Week 13: #LawnChairCatechism : Continual Conversion

Here we are. The last week of what’s been a deeply informative and personally fruitful book club. At the end of this post, I will link all of the discussion responses from this blog for your convenience and review.

You know the drill, head on over to the CatholicMom.com #LawnChairCatechism Link up to read other perspectives on this week’s discussion. As always, all of the discussion questions can be found here.

Questions for Discussion this week:

In your own faith:
Have you ever felt isolated in your quest to follow Jesus? What are ways you have built a community of spiritual companions? In your parish: You’ve put a lot of energy over the course of this study into learning about the need for evangelization and discipleship, and how to fulfill that need. Do you plan to take action? In what way?

This is exactly why I started this blog, dontchaknow? Look at where it’s taken me. This feeling of isolation and the fruit it has produced. Let’s review:

I’ve met some really wonderful – on fiyah! Catholics in cyberspace. Em, Tiffany, Emily, Rachelle, Jenny, Theresa, Annie and her sis, Cynthia, William, Michelle – just to name a few (there are so many others). I get to pray for more than just me, more than just my family, more than just my parish members and friends. I pray for people I don’t see, people I may never meet. People that are just crying out for someone, anyone to carry their cross with them a while. What a blessing?

I’ve begun a journey as a Lay Dominican. I can’t even express my deep sense of belonging to this order. I really can’t. You know me by now, a little and you know I can write about things ad nauseum. Notice how I’ve only just recently begun to share. It’s that deep for me that I wanted to keep all of the joy wrapped in chocolate to myself for a while. But that’s over now!

I have a Goddaughter!!! And she is beautiful, and talented, and thought that I was good enough to lead her spiritually. She is 18 and at a point in her life that she is just blossoming as a young woman. How blessed am I to help her? Encourage her and be there when she feels that maybe she’s alone?

I’m making rosaries and they are being given to people I don’t even know and will never, ever meet (except in heaven which I am hoping to see these sweet souls showing me that they loved their rosary as much as I loved making them). Currently, our little group needs to make 2,400 rosaries to fulfill all of the requests. Let’s see, currently the requests we have are for disabled children, prisoners, patients and their families, college students, the elderly, nursing home patients, high school students, Christmas gifts to children, and various prayer groups. Imagine how this touches lives and introduces them to our Lady!

I am on the RCIA team as intercessory prayer coordinator. I just found out from Deacon TC, that I will be giving a little invitational speech at mass 9/1. He’s asked me back and this year he would like me to share another part of my faith journey with my fellow parishioners. Of course I will share that here! I will also give a presentation on Sacred Tradition and yet, another on Mary (including singing Ave Maria to the candidates and catechumens!)

Probably the most wonderful, is my stepson Aaron. the Lord has prepared me for his coming for sure. From my first NO to Aaron when he asked me to take him to church, to now being his sponsor at RCIA. It’s a beautiful journey within a journey that I cherish every moment I look at him. Aaron is really my prodigal son.

Thank you for joining me this summer. Enjoy your last few pool days, BBQ cookouts and wine in the patio evenings. I have enjoyed your comments, reading other blogs, sharing, learning and growing. I pray we never stop sharing what we learn for the greater glory of his Kingdom and all of our budding brothers and sisters in Christ.

I leave you with a part of yesterday’s evening prayer from the Divine Office.vineyard

READING James 3:17-18

Wisdom from above is first of all innocent. It is also peaceable, lenient, docile, rich in sympathy and the kindly deeds that are its fruits, impartial and sincere. The harvest of justice is sown in peace for those who cultivate peace.

What’s next? Join me in my new series, Contemplata aliis tradere, which is a Dominican motto of sorts that means, to pass on to others what we ourselves have contemplated. It’s where I share with you parts and passages of books that I read so that you are inspired, fed and nourished in anything that I think would help you on your journey. Because I love doing that. It will be a little looser than this current book club format, but chock-full of stuffs with my reflection. I also encourage you to check out my new resources tab. What do you think? Anything you’d like to share? 

Links as promised:

Week 1: Diving in, is there water in the pool?
Week 2: The Unlikely Catholic
Week 3: It’s All About Perspective, isn’t it?
Week 4: Go Make of All Disciples, We Hear the Call oh Lord
Week 5: Nailing Jell-o to the Wall
Week 6: Link of Trust
Week 7: I’m Covered
Week 8: Knock and it Shall be Opened to You
Week 9: Father Heaven
Week 10: Everyone is welcome except practicing Catholics
Week 11: I’m on the Fringe, and that’s OK!
Week 12: Continual Conversion

+xo

2 thoughts on “Week 13: #LawnChairCatechism : Continual Conversion

Thoughts? Comments? Tell me all the things...

