Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 10

CWA Time people!!! One of my favorite days of the week around here (I love Sundays too) Link up time over at Suscipio! Pretty self-explanatory, just respond to the bold items and link up!

Happy Feast of St. Gregory the Great!

gregory the great

I almost forgot to share this with you! I created a new tab “Resources” be sure to check that out! Has most everything I’ve ever researched, looked at, read and enjoyed in the treasure trove of all things Catholic!

day_planner2Gratitude
::my husband pushing me to take a couple of days off from work to rest (hence the late CWA too!)
::my friend S sending me uplifting text messages and emails
::sunshine, it’s been overcast and raining troughs out here
::fresh ginger steeped in hot water with honey
::Lexicon rubbing my arm as I napped
::Hail Mary’s in the middle of the night

Praying
I am praying for my family, my husband and children to stay close to our Lord always. I am also praying for the ability to see God in everything – good, bad, ugly and indifferent. Always.

I am praying for a peaceful, patient spirit. To learn to take a couple of beats before responding to anything.

I am praying for good health. It seems as soon as I say I am grateful for good health, I get sick!

I am praying with a special intention for Aaron. He’s having a tough time adjusting and I really want school, church, family, all of the opportunities he has here to be met with enthusiasm, trust, and openness.

I am praying the rosary with special intentions for all of you in a very special, Holy Spirit driven way. Why? Because that’s what we do. Pray for eachother.

Thinking and Reflecting
I was going to stop cantoring at weddings. I just couldn’t handle the stress of it. Generally, in my limited experience, the brides didn’t know what they wanted to have me sing, and would let me know days before the wedding. Considering how much importance I place on the sacrament, I want to be sure that I bring my A game to the music portion of the mass, which, if you think about it, will be heard whenever they pop that DVD in their machine. With that, I decided that I would be removed from the cantor list after the last wedding (which was a few weeks ago). Monsingnor tried to convince me to keep doing it saying that I could save the money I was given and take my family on vacation after a year’s worth of weddings – to fray cost, etc. That didn’t do it. He then said I had a gift and it would be a shame for me to keep it all to myself. That sort of, almost got me. What changed my mind was this: during the mass, as the bride and groom looked at each other lovingly and said their vows to one another, I remembered my wedding day and how beautiful and meaningful it was to me (still is). I realized that singing at weddings is more a gift to me than my voice is to them. You see, it keeps those vows very close to my heart, but at the same time fresh through the eyes of newly married couples. Because of that, my name will remain on the cantor list.

Reading

Hearing
I am listening to Walk on the Water by Britt Nicole. Great song.

Cooking
I made beef stew yesterday. I thought there would be enough for dinner today. No dice. So I am making corned beef, love fries (french fries) and white rice. A muy Puerto Rican favorite en mi casa – that was Spanglish in case you were wondering!

Homing
Hilarious. My husband and I tried to put up three small accent mirrors in the walkway, because I had the brilliant idea that I could put hooks underneath for the kids backpack and make an open concept cubby / closet type thing. Well, we have no level so we eye everything. Usually it works out, but with the mirrors from a cheapee cheapee place, I don’t think they’re all uniform – some are slightly larger than others. So, three mirrors, 5 holes, spackle and two scuff marks later, they’re still off. I asked my husband if he wanted to try fixing them, and he said he would like to try breaking them. I took that as a no. It was pretty funny though.

Making
I am making a lot of ginger tea. I just chop up some fresh ginger and steep it in hot water. After adding a little bit of honey it’s the best remedy for the nausea I’ve been dealing with. I started taking a new medication which makes me SUPER nauseous, like morning sickness on steroids nauseous for 6 hours and then I’m wired for 3 hours. Nice huh? This is why the husband demanded I stay home and just be a mom for a couple more days – – “you know, you can blog, read, get the kids, mommy stuff”. I love that he included blogging in that mommy hat. He knows I love it.

Learning
I am learning that you can lead a horse to water. Maybe I’ve already learned this. But in the context of Aaron, maybe not. I feel guilty for a lot with him and I am trying to make sure that he is happy. I am realizing that I can’t dance a jig for him all of the time. So, I am backing off and just praying for him. Please continue to pray for him with me.

Captured

Here are the mirrors we tried to put up.

mirror

This is the ginger tea that I made. Think that’s enough? With hubby’s arm in the pic too 🙂

tea

Here is what was outside my window during dinner last night. A rainbow. They’re always so hopeful for me.

rainbow

7 thoughts on “Catholic Woman’s Almanac {CWA} Vol. 10

  1. I love reading your posts! So full of life, warmth, humor and deep compassion. The mirror project!!! Still chuckling….Many prayers and blessings your way…

    Like

  2. Kinda like when I say no, this is the last Saturday I am working something happens and I have to work the next Saturday!

    Like

      1. We have a volunteer who comes in on Saturday’s and he made a comment about “You must love working Saturdays you are here all the time” I told him I was off the next Saturday and it was just circumstance. Then last week when I had the tooth trouble and had to work Saturday to make up time I told him. “You cursed me:” This is *I HOPE* the last Saturday I work til the end of the month.
        Yes you have to learn it is OK to say no. You cannot do it all!

        Like

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

