is something I never, ever do. There are no real recordings of me singing anywhere. I never keep them. No other reason than, I just don’t. So, have a listen (since you all can’t be there in November, as much as I would love for you to be!)

Around the Web
Well of course, I was reading the interview from America magazine (because I blogged about it too!)

The Church of St. Vincent Ferrer. Remember when I told you about my husband being so supportive? Well, I am going to this church for a special mass on 10/5. An excerpt of an email from my Provincial Council President:

This is the time and place in which the Master of the Order, Fr. Bruno Cadore, O.P., will be celebrating Mass on the feast of Bl. Raymond de Capua (also a Master of the Order and Catherine of Siena’s spiritual director).  The Laity from the area have been invited to attend the Master’s Mass and a light reception afterwards.
This is an extremely high honor and an opportunity of a lifetime for Lay Dominicans.  For those who may not be familiar with the Order’s organizational structure, Fr. Cadore is to the Order of Preachers what Pope Francis is to the Catholic Church.
I have a thing…I don’t go into NYC if I can help it. I know, I know. I am a native New Yorker. After living there so many years and seeing the increasing congestion, crowding and crime, I’ve become a little weary of it. When I moved to Pennsylvania, I decided I wouldn’t go back. Well, this has come along a few years later and I was immediately scared to go. Bizarre, right? I didn’t even mention it to my husband right away. Well, when I did, he looked at me like I had 18 heads and said ‘Are you crazy? You can’t miss this. You’re going!’ So, I’m going. And I’m thrilled to pieces about it! You know I will take lots of pictures and take lots of notes to share all of my reflections and thoughts that day!
I also have this on the slate to check out as the caption was pretty grabbing: “I walked out of Mass and said, ‘I can’t do this anymore’…” from Deacon Greg Kandra’s The Deacon’s Bench – it’s a piece from writer Mary DeTurris Poust, writer, blogger and managing editor of Catholic New York newspaper.

Captured
Us, family, happy, celebrating and full of love. From top left: My brother in law, the husband, me, and our cousin, Yes, we’re all wearing moustaches in that picture (me, Lexicon, my nephew Bee-in and Little Monk). Bottom left, me and the hubs <3, on the right: the boys, totally partied out!

birthday

5 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 13

  1. What a wonderful, thoughtful almanac. I love what you are reading and pondering and praying…inspiring words.

    Girl…you are gifted okay? What a beautiful voice! I was not blessed with one and I kinda wish I was LOL!

    Thanks for sharing and hope all is well…

    Like

    1. I was worried because my almanac was very long…but so much is going on that I wanted to share with my friends here. So much reflecting and contemplation, you know? How have you been? I miss your writing, dear sister.

      Thank you for your very, very sweet words. I feel I have a lifetime of gratitude to our Lord for bestowing such a gift to me. This is why I cantor. I want His gift to being more people to Him.

      Have a wonderful week!

      Like

  2. Hi Cristina!
    Sorry to use your combox to contact you, but I didn’t have an email address for you.
    The post just went up to allow everyone to choose the ornament that she is going to make! It’s here: http://liturgicaltime.blogspot.com/2013/09/Jessetreeornamentswap.html

    My I have an email address to contact you?

    Also, please let me know whether it is okay to include you in emails to the group. This will mean that others will be able to see your email address, but will allow me to send one email instead of 32. If you’re uncomfortable with it, I totally understand and will send messages to you separately. (I’m also okay with contacting your through the combox on your blog. I totally understand privacy concerns.) Please let me know your preference either way. Thanks!!

    Blessings!
    ~Michelle

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

